We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place in Malabo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zona Sipopo, notheast Bioko Island | P.O. Box 209, Malabo, Bioko Island 00209, Equatorial Guinea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Malabo
Bata
1 review
“A unique place in Malabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, the best i have never seen in Equatorial Guinea.
Superb rooms, amazing view from the balcony (our room was facing the sea).
Not to mention the legendary sofitel bed, which invite you in a world of "relaxation".
The staff was very friendly, impressive!
Possiblity to do fishing or Jet ski in blue waters and many other activities (spa, golf...)
Very very good and relaxing week-end!
In short, we will definitly come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your comment that we will share with our team. As you, we start to have lot of people coming to spend the week-end that is really new in Equatorial Guinea and in Malabo.
We hope to see you again soon for another relaxing week-end.
Thank you

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
21
9
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bata, Litoral, Equatorial Guinea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sofitel Malabo Le Golf is by far the best hotel in Equatorial Guinea! I live in Equatorial Guinea since 2007, and spent the week end in this Hotel. What a great moment of calm and relaxation! Warm welcome at the reception, with a refreshing chocolate drink (very nice after air travel), decoration design and classy, rooms IM-PEC-CA-BLES (not mentionning the bed which repairs your body after a good night of sleep ... Patent "MY BED" ... Back pain ? Did you say back pain ? Don't know what you're talking about !), impressive and delicious sunday buffet, and of course, the sea (you can fish!), the pool, the golf course and the SPA... All the highest Sofitel standards are there. And to add some little effect, we have seen the "Nzalang", which is the national feminine football team, representing Equatorial Guinea in the feminine African Cup.
In short, this Hotel is meant for those who are looking for a special moment in a special place!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Switoo,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here specially coming from mainland to relax in our hotel.
We are glad as well that you appreciate the worldwide Sofitel bed concept My Bed.
We really hope to see you again and make your next stays more & more ralaxing.

Thank you

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Deceided on a weekend break from Malabo City. Checked into Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf from Saturday to Sunday. Service at the hotel was great and the check in smooth. Got a beautiful room with a sea view and balcony. Enjoyed the buffet in the restaurant in the evening.
Stuggelig to get out of the extremely comfortable beds the next day, we spent time by the pool, had a lovely Sunday lunch at the restaurant, then a walk around the island, and more time by the pool, before it was time to head back to reality again. Late check out on Sundays was a nice surprise. Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf is a peaceful place and a bit magic in the evenings with all the lights. Unfortunately didn't have time to test out the golf course which looks great, or the spa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Topsy540,

Thank you very much for your comment, and glad Sofitel Sipopo helps you to spend a stressless week-end. As you can see, we have so many thing to do that a week end is not enought to discover so we hope to welcome you soon to try our golf course and of course our SPA with specific treatments for specific needs.

Hope to see you soon again.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf is the perfect place to organise your business meetings and enjoy some peace and quite in your free time. The service is outstanding and far better than any other hotel in Malabo. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and you can enjoy a swim in the pool, fishing or the lovely spa. The rooms are quite big and always clean. If you have the opportunity do not miss out on the big gold course either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mariya,

Thank you very much for your nice comment and your rate. Definitvely in Sofitel Sipopo we try to make our business clients to feel like in a leisure hotel during their free time of course giving them the best business service they can find on the island.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel may be a little faraway from the city but it doesn't take longer to go to the airport than if you were in the city.You will be surprise by the quality of the service and how beautiful are all facilities. Large , luminous rooms; beautiful view on the sea from your large terrasse . The pool is large and , very important for travellers, cleaned every morning and clear as if you were in the Caraïbes. Of course the golfers will enjoy the golf course in the tropical forest.
The staff is efficient and the management will do the best to help you .
So really worth a stay

Room Tip: As the building has a sinusoid chape some rooms are a little more luminous with 4 windows instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Alain,

Thank you very much for your comment. We will make sure our service will be even better for your next trip.

Sylvain chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice hotel,very friendly and lovely staff, helpful.Great stay.Nice spa Nice golf, fantastic area!
Very clean rooms, well decorated, good bed.
Very good "sunday brunch" with nice local decorations and tasty food.

Room Tip: Room "sea view" (pool side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment. I am glad you enjoyed as well the hospitality, the room and the food.
We hope to satisfy you again during your next trip.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here during a conference that was attended by many dignitaries. Given the security and disruption that comes with the movement of Heads of State, the Sofitel took this in its stride. The staff are professional and courteous and the management don't hide in their offices but seem to be out in the hotel public areas during most of the day meeting and greeting guests, asking how your stay is and if there is anything they can do to make it better. The hotel and its surroundings are beautiful and relaxing from the private beach to the world class golf course that sits just behind. The food is the best that I had in Malabo and comes with a French flair. You even get a bridge out to a private tropical island. A true tropical paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Simken,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. Telling us that we managed to give you a french flair is the best compliment you could give us. In Sofitel, we like to make the link between the local culture and the French Flair (or elegance). I am really happy that you enjoyed all our team from waiters to managers.
We hope to welcome you again in Sofitel Sipopo.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Address: Zona Sipopo, notheast Bioko Island | P.O. Box 209, Malabo, Bioko Island 00209, Equatorial Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Equatorial Guinea > Bioko Island > Malabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Malabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf Hotel Malabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.