We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milingona Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Milingona Hostel to your Saves list
Milingona Hostel
Rruga Risa Cerova 197/2, Tirana, Albania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Tirana
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is simply impossible to describe how happy we are after our stay in milingona. Juli, Aqim and Anthony are great hosts and friends to spend time and get to know Tirana and Albania. Dorms are fine, spacious and comfortable (heater was available at our room). It is a great place to stay, and if you are willing to listen you can learn a lot about albanian culture and albanian people. During your stay at mililonga you will quickly become to feel very comfortable and welcomed. I really hope to visit milingona again and talk another nights through. The place is great especially when it is your first stop in Albania and you need someone to guide you through a new country. Staff speaks excellent english. Juli thank you very much for all hospitality. Jam krenar se jam shqiptar.
Ilona & Marcin
PS Remember that there is a similarly styled hostel run by the same family hostel in Shkodra "mi casa es tu casa".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A stay in Milingona Hostel makes you feel like spending your days with a big international family, and you can expect to be provided with Albanian hospitality 24 hours a day. Their is constant delicious food and liquor, great talks and laughs and always the possibility to rest for your own privacy - and all for a very reasonable price. Don't hesitate to go there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just came for one day to Tirana, coming from Berat going to Montenegro. And were looking for a cosy space, not the typical hostel. Milingona was not only the most cosy place we encountered on the way, we just fell in love with it and because of it also with Tirana.
We didn't stay just for one day, but ended up drinking coffees and talking for hours on the terrace, got great tips from the owners witch made Tirana much more then a pass true. We got to know great places true them, just wondered around the city, went to markets and ended up the last night there together with almost everybody in the hostel on a lovely party in an great alternative artspace. We left Tirana after 5 days, with lovely earrings (made by one if the owners herself!), great memories and new friends. Not at all the idea of an hostel that I had in mind: A great place, with great people, to get to know the city inside out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I went to the hostel and felt right at home. the woman running it was fantastic and very very helpful. on top of that she was cool person to hang out with and shoot the breeze. the rooms were clean the breakfast was nice and the vibe of the place was just like hanging out at a friend house and chatting.

I would recommend this place to everyone that goes to the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methoni, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Milingona Hostel is just the perfect place to stay! Staff is great! ... And what we really liked was the small opaque window in the bathrooms door! :) thank you very much.
We stayed in the tent in the garden but could use all facilites, which is just a great idea!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Last summer I spend five days in Milingona Hostel. It was perfect. The hostel is a very nice place to stay, with comfortable beds, clean rooms and a beautiful balcony to relax. They have all the facilities you need at a hostel, including a beautiful decorated common area (nice old furniture and cool paintings).

The thing what makes it perfect is the hospitality of the hosts. They helped us getting around the city, told us which restaurants to go to and introduced us to the friendly people of Tirana. I didn't know much about Albania. Because we got a lot of information at the hostel, it was very easy for us to get around, We also got some very good advices for trips outside the city.

I definetily will stay in this hostel when I go Tirana again. Milingona Hostel, especially Juli, thanks for making us feel so welcome to Albania.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hostel is just great. The owning people are very welcoming and helpful; and despite my only short stay, I had a great time. The hostel is located not too far from the central square and it is a pleasant walk along a residential street with a lot of opportunities to get a Byrek or two on the way. And they've got a cool terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milingona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milingona Hostel

Address: Rruga Risa Cerova 197/2, Tirana, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MILINGONA Hostel is located at the Riza Cerova street, nr.197/2 centrally located and ideal place to rest and play.The old district is a great place to go explore the lively and diverse market space; which also conveniently leads onto Tirana’s bike bazarMilingona Hostel is a lush Backpackers hostel in the heart of the old district. Tucked next to the markets and antique bike bazaar, the quirkiest place to see and explore Tirana.We’re a short walk to the centre of the city, Skanderbeg Square, and to the Tirana nightlife (see our things to do link for place to see and go near our hostel).The hostel is a family run business with a warm atmosphere. Decorated with handmade arts and Albanian antique furniture for you to relax and enjoy our space.o Fair rates o Friendly staff o Spacious and bright rooms o A fully equipped self catering kitchen o Open terrace spaceo Garden area o 24 hours accesso Secure rooms o All the information you may need o Self-Laundry service o Luggage storage o And heaps moreThe old district is a great place to go explore the lively and diverse market space; which also conveniently leads onto Tirana’s bike bazaar where you can pick up some amazing antiques from Albania’s past. Ten minutes away from the hostel is Skanderbeg square. Here you can find all the tourist attractions such as the National history museum, the National art gallery, National theatre, Opera hall, City hall, and the Tirana’s oldest and enchanting Et’hem Beu Mosque.Tirana also has a hub of music geniuses, so don’t be surprised to hear of gigs happening here at the hostel. During your stay you must check Tirana’s blloku district where all the live music, funky cafes, and rumbling clubs can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Milingona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milingona Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.