We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ashland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ashland to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ashland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1321 Cannonsburg Road, Ashland, KY 41102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Shelby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've only stayed one time in this hotel in Ashland but it offered a very good night's stay. PROS: *Front desk staff and housekeeping staff are attentive, helpful and friendly *Beds are very comfortable! *Rooms are very clean. Breakfast was really good. Nice indoor pool. Convenient to places to eat and walmart. Ask for menus at front desk. Several places deliver lunch and dinner. Especially a wonderful Bar B Que place with excellent prices. Would stay at this hotel again.......

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    55
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
25
11
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've only stayed in this hotel in Ashland but both times it offered a very good night's stay.

PROS:
*Front desk staff and housekeeping staff are attentive, helpful and friendly
*Beds are very comfortable!
*Rooms are very clean
*Steady, reliable Wifi & easy to work TV
*Nice desk set-up
*There is a small but serviceable workout room with water & towels on offer
*There is a pool (I didn't go in)
*There are two working entrances to hotel making it convenient to park and carry luggage to your room
*Tea & coffee are set up throughout day in lobby
*Walkable distance (2 minutes) from what I saw to be main/only grocery around

CONS:
(And I would say these are minor issues that mgmt simply needs to address; they would not keep me from staying here)
*Old, unreliable refrigerators: in first one, 1/2 of my groceries froze overnight! To their great credit, front desk staff reimbursed my new grocery purchases; in second refrigerator, side rack was broken and bottles could not be stored on door without falling off.
*Lighting in room (bulbs?) is not great. If you're using a laptop, could use more light.
*Breakfast, sad to say, seems highly processed
*Some room doors are incredibly NOISY when they close (as in: I woke up before 6a simply because I heard someone's door slam shut as they were heading out)
*More information could be provided to guests about restaurant options. To get some nice diversity and local flavor, I recommend venturing into Huntington. (I'd like to keep the business in Kentucky but Ashland needs to create some higher end restaurants with fresh, local ingredients!)

Back to a PRO: the people working at this hotel are dedicated and will work to give you great service. That goes a long way in my opinion to creating loyalty on the part of the customer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this property the day after Christmas for two nights. The public areas were nicely decorated and clean. Check in staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well appointed and the wi-fi was easy to access. The indoor pool was a little cool, but was very clean. The breakfast selection is extensive and was kept well stocked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This chain never disappoints, the rooms are comfortable, NICELY decorated, new and modern, loaded with nice, neat little conveniences. Free WiFi - A table/desk that pulls out to in front of the TV. We have tried most of the motels/hotels in the Ashland area and this is the best value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Flew in to Charleston, WV and drove to area as had some business in Huntington, WV however after reading plenty of hotel reviews for the hotels in Huntington, WV on trip advisor it really seemed as if the quality and experience in that city was sub-par so we elected to look at Ashland (which Trip Advisor peeps recommended and we were not disappointed!)

We stayed here for two nights and arrived late on Thursday night and got a nice corner room on second floor (Room 203). The room was a king-sized bed which was nicely appointed with flat screen TV, two fridges, a kitchen sink and a nice roman blind for window (which looked out to extension of parking lot, car wash, and walmart so it was nice to close the blind and not stare at the walmart eye-sore). The room itself was large however if there was any complaint it was the closet space which was smaller than usual.

The front desk who check us in late was very friendly and helpful (an older man), and the desk staff during the day were always attentive and pleasant. The housekeeping staff was very friendly. There was a free breakfast with a good variety of juices, coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt and individual cereals (i cant remember the hot food options but there was a nice variety of items for everyones taste)

Pros: Newer Hampton Inn, free daily breakfast, complimentary internet, pool area and pleasant staff and common areas

Cons: Small closet and that is it!

Would stay here again in a heartbeat as we enjoyed our stay! Thanks to the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Get corner room away from main road (there isnt a lot of noise but if that is an issue better to fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This chain never disappoints, the rooms are comfortable, NICELY decorated, new and modern, loaded with nice, neat little conveniences. - A table/desk that pulls out to in front of the TV, I LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Going thru Ashland we stayed here as I like to stay at Hamptons as they are most consistent.
The hotel was on average with the Hamptons.
It was bright and updated somewhat. We were driving thru and staying here kept us away from the City center (and no places in Ohio Compared !
The layout of the hotel was Standard and as expected. We enjoyed the breakfast, comfortable bed etc.
The only issu was the The ac/heat was not adjustable much, Fan stayed on always if you used it. A nice touch was fridge Flatscreen etc
I was able to go for a walk (out back) and stroll thru WallMart not far from this hotel. as you walk to the back of the lot and walk easily across diagonally..

Room Tip: This is an overall Quiet location. Do some driving around as there's more (and better) than just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ashland

Address: 1321 Cannonsburg Road, Ashland, KY 41102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn Ashland hotel and enjoy clean, comfortable accommodations, friendly service and a great rate. Surrounded by countryside and close to Interstate 64, our hotel in Ashland, KY, is only minutes from downtown Ashland and near local restaurants, businesses and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ashland Hotel Ashland
Ashland Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.