We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- dirty room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tiare Tahiti Hotel to your Saves list
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
new Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location- dirty room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Great location, my room was on the second floor with a seaview. If you can get a higher floor then do as there is a very busy road below.
The room itself was grubby and circa 1970. the pillows were foam chips and very uncomfortable. Dont look too closley into the corners of the room- especially the bathroom -YUK!
Very handy for the market and dont miss the roulottes in the evening on the waterfront, they were fantastic.
There always seemed to be a group of people at reception who were friends with the receptionist!
overall its worth it for the location, for a night- maybe two.
As the airconditioing and electrics are activated by inserting a metal key fob into the wall, i took it off the keyring and left the A/c running while i was out. I also left the TV on as i was worried about the security of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    52
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

You do not have many options in accommodation in Tahiti.
You either have to book into an over priced hotel in the city or go out of town to a greatly over priced resort.
At least this hotel is centrally located, and the front rooms overlook the harbour which has views of Moorea and the cruise shiips arriving and departing.
Our room was large and had three beds, it was comfortable and serviced daily. The room was clean but as others have said the front balcony floor had accumulated the grime of a city.
Breakfast is available on site and there are shops nearby for snacks and coffee as well as the city markets, not forgetting MacDonalds two blocks away.
For dinner there are mobile diners on the waterfront that set up each night with a variety of meals.The staff are multi lingual and helpful, on 24 hours day. There is a drink machine and an ice machine available but no frig or tea making facilities in the rooms as the owners wish to retain the operation as a hotel rather than apartments (thats their story).
Yes , we would go there again

  • Liked — close to town
  • Disliked — lack of refrigerator etc
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

It was with some trepidation that we walked into Hotel Tiare considering the past reviews. But the reviews seem to be some time ago. I liked the location to the markets and ferry so booked anyway. I looked carefully around the building and our room and bathroom...and it was all perfectly fine!
Yes, basic, but clean, bright and fresh.
We had booked a standard room , the cheapest as were were arriving late at night but were delighted with a room 503 on the top floor that looked down a street and still across the harbour from the balcony!

The reception was friendly and efficient.
Elevator slow. Everythings on Tahitain time. Used wide staircase mostly. Hall tables were decorated in flowers.

Had breakfast in the tropical breakfast area. Ceiling fans cooled,flower printed tablecloths and Tahitian touches.
Lovely! Tropical fruits with juice. Tea & coffee. Cant remember how much but it was resonalbly priced.

We had a few days at Moorea and were missing my daughters dress, so on returning to Papeete we popped in to ask if we had left it behind. There was a little language barrier, but the lady pulled clothing from out of plastic bags..she went to put a dress back in but i told her that was my daughters.
So they obviously have a Lost&found section! Great!

Hotel Tiare was just fine. We enjoyed our brief stay and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Downtown location directly opposite the waterfront and ferries
  • Disliked — Nothing stands out.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Hotel Tiare is close to the centre of Papeete shopping district. The rooms are serviced everyday and are spotless. If you are staying a couple of days look at trying to get a room on the top floors, this helps with the noise and try to get a room that looks out over the harbour. You have some great views of the large cruise ships docking.

The hotel is a budget style, it doesn't have a fridge or a kettle which would be great if it did. Though there is a ice machine.

Value for money and the staff where very helpful and extremely friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
602 reviews 602 reviews
328 hotel reviews
Reviews in 298 cities Reviews in 298 cities
929 helpful votes 929 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed here for three nights at various times during a one month sojourn through French Polynesia & Pitcairn Island.

We had wanted to stay at Le Mandarin because of the more favorable travel reviews but were advised by our travel agent at Air Tahiti that for some reason this hotel was not available (other folks we recommended it to had no trouble getting a reservation as the tourism industry is in dire straights in French Polynesia due to high costs for what you get and the weak dollar). So they recommended this hotel as being similar to Le Mandarin. I was a little apprehensive having seen some of the reviews about the poor management. I have to agree with those but also agree with the more positive reviews.

The hotel is in an excellent location--close to both the airport and a 10 minute walk from the ferry dock to Moorea. It's also close to the central market & there's a good internet place in a shopping arcade just around the corner. Because it's central it can get noisy at from 7:00 AM to about 7PM so if you are a light sleeper request either a back room which doesn't overlook the street (but then you won't have the lovely harbor views) or a higher floor WHEN MAKING THE RESERVATION. The older aircon units in the hotel (some are new quiet ones) will cover up the noise anyway.

The rooms are decently sized but the furniture is very basic and charmless--an old bed, small rattan desk and chair, tiny TV and that's it. It's like an old YMCA but very clean. There are vending machines on the first floor where you can get candy & snacks and buy water, soft drinks, etc. They have a reasonably priced restaurant that opens at 6 AM for breakfast that does good freshly brewed coffee.

The problem about bad management can arise due to the ladies manning the reception desk. Most are nice enough--not the most friendly but okay. (The last time I stayed here one even welcomes me by name!) But there is one lady who seems to (wo)man the graveyard shift from late at night to early morning who is quite unpleasant. She refused to put a call into one of our party who we were waiting on to transfer to the airport saying it wasn't part of her job description to know the comings and goings of her guests. When we pointed out that we did know the comings and goings of our party she was not persuaded. (I speak fluent French so this wasn't a lnaguage problem either.) Fortunately, our friend showed up then.

Bottom line, this is a fine hotel to crash in which is all you are likely to do in PPT anyway. Don't expect great service and you might just be pleasantly surprised.

For a great, atmosperic and cheap dinner walk ten minutes to the harbor and the roulottes. You can choose between caravans specializing in Chinese, seafood, Pizza and crepes. You sit on maekshift tables and stools and watch as they cook in the caravans. Popular with tourists and locals alike.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

The hotel was average - no tea/coffee making facilities and no take-away coffee nearby, it's a bit tough if you're used to waking up to your morning jolt. The whole of Papeete is grubby, as well as the Hotel Tiare, we made the mistake of walking out onto the balcony in bare feet - we had to wash our feet they were so filthy. The fourth floor is a good level - not too noisy from the main highway that runs along the front of the hotel, I'd definitely recommend one of the rooms facing the waterfront or on either side of the hotel. Wouldn't recommend the "garden view" rooms, there's no garden to view! An okay hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

This was a good place to stay for two nights in Papeete. Our 4th floor room was simple but comfortable, with efficient air conditioning and a wonderful view of the harbour and Moorea. Traffic passes constantly outside, but we did not find it a problem - with the windows closed it could barely be heard and the noise was tolerable on the balcony, perhaps because we were on an upper floor. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything in central Papeete. This is not fancy accommodation but it suited our requirements very well.

  • Liked — Good location, views
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiare Tahiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.