We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Small Rooms but Good Value for Money ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mondial to your Saves list
Hotel Mondial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rr. Muhamet Gjollesha, 1023, Tirana 1023, Albania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Tirana
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Central Location, Small Rooms but Good Value for Money ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Tirana in the middle of all the chaos. It has a nice restaurant on the ground floor serving traditional Albanian food and a nice bar on the top floor. The rooms are tiny but the bed is comfortable. For 65 euros a night this hotel represents good value for money but all in all the hotel won't knock your socks off. Hotel staff spoke poor english and lacked competence which means to me this is a 3 star hotel and not a 4 star. I asked the hotel receptionist to scan and email me a document and she managed to spell my name wrong three times. They also tried to charge me a higher rate for the room despite that I was at a conference for which there was supposed to be a discount price. All in all an average hotel and an average experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
13
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I was there for a seminar this year the hotel was great.
The receptionists they were very welcoming and helpful
The conference room was very nice
But the food and restaurant service was very poor, I asked for a cappuccino and it took them the same time as you wait for a dinner to be ready.
I hope the improve this part of the service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is fine, location is good but far from the city center.

This hotel is located in a calm and nice neighborhood, 20 minutes walk from the city center.
It is neat but not so fancy. I dont know about other hotels in Tirana, but to me it should be a 3-star hotel.
The rooms are fine, but a bit old. It has an old TV and some antique furniture. The Bathroom is not so nice. and so are the facilities in there.
The people there are very friendly, and speak good English.

Pros: Good value, friendly service, calm area
Cons: Basic rooms, lack of facilities, poorly equipped

Room Service: Good (4/5)
Reception: Friendly (3/5)
Food: Breakfast is fine but not very diversified (3/5)
Location: 20 mins to city center (4/5)

Room (3/5)
- Size: Good size
- Cleanness: neat
- AC: central
- Bed: Comfortable but small
- Tea Kit: Not Available
- Safe: Available
- TV: Small CRT
- TV Channels: 30 (no English)
- Iron: Not available
- Mini Bar: Available with alcoholic begerage
- Fridge: Available
- Free: Nothing

Services (3/5)
- Internet: Free Wifi (open to all but very slow)
- Gym: Not available
- Swimming Pool: Available on roof
- Spa: Sauna only

Bathroom (2/5)
- Shower: Bac a douche
- Hair dryer: Available (old and not efficient at all)
- Sanitization: No
- Towels: Good but old
- Water: Hot all the time but low flow
- Shampoo: Bad quality
- Other: hair cap, slippers

General Environment (3/5)
- Neighborhood: calm
- Noise: A bit noisy (cars and noiseS)
- Transportation: easy access to taxis
- Communication: Albanian 100%, English 70%

Eco-Performance: 3/5

Price: ~75 Euros/Double Room

Room Tip: Rooms X02 are the best. 4th floor is the best as it has a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel Mondial is located centrally next to a police station in the city of Tirana. Tastefully decorated,
gives impression of a castle house. My room was very large, although bedroom, living room and bathroom were at differenet levels separated by one-two stairs, which was a bit disfunctional sometimes.

The service was excellent, and everyone in the reception and restaurant was very wiiling and helpful. The restaurant seved a very good breakfast with great espresso coffee, an s wide variety of good quality items. I also dined there one evening, and the food was delicious. A nice coffe bar can be visited at a closed and very pleasant sunny terrace on the first floor.

The main perhaps disadvantage of this establishment is the fact that it does not provide any parking place infront it, therefore it makes it rather difficult for visitors to leave their car somewhere around. But this can be expected for hotels located at central city roads.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel was beautifully decorated and the rooms were comfortable with all the amenities a traveller would expect. The restaurant in the hotel served excellent food and the staff was friendly all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel Mondial offers modern and comfortable rooms with a good standard. Staff is friendly and most of them tray to help the customers in all kind of questions. The breakfast is offers a wide variety of food and has a quite good standard. The restaurant offers very good menues - especially fish and seafood. Quality, price and presentation are very good. Staff is quite professional and able to explain good local wines. I will come back to this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metlika, Slovenia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband is often on buisness trip in Tirana and lately always reserved Mondial. Sometimes only for bad and breakfast, a few times he also organized there business meetings and events for partners. He's very pleased with the organization and friendliness of staff, as well as the food is decent. One of the best, although smaller hotels in Tirana! Perfect balance between price and quality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Address: Rr. Muhamet Gjollesha, 1023, Tirana 1023, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondial 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique architecture, Mondial Hotel harmoniously combines the exceptionally modern facilities with the elegance and luxury of the neoclassical design, creating a unique cosmopolitan atmosphere. Located in the heart of Tirana, Mondial Hotel is ideally situated just a promenade from the business and commercial district. Recognized as one of the city's warmest hotels and unique landmark, the Mondial Hotel offers guests an exceptional experience of Albania's finest culture and service. Our modern and highly comfortable meeting rooms offer some of the best and most flexible conference facilities in the city. Enjoy an evening of fine dining and affluence at our Paulo Restaurant while you will not lose a minute to taste a selection of our exquisite drinks in intimate and highly relaxing Saloon; Kristi and Spirit Bars. Our guest rooms are dressed up warmly in soft tones and wooden details that combine to create an atmosphere of luxury and refined taste. Our deluxe suites feature elegance with luxurious wooden carvings along with cozy spacious balconies filled with blooming flowers, daily turn down service and exclusive bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mondial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.