We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night, but wouldn't stay longer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tiare Tahiti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good for one night, but wouldn't stay longer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stopover.
Location is good (in town), but rooms are very basic. Nothing wrong with it, but just very simple. Not something you want to stay longer than 1 night

Service is good, we did not have breakfast.

Price is steep

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    47
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
72
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great simple place right in the centre of Papeete with views on the harbor and sunsets over Moorea. A little bit noisy, but no big deal with windows closed. the ladies at the reception were very helpful and friendly and kept our surplus luggage the whole time we travelled to the islands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location is good for access to the ferry and cruise ships. From the airport it was a rather expensive taxi there and back for a short overnight stay. We weren't spending any real time on Tahiti so I thought we should get away from the airport hotel. I'd probably do it that way again but it is worth considering that 1) there are not many places to eat and they close early on Sunday (if they open at all) and 2) it was a long, expensive taxi ride both ways. The hotel itself is quite plain but it suited our purpose well enough. The staff were helpful although my French is minimal and their English was less if possible! Still we got through with gestures and willingness. One thing that she tried to tell me was something about where to eat and we finally determined she meant a food truck. We didn't want to eat from a food truck ... but after we ate at McDonald's (literally, there wasn't anything else on a Sunday evening) we walked around a bit and lo and behold it is an entire carnival of food trucks with all kinds of food. Some of the food smelled tasty and looked wonderful. We had a desert crepe but there were all kinds of dinners. We did see something disturbing ... something that Tahitians eat sometimes but we would NEVER and we didn't like seeing it. Perhaps they hide those particular spits away when the cruise ships are in - we were clearly there at an off time. So on the one hand I highly recommend walking over toward the ferry and you'll see the collection of maybe 25 food trucks and picnic tables. On the other hand, be careful what meat you are getting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good price and good location. Comparable to a Comfort Inn perhaps. Small rooms, but everything you need and we had a 'huge' balcony. Breakfast is available from a limited menu. We enjoyed the convenience to the central part of town so that we could 'head out' for shopping, dinner, etc whenever we wanted.

Room Tip: would try for a room overlooking one of the two streets to get a better view of the harbor or the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Not fancy but has everything we needed. We pulled our luggage over to the pier for our Windstar cruise...very convenient! The breakfast was good, although not included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Arrived a day early for our 12 day Princess Cruise and spent one night at this hotel. It was described as a clean Motel 6 and that is confirmed. A basic room, well worn mattress, and small bathroom. The hotel is well aged. The people were friendly and some even spoke some English? We paid $164 for the night, which compared favorably with other competing hotels at well over $200 and,most over $300. We enjoyed the breakfast, although we ordered only a regular breakfast they served us there most expensive which included fruit, croissants, yogurt, ham, bacon and eggs,potatoes and pancakes. Way too much to eat for $20 each. We understand elsewhere prices were much higher, so it was a bargain. Apparently Papeete is extremely expensive for everything? The convenience of being across the street from the cruise ship and only a few blocks from the town market place was nice. However,unlikely if we returned we would stay here again if only for a one night stay over?

Room Tip: Nothing special about any of them,although we paid a little extra for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in April on our way to a cruise and we were happy with our choice. The hotel is nothing fancy so if you are looking for fancy check the Intercontinental or other resorts. We had a water view room which had a wrap around balcony and a view of the port and Moorea. This hotel is located on a busy street and there is traffic noise if you are outside on the patio but when you close the door you can’t hear anything. There is no patio furniture but we took the chairs from inside and that worked fine. I loved watching the port activity from our room. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It had a coffee/ tea maker and that’s about it. A bowl left on the table is for ice. You need to go to the front desk to get ice. The front desk personnel are very friendly as are all of the local people we encountered.
One block down the street is a restaurant/bar (I don’t remember the name) that had good food and live music and outside dining which we went to twice. You are close to the market place and the ferry terminal (we took the ferry to Moorea for the day).
All in all, if you are just passing through Papeete or waiting to board a cruise ship (walk to the cruise port) this is a good choice for a hotel.
If and when I go back to Tahiti I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 4th floor and we loved the brightness and large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiare Tahiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.