We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tiare Tahiti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Norfolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good central location, spacious clean room, on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour. As others have said, the room and facilities were clean, bit dated but a good stopover place in central location. Staff variable in their helpfulness.

Room Tip: Room on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    46
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
67
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in September on a solo photographic visit ( www.spwijeyekoon.com). I chose the hotel primarily for low cost and a central location. I was allocated a top floor room with a small balcony with views directly opposite the port. The room and facilities were very basic and dated but clean. Unfortunately the single lift was broken for the duration of my stay which meant a fairly exhausting trips up and down with luggage. The street was also quite noisy despite shutting windows so would not be the best choice for those seeking peace and quiet. A very good central location for shops and bars. The port was also just a short walk for my onward ferry to Moorea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stumbled across this place and agree with the other reviews that the rooms aren't special but it is conveniently located near some good bars, restaruants and the night market. We had a 12h stopover and used this hotel to store our bags and freshen up before a flight and it was fine. The room had good views over the port but yes it was on a very busy road!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

we stayed here for a night either side of our cruise. It was basic, clean and comfortable. It is a 2 star hotel, what more can you expect? The staff were helpful and friendly. Yes, the main road is noisy, but it didn't stop us sleeping. We could walk down to our cruise. They charged us 96 euros because we had a booking for 2 ngihts, and for what other hotels cost in papeete, we were happy. It isn't a 5 star resort, but then you don't pay 5 star prices!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Believe me, dont wast your money on this dump. I spent time at both Le Meridien and Tiare with the wife. Let me tell ya its worth shelling out a 30 bucks more to stay at one of the more expensive resorts, even if it is a small stop over.

Tiare was filthy, and very dodgy. The hallway lights were even broken and we had to find our way into our room in complete darkness DURING THE DAYTIME!

Besides the resorts have free buses to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Great location, my room was on the second floor with a seaview. If you can get a higher floor then do as there is a very busy road below.
The room itself was grubby and circa 1970. the pillows were foam chips and very uncomfortable. Dont look too closley into the corners of the room- especially the bathroom -YUK!
Very handy for the market and dont miss the roulottes in the evening on the waterfront, they were fantastic.
There always seemed to be a group of people at reception who were friends with the receptionist!
overall its worth it for the location, for a night- maybe two.
As the airconditioing and electrics are activated by inserting a metal key fob into the wall, i took it off the keyring and left the A/c running while i was out. I also left the TV on as i was worried about the security of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

You do not have many options in accommodation in Tahiti.
You either have to book into an over priced hotel in the city or go out of town to a greatly over priced resort.
At least this hotel is centrally located, and the front rooms overlook the harbour which has views of Moorea and the cruise shiips arriving and departing.
Our room was large and had three beds, it was comfortable and serviced daily. The room was clean but as others have said the front balcony floor had accumulated the grime of a city.
Breakfast is available on site and there are shops nearby for snacks and coffee as well as the city markets, not forgetting MacDonalds two blocks away.
For dinner there are mobile diners on the waterfront that set up each night with a variety of meals.The staff are multi lingual and helpful, on 24 hours day. There is a drink machine and an ice machine available but no frig or tea making facilities in the rooms as the owners wish to retain the operation as a hotel rather than apartments (thats their story).
Yes , we would go there again

  • Liked — close to town
  • Disliked — lack of refrigerator etc
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiare Tahiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.