We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable, quite, welcoming hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Theranda Hotel to your Saves list
Theranda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rr. Andon Z. Cajupi 6 & 7, Tirana, Albania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Tirana
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very comfortable, quite, welcoming hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Theranda is conveniently located on the south side of the river that dissects Tirana in very close walking distance to the city centre. The hotel is modern (opened 2008), quiet and well appointed. The room had very effective air conditioning that was fairly quiet and the bed was very comfortable. There was an en-suite bathroom with loo and shower facilities, a small fridge with bar, free wi-fi internet access. The whole hotel was quiet and in a quiet area, though there seemed to be a cockerel at the back of an adjacent building that liked to crow the morning in.

The hotel is actually two "villas". Breakfast is served in the bar in one villa, with reception in the other villa. The bar area is air conditioned but you need to ask the bar man to put the air conditioning on. Breakfast is a standard continental type, and not much variety, but adequate. The hotel does not have a restaurant, and there are relatively few restaurants in Tirana (certainly relative to most European capitals), but there are some places to eat nearby.

The hotel has an air-conditioned meeting room. It could seat 8-10 around a central table.

The staff were all very helpful. The receptionists, bar staff and hotel manager spoke good English.

The hotel prefers payment in cash. There is a hefty surcharge for payment by credit card and indeed there is a general preference for cash. Albania has wisely avoided the credit crunch and is dis-trustful of credit cards. Euros, US Dollars, GB£ and Leke are all accepted by the hotel.

The taxi from the airport is around 20 euros (2,500 Leke at July 2010 rates).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theranda, General Manager at Theranda Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear Mr. Banks,

We were really glad to have you in our Hotel last week and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here!

We thank you for the very kind review on TA but mostly, for your comment on how we can improve the breakfast. We are working in enriching it as well as insuring a more relaxing and quite environment that surrounds the Hotel.

Your comments are very encouraging but we know that we have to put more efforts to keep up the good work!

Altin CUPI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    6
    9
    0
See reviews for
10
57
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We picked Theranda from the internet and made a great choice. Although we arrived in the early hours, they checked us in very quickly with minimum fuss. Breakfast was continental but good and fresh. The bar/café area was comfortable, the cleaning staff were diligent and all the waiters and reception staff spoke English. This was invaluable when our flight was changed, when the hotel staff (before we arrived!) made our calls for us in Albanian and rang us back with full details.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We've stayed for three nights around Easter in this hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. They all speak very good English and are extremely helpful. The hotel itself is an airy and modern building, a calm and quiet haven to relax after a busy day in Tirana. We just had to drive around the block once before we found it, so with a reasonably good map, it's no problem. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern, and it even had a jacuzzi (we didn't try it out though). One reviewer complained about the view from the window: granted, the facades are not pretty, but this is definitely a very safe and quiet, if poor, residential neighbourhood. For breakfast, you will get coffee, tea, jam, ham and cheese, cornflakes and a variety of bread and fruits, and on top of that, a genuine smile and interesting conversation. Also, it's only a short walk to the shopping and restaurant area and Skanderbeg Square. I'd choose Hotel Theranda rather than the (over-prized) Sheraton any time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in Annex building to reception office. Although the Hoptel was hard to find initially (the taxi driver gave up and I had to resort to an Internet cafe), the location of the Hotel is very good. However, I was disappointed with the standard of the hotel having trusted the reviews on Trip Advisor. Breakfast was very poor (in sharp contrast with some of the reviews). I would rate this as a three star Guest House.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

This is the ideal place for business and leisure travelers alike. Literally a two minute walk from the trendy center of town where bars, restaurants, and businesses are located. Yet, the hotel is incredibly peaceful. No street noises whatsoever.
There are many things to like: wifi, great coffee and beautiful rooms and bar. But most of all: helpful and knowledgeable staff that seem genuinely pleased to help you. If you are visiting Tirana, pick this over Rogner or Sheraton any day!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

You might look to stay in a 5 stars hotel, seeking the luxury cleanliness, product, and the service. Theranda Hotel, in the capital Tirana, is a 3 stars hotel but with a 5 stars product and service.
As I walked into the hotel, i was welcomed by the very friendly front desk staff (Jona). She showed me my room, and offered to help me in whatever i needed, even if something around the city.
The hotel was very very clean and the bar was very nice and spacious. The guy who worked at the bar was very friendly, as well. Not to mention, there were fluent in english which made my stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I would recommend Theranda hotel for business stay. It was two of us sharing a double room for two nights. The hotel was nice comfortable and located in one of the best zones of Tirana, wireless internet. We could walk through Blloku full with trendy bars and restaurants. The staff spoke fluent English. They have offers on these days, check them out www.therandahotel.com

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Theranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theranda Hotel

Address: Rr. Andon Z. Cajupi 6 & 7, Tirana, Albania
Phone Number:
Location: Albania > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tirana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tirana
#5 Family Hotel in Tirana
#7 Business Hotel in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Theranda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theranda Hotel is situated in the perfect location, within walking distance of all major attractions of Tirana. If you are looking for a hotel that offers great facilities, absolutely personalized service and comfortable rooms than Theranda Hotel is what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Theranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theranda Hotel Tirana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.