We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fare Suisse - the best choice on Tahiti.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fare Suisse Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Fare Suisse Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fare Suisse Tahiti
Rue des poilus tahitiens | Quartier Buillard - Paofai, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Nuremberg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fare Suisse - the best choice on Tahiti.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you consider visiting Tahiti for 2 or 3 days I’ll suggest you to stay in Papeete and this in particular in, Fare Suisse. In Papeete you’ve got everything you need and Fare Swiss is comfortable, clean and quiet. The house is new and so the rooms and the furniture. Every room has air-condition, nice bathroom and very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet (10 € p.P. extra) is very good and sufficient. To town is approx. 10-15 minutes’ walk. The host Beni is a young and alert Swiss who speaks French, German and English.
Ask Beni about car rentals. He can tell you the best place with reasonable rates. It’s definitely worth to go around the island – it’s really beautiful.
Have a cake at Patachou Patisserie – the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    76
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
213
69
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First of all, Beni is a super host! A big thank you to him. We owed him a big thank you for a long time! He's so helpful shuttling us to and from the airport and ferries. I'm writing this based on my last stay with him around Feb 2012. His place was very clean with air conditioning. The breakfast was very lovely. The staff who took care of his property are just lovely. Location-wise it's a short walk to the water-front and supermarket. Walking distance to the markets and shopping. Free wifi is just precious to us. Beni is very knowledgable and will give you all kinds of info for travelling. He's so dedicated that we saw him shuttling guests to and from the airport even late at night! The price was also very reasonable. I highly recommend people to stay with Beni instead of the big hotels.

Room Tip: If you come back late at night, the street is quite dark. Having a flashlight handy is a great idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

With a cruise ending in Papeete, we wanted to stay over one night and fly on to Australia a day later, so looked for reasonably priced accommodations, staying at a resort in Tahiti not being the object of our travel. I found Fare Suisse on a travel site and was impressed by its reasonable price, though the on-line description does not do it justice. It is about a six-minute drive from the cruise terminal. Benny, the owner, picked us up at the Tourist Info Center adjacent to the cruise terminal. Benny is Swiss by birth, hence the name of the fare (pension). The pension is spotlessly clean and up-to-date. There is a veranda that provides a roof-top view over part of the city, making for pleasant evening sitting, if desired. Breakfast is included, served on the veranda, and features a nice selection of cheese, meats, bread, cereal, etc. For dinner we walked to an Italian restaurant, L'Api'zzeria, (see my review elsewhere) just a few blocks away, adjacent to a large church that you can see from Fare Suisse. Finding your way back to Fare Suisse on your own can be a real trick, though, so take good note of how to get there if you do anything other than walk from here. Benny was very helpful in arranging a rental car that we used to drive around the entire island the day we arrived. Note, too, that he takes payment in Euro's (our twin-bed room was 105 Euro's), but that you can pay this by credit card. Being able to pay by credit card wasn't clear in the info I had received prior to arrival. Bottom line, this is a very nice and convenient place to stay if you're not looking to drop multiple hundreds of dollars at the area resorts or other downtown hotels. This would be my first choice to stay should we return to Papeete, even for an extended stay. Excellent value!

Room Tip: Book early, rooms are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

* good location
* clean room & bathroom
* supermarket in 5 minutes distance
* free airport transfer
* wifi working all the time
* very friendly & self-sacrificing owner
* liked the sitting & talking with other guests on the terrace

would love to stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When we stayed in French Polynesia we weren't on Trip Advisor, so this review is based on our experience 18 months ago, but I do want to share because Beni is just an amazing host. His language skills (German, English, French and probably more) are outstanding, his commitment to welcoming and farewelling each one of his guests is most appreciated and the simple, trusting way the shared area of the hotel is set up makes the place very special. Thanks, Beni. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I am trying to recall if we stayed with you three or four times during our visit to Tahiti et ses iles - no matter - hope there will be more opportunities and best of luck in your business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Owner picks you up at port or airport and is very reliable. Takes you to port or airport at end of trip also.
Property is VERY nice. Assistant at desk lovely.
Owner is efficient. Typically Swiss reliability and punctuality.
Rooms are clean and large.
Sit on the balcony with free wifi and enjoy the most incredible breeze of your life.
Breakfast very simple
Kitchen available for our use and grocery store within walking distance.
Main downtown area an easy walk away.
I would recommend this place any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pickup from 6:30am at airport ; as our international flight arrived an hour earlier (on schedule), this was a bit of a drawback. On the other hand it gave us some time to explore the airport (which you'll be done it within minutes).

Owner is very friendly. Free wifi, at night not working. During day: excellent

Shower hot water good, in morning out of hot water (water is heated by sun).

Location: 15 minutes walk into Papeete center. Supermarket and working ATM nearby, ideal for breakfast, lunch etc

Communal kitchen. Doesn't seem to be used much. But with Papeete to explore with all the food, that is understandable.

All in all, ideal place to explore Papeete.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fare Suisse Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Suisse Tahiti

Also Known As:
Fare Suisse Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Fare Suisse Tahiti Hotel
Fare Suisse Tahiti Papeete
Address: Rue des poilus tahitiens | Quartier Buillard - Paofai, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fare Suisse is a homey pension in the capital of French Polynesia, Papeete. The pension is 10 minutes away from the airport and offers comfortable access to the harbour and to the shopping area as well to all place of interest of Papeete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Fare Suisse Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fare Suisse Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.