We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a night or two stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tiare Tahiti Hotel to your Saves list
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Rotorua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location for a night or two stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late at night and stayed 2 nights before heading to Moorea. The check in was fast and friendly and although the room was basic, it had everything that we needed and was a really handy location for checking out Papeete. We also had a rental car for a day to do a trip around the whole island, totally recommend this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    52
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,609 reviews 2,609 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 344 cities Reviews in 344 cities
1,160 helpful votes 1,160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A very basic hotel with no frills but all we needed for a short overnight stay. Centrally located to the harbour, shops , cafes and the markets. Debate on whether to go for a quiet room at the back or a harbour view but being wakened by the noise early in the morning. The view won but you need to keep the doors shut to avoid the noise. Excellent value for an expensive island.

Room Tip: the corner rooms, e.g 205 have 2 balconies and give you a good spacious area with good harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We only had 20 hours for Papeete and this was the most convenient central location to the ferry and walking around the town. It is inexpensive compared to most resorts on the island, but if you are using it as a base to wander and explore it covers all your needs and allows you to spend your money on one more black pearl.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The biggest plus is the huge balcony with a view of the harbor. We watched the most beautiful sunset from here. A bistro type restaurant, Retro, is just one block away for all your food needs.

Room Tip: Fourth or fifth floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good central location, spacious clean room, on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour. As others have said, the room and facilities were clean, bit dated but a good stopover place in central location. Staff variable in their helpfulness.

Room Tip: Room on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in September on a solo photographic visit ( www.spwijeyekoon.com). I chose the hotel primarily for low cost and a central location. I was allocated a top floor room with a small balcony with views directly opposite the port. The room and facilities were very basic and dated but clean. Unfortunately the single lift was broken for the duration of my stay which meant a fairly exhausting trips up and down with luggage. The street was also quite noisy despite shutting windows so would not be the best choice for those seeking peace and quiet. A very good central location for shops and bars. The port was also just a short walk for my onward ferry to Moorea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stumbled across this place and agree with the other reviews that the rooms aren't special but it is conveniently located near some good bars, restaruants and the night market. We had a 12h stopover and used this hotel to store our bags and freshen up before a flight and it was fine. The room had good views over the port but yes it was on a very busy road!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

we stayed here for a night either side of our cruise. It was basic, clean and comfortable. It is a 2 star hotel, what more can you expect? The staff were helpful and friendly. Yes, the main road is noisy, but it didn't stop us sleeping. We could walk down to our cruise. They charged us 96 euros because we had a booking for 2 ngihts, and for what other hotels cost in papeete, we were happy. It isn't a 5 star resort, but then you don't pay 5 star prices!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiare Tahiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.