We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad I decided to leave early” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Freddy's Hostel

Save Saved
You added Freddy's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freddy's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   75 Bardhok Biba Street, Tirana, Albania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty lodging in Tirana
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“So bad I decided to leave early”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I did not like this hostel at all. The room itself was fine - three bed dorm (no bunks) and an ensuite (which could have been a bit cleaner but wasn't too bad).
There wasn't any common area to meet people though, and I was in a separate building from the reception and the computers.
My main issue was that no-one at the hostel spoke English. This would usually just be a minor inconvenience, part of the fun of travelling, but in Tirana it was a major problem. Throughout Albania, there are no bus stations, timetables, tourist information or any way of finding out how to get to your next destination. All through my trip I had relied on my hostel to inform me of how to get around - but there was absolutely nothing here. I disliked the hostel so much that I decided to cancel my second night stay - but I couldn't even explain that to the staff!
Also, it was very noisy and there were flocks of mosquitoes.
In terms of location, it is OK. There is nothing much to see or do in Tirana, so it's not really near anything.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
19
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you're looking for a safe, friendly, clean and tidy place to bed down for a short while in Tirane, Freddy's is the place. He runs a great little hostel, handy to city centre yet quiet rooms and safe atmosphere all around. Nice local restaurant down the road, serving traditional Albanian food and lovely staff there too. Freddy collected us from the airport and was very helpful with information about the city, gave us a map and told us about local restaurants and sights. Breakfast could be improved, you get a sweet packeted bun and coffee (which is good tho, the coffee).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

we stayed 4 nights easy to get to very nice room we loved it they cleaned the room and
and gave you fresh towel's every day when you were out the people were always friendly and very kind . it's close to restaurants ,shops it's just off the city center could not be better it makes your holiday very relaxing if you'v had a long trip to get there as you have everything you need on your door step . the city is lovely lots to see and do it makes the perfect place to vist . iv been 3 times to vist tirana i love it . its such a lovely country .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed just one night at Freddy's and it's quite ok. Friendly, clean, sort of comfortable but they provide free internet. I am upset by other reviewers expecting New York quality from a country where just 20 years ago people were persecuted for their political beliefs. I had a very pleasant stay and yes, the staff - except the very friendly and educated owner - did not speak English. And then what? You have your two hands to communicate and the smile. These old women were more than helpful and overwhelmingly nice. The place is inexpensive and ideally located. If you're not a snob, I can recommend it for a few nights. miklos

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at Freddies for 3 nights on a solo trip Nov 2009.
Then I did not need the AC, but this time it was very useful.
The place was very conveniently located just a short walk from the square with many shops and bars close by.
There are 2 computers for free internet access upstairs and Freddy can help you with any question you have regarding further travel in Albania.

Forget the breakfast. You get a cup of espresso and a croissant. That is all

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I found Tirana hotels and hostels to be incredibly expensive, so choice was limited unless we were going to splash out. And who splashes out in Albania? We wanted the experience, and feel the grittiness of Tirana.

It's basic, I knew that. It's a hostel basically, I knew that. But the noise outside and the mosquitos made it hell.

But in the height of summer, I found the entire thing to be less than desired. The room had an enclosed balcony which brought all the mosquitos in. With no air con, we had to leave the door open, and subject ourselves to endless mosquito bites. It was really unpleasant, and if I could do it all again I would choose a place with better mesh to keep mosquitos out, or with air con.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in Freddy's Hostel. The elusive Freddy was nowhere to be seen and the rest of the staff have only a smattering of English. One word questions such as "Coffee?" and "Breakfast?" are met with stares of incredulity.
That being said, the hostel is clean, central, airy, but does not have a common room, so it's not a hostel per se. Pricewise it's good and for what you get it does the job. For a couple or a group travelling it's perfect, close to shops, cheap food bars and the Tourist Informaton Centre.
Just be aware that maps of Tirana, whilst having all the streets, do not have many street names, so do a bit of homework beforehand and don't end up completely lost like me!!! Also WiFi connectivity varies, so use it when it's working.
On the plus side Tirana is probably the only capital city in Europe other than the Vatican City where there are no McDonalds, Starbucks, Burger King or any other mediocre global influences. American influence and tourism is practically non-existant so it's worth coming now before it all goes as generic and dull as anywhere else.
The airport bus drops you at Mina Peza, just turn back around and go left up Ded Gjo Libi past the Tourist Information Centre and go left after about 200m. If you're not there in 5 mins you're lost!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freddy's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freddy's Hostel

Address: 75 Bardhok Biba Street, Tirana, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty lodging in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Freddy's Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Freddy's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddy's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.