We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel tiare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tiare Tahiti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Papeete
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“hotel tiare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Hotel Tiare is close to the centre of Papeete shopping district. The rooms are serviced everyday and are spotless. If you are staying a couple of days look at trying to get a room on the top floors, this helps with the noise and try to get a room that looks out over the harbour. You have some great views of the large cruise ships docking.

The hotel is a budget style, it doesn't have a fridge or a kettle which would be great if it did. Though there is a ice machine.

Value for money and the staff where very helpful and extremely friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    47
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 283 cities Reviews in 283 cities
888 helpful votes 888 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed here for three nights at various times during a one month sojourn through French Polynesia & Pitcairn Island.

We had wanted to stay at Le Mandarin because of the more favorable travel reviews but were advised by our travel agent at Air Tahiti that for some reason this hotel was not available (other folks we recommended it to had no trouble getting a reservation as the tourism industry is in dire straights in French Polynesia due to high costs for what you get and the weak dollar). So they recommended this hotel as being similar to Le Mandarin. I was a little apprehensive having seen some of the reviews about the poor management. I have to agree with those but also agree with the more positive reviews.

The hotel is in an excellent location--close to both the airport and a 10 minute walk from the ferry dock to Moorea. It's also close to the central market & there's a good internet place in a shopping arcade just around the corner. Because it's central it can get noisy at from 7:00 AM to about 7PM so if you are a light sleeper request either a back room which doesn't overlook the street (but then you won't have the lovely harbor views) or a higher floor WHEN MAKING THE RESERVATION. The older aircon units in the hotel (some are new quiet ones) will cover up the noise anyway.

The rooms are decently sized but the furniture is very basic and charmless--an old bed, small rattan desk and chair, tiny TV and that's it. It's like an old YMCA but very clean. There are vending machines on the first floor where you can get candy & snacks and buy water, soft drinks, etc. They have a reasonably priced restaurant that opens at 6 AM for breakfast that does good freshly brewed coffee.

The problem about bad management can arise due to the ladies manning the reception desk. Most are nice enough--not the most friendly but okay. (The last time I stayed here one even welcomes me by name!) But there is one lady who seems to (wo)man the graveyard shift from late at night to early morning who is quite unpleasant. She refused to put a call into one of our party who we were waiting on to transfer to the airport saying it wasn't part of her job description to know the comings and goings of her guests. When we pointed out that we did know the comings and goings of our party she was not persuaded. (I speak fluent French so this wasn't a lnaguage problem either.) Fortunately, our friend showed up then.

Bottom line, this is a fine hotel to crash in which is all you are likely to do in PPT anyway. Don't expect great service and you might just be pleasantly surprised.

For a great, atmosperic and cheap dinner walk ten minutes to the harbor and the roulottes. You can choose between caravans specializing in Chinese, seafood, Pizza and crepes. You sit on maekshift tables and stools and watch as they cook in the caravans. Popular with tourists and locals alike.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

The hotel was average - no tea/coffee making facilities and no take-away coffee nearby, it's a bit tough if you're used to waking up to your morning jolt. The whole of Papeete is grubby, as well as the Hotel Tiare, we made the mistake of walking out onto the balcony in bare feet - we had to wash our feet they were so filthy. The fourth floor is a good level - not too noisy from the main highway that runs along the front of the hotel, I'd definitely recommend one of the rooms facing the waterfront or on either side of the hotel. Wouldn't recommend the "garden view" rooms, there's no garden to view! An okay hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

This was a good place to stay for two nights in Papeete. Our 4th floor room was simple but comfortable, with efficient air conditioning and a wonderful view of the harbour and Moorea. Traffic passes constantly outside, but we did not find it a problem - with the windows closed it could barely be heard and the noise was tolerable on the balcony, perhaps because we were on an upper floor. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything in central Papeete. This is not fancy accommodation but it suited our requirements very well.

  • Liked — Good location, views
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

Tiare Tahiti Hotel is in a great location only 4 miles from the Tahiti-Faaa Airport and directly across from the Waterfront Promenade. Our group of 4 booked a Seaview Room and booking directly with the hotel we received a rate of about $140.00 US. It will be a little higher for just one room. Although it is a very basic hotel, it was clean and the view of the harbor was great! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone with an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — No Restaurant or Coffee Shop
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

There is nothing particularly bad about the condition of this hotel and the location is good.

Our problem was with the hotel management. After spending a night at the hotel when we arrived in Tahiti, we went on to Moorea for a few nights. We returned to Tahiti for a 3 a.m. flight and needed a place to store our suitcases from about 5 pm to 2 am. Before leaving for Moorea, we asked the receptionist at the hotel if we could store them there and she said "yes, at no cost" since we were guests the previous night.

After our trip to Moorea, we returned to this hotel with all of our bags and they refused to store them. We offered to pay a fee and when this didn't work, we asked to speak to the manager who happened to be on site. She was extremely rude and confrontational and told us we were out of luck. She was completely irrational in that she told us it was a security concern, but that if we had stayed there the night before (when we were in Moorea) she could have stored them for us.

While this may seem petty, it made for a difficult night having to spend several hours in a city like Papeete with a family of four and lots of luggage to drag around.

This manager's attitude was terrible and, as a result, I would not recommend this location.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiare Tahiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.