We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel
Praia Lagarto | P.O. Box 406, Sao Tome, Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe (Formerly Marlin Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Livingstone, Zambia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Comfort & Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Omali Lodge is set across from the beach and has spacious, en-suite rooms with air-conditioning, televisions, mini-bars and telephones. The beds are very comfortable, and linens are in good condition with amenities set out in the spacious bathrooms.

There are English speaking staff on hand to assist, and the service is excellent.

The gardens are beautifully set out around the swimming pool, and the restaurant offers sumptuous meals either served in the dining room or on the terrace, facing the ocean.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully set out and offer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive remarks and noticing the efforts from staff and managers to ensure a wonderful guest experience.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
20
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel is 5 minutes away from the main airport and separated from the beach by only a road. Sitting in the bar or restaurant, you may enjoy the view of the sea. Idyllic !

The rooms are very pretty and exceptionally clean. Staff very honest and no valuables are ever missing.
Extremely friendly and accommodating staff, Hotel well managed/run by Mr Shaun Meintjes.

The food is of highest quality - the portions are massive - exceptional value for your money.
Tasty/delicious cappuccinos and the most awesome peanut butter ice cream made by an in-house chef, (Trevor Pienaar) in addition to this lodge and its surrounding, a truly worthy experience. Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for noticing all the wonderful expects of The Omali. This is indeed a great hotel to holiday, stay during a business trip, overnight before flying out or meeting the locals in our friendly bar. The Omali Bar and Terrace is indeed a place where you can forget that you are on duty and make new friends.
Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Brilliant, no attitude staff, very good facilities. Katharina, one of the managers has been a great help to help with island's logistics and advice. Just to manage your expectations, this is a contemporary hotel, no ecolodge in the city of Sao Tome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review. Katherine is indeed a very valuable member of our team and knows the island well. Our front line staff and managers are the perfect people to assist to make suggestions to tailor make the wide range of options available in Sao Tome.

Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We emailed and let them know we were visiting for our anniversary, and they upgraded us (gratis) to their best room, the honeymoon suite! It was very nice, with a large king size bed and luxurious bathtub for my wife to soak in.
This is probably the nicest hotel on Sao Tome. The rooms are arranged sort of between bungalow and town-home style in a compound around a pool and meeting/party area, and the bar/reception/restaurant is inviting and pleasant. The service is friendly and generally competent. If you speak a little Portuguese it does help you get closer to what you want! I would certainly stay here again!
Sao Tome itself is pleasant, full of friendly, gregarious people with little or no crime to speak of, and wonderful beaches, lagoons, diving and fishing. All in all, a nice place to relax and explore. Bring plenty of cash, as credit cards (outside the hotel) are almost totally useless.

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time if this is a romantic vacation for you, maybe you can get the honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for honoring us by spending your anniversary at The Omali. It is certainly our priority to make the stay of our guests wonderful and memorable, but even more so with special occasions.

We encourage all guests to advise any special occasions or requests. It is our pleasure to accommodate these requests to the best of our ability.

We are looking forward to welcoming back at The Omali.

Kind Regards

Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel, rooms and public areas are beautiful -- designed with style and comfort in mind. Rooms are spacious and the swimming pool is gorgeous. The food is quite good as well. The staff could not have been nicer. A couple of quibbles: wi-fi is available near Reception only, and it's maddeningly slow (less the fault of the hotel than a general issue on the island), and I wish they'd do a better job of mosquito-proofing the public areas at night. Pack a lot of insect repellent! But overall, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on Sao Tome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed in Omali Lodge this summer and it was the perfect base to explore the island. The friendly staff helps to organize your excursions and speak multiple languages. Also spacious and luxurious rooms and great food. Good seafood but also loved the curries!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

They did not meet me up at the airport as promised, so I had to wait there until someone took pity on me and asked where I was going. My room service order was repeatedly bungled because the staff member could not understand English. The price for breakfast was ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for mentioning our nice rooms. My sincere apologies for failing on other accounts, however I can ensure you that we have addressed the negative points mentioned. We are continuously striving to increase our standards and to accommodate our clients’ language preferences.
I can assure you we are committed to on-going training, good food, comfortable & clean rooms and good service.
Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel

Address: Praia Lagarto | P.O. Box 406, Sao Tome, Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe (Formerly Marlin Beach Hotel)
Location: Sao Tome and Principe > Sao Tome Island > Sao Tome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omali, meaning 'ocean' and 'source of life', is the perfect location from which to explore the natural and cultural wonders of the equatorial island of Sao Tome. This stylishly decorated boutique hotel has suites for honeymooners, families and business travellers. All rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, air conditioner, Satellite TV, safe, telephone, coffee-making facilities and mini-bar.Hotel facilities include an air-conditioned restaurant, bar with terrace overlooking the beach, 24-hour reception, Wi-Fi internet connectivity, laundry service, steam rooms, business & conference centre, tennis court, swimming pool with poolside bar, as well as airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omali Lodge Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.