We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in Papeete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Mandarin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Papeete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Mandarin
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Mandarin to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Rue Colette, B.P 302, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Best value hotel in Papeete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed two nights in this hotel during our time in Papeete which was mostly necessitated by transit. Given how many places to stay on Tahiti have bad reviews, I think this hotel is recommended. At XPF 15,500 per night, it is among the cheaper options available on Tahiti.

The hotel rooms are clean, if dull in décor. The views from the higher floors are nice. The service is passable. And it’s hard to beat the very central location it offers; it’s very convenient for your stay in Papeete for the likely errands you’ll need to be doing. Just about everything is within walking distance. Yet the rooms are rather quiet.

Wifi is available for XPF 1800 per 2 hours. Yes I almost doubled over when I heard that one but it is in line with other online access prices I have seen here. Being online is simply very expensive in PF.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
24
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Dingy dank hallways lead to shabby rooms with broken plumbing - at what anywhere else would be luxury rates. Indifferent staff. Expensive wifi. Filthy and rude. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This was our second stay in Hotel Le Mandarin. After extensive searching for an alternative reasonably priced and centrally located hotel for two relatively brief in-transit stays we decided that Hotel Le Mandarin still provided a no-frills, mid-range, honest option.
The hotel is in central Papeete, within walking distance of the ferry docks [we were going to and coming from Moorea], opposite the Town Hall, near the fascinating and busy local market and close to shopping. The nightly gathering of food carts on the waterfront is a 10 minute walk away and the airport is about 15 minutes by taxi.
The basic rooms are clean, adequately furnished and with a good bathroom. There is TV, A/C, and a telephone. Best views are from the rooms facing away from the harbour.
Multilingual staff members were welcoming and cheerful and managed requests such as accessing a taxi for a 4am trip to the airport with effortless efficiency. Should we need accommodation again in Papeete this hotel is a likely base.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

You wouldn't want to spend your Tahitian vacation here or any other place in downtown Papeete for that matter. Hotel Le Mandarin is fine for a short (one or maybe two night) stay if you need to stay in downtown Papeete or want to take the ferry to Moorea. The location is convenient, but it is noisy. It is just a short walk to the ferry docks, but you do have to cross a busy street. The market place is just a couple of blocks away and is worth going to if only to look around.

One reason we selected this hotel was that they responded right away by email when we inquired about a reservation. Some other hotels did not respond for several days and some did not respond at all. The man at the front desk was pleasant, helpful and spoke pretty good English. (We stayed here three years ago and no one spoke much English that time.) The cafe is pretty good for breakfast, but a bit expensive. Most important thing is our room was clean, close to the ferry and fairly reasonable by Tahiti pricing.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed at Le Mandarin for 2 nights prior to our cruise, along with 30 other pre cruise people who were all on the same plane, hence we all booked in at the same time, with only 1 person booking everyone in, so took a long time! Hotel room had bear essentials, and was very noisy, there is a night club ver y close by. Lucky we had our plane kits which had ear plugs, a must if you are to stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Very central hotel in Papaeete, bit outdated but its affordable and clean. staff were very helpful and always friendly. There is no jug in the rooms to make coffee but ask at reception and they will get you one. If you get a back room there are no views. Ate breakfast in the coffee shop not over expensive and at eat down on the whalf (a few minutes walk) for your evening meals. municiple could spend a bit of money doing up the street, its not what it looks in the photo. Expensive place to shop and eat but its an experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We arrived late at Midnight to a clean room in the front, with a very comfortable double bed, TV which had CNN, a small refrigerator/mini bar with enough room to keep food we bought at the market. It was quiet with a good air-conditioner which you need because of the heat and humidity.
We stayed for two nights before our cruise on the Aranui 3 freighter. The market where you can get about anything you need is just two blocks away. We bought food for all our meals there. The prices are the best and this is where the locals shop. We were also just two blocks from the water front and the main shopping area. There are many banks in the area all with an ATM so no problem getting Pacific Francs. They also let us store our luggage when our ship returned as our flight from Papeete was not until late that night.
I would recommend this for anyone that needs a basic hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mandarin

Address: 51 Rue Colette, B.P 302, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mandarin 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mandarin Papeete
Papeete Mandarin
Hotel Le Mandarin Tahiti/Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Mandarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.