We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic family time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

What a great, beautiful and friendly place! The lagoon is certainly something to see. We found our lagoon view room luxurious, comfortable and very spacious. During our 4 nights, the staff went out of their way to help and serve us. The Fri evening buffet was amazing - more than memorable.

One disadvantage is distance from town, and the fact that you have to pay for rides to and fro. However, it's a great spot to be in and there's plenty to enjoy in the surrounds.

Definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Comfort and service
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and be there for Fri evening buffet
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    308
    173
    78
    44
See reviews for
98
524
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

Just got back from a trip to Tahiti. I stayed at Le Meridien in Papeete. It was a gorgeous hotel! The architecture of the hotel is very European and stylish. There is a large koi pond, a lovely sand bottom pool and the ocean directly behind it. Everywhere you look there's beautiful water! We booked through cheaprooms.com and stayed for 247 a night, which is very cheap for Tahiti. They even threw in a breakfast buffet for one of the days, which is normally $39 per person (the dinner buffets are $69 per person!!!)

The rooms are large with full size bathrooms with separate bathtubs. The restaurants serve French cuisine and are over-priced but this is typical of all of Tahiti. We recommend walking one block (leave the lobby and turn left on main road) to Le Cigalon - which is both a restaurant and pizza stand. It is half the price of the hotel restaurants and the food is just as good! The pizza is really delicious. If you keep walking, there is also a supermarche (market) where you can buy all the water and supplies you need for less money. We ran into many other hotel guests at both the supermarket and pizza place.

It was mostly couples on honeymoon, mostly Americans and French, as well as some French families with children.

We loved our stay at Le Meridien and would stay there again. The regular rooms all had beautiful ocean views. The pool is fantastic and the ocean was nice for snorkeling or kayaking (both are free).

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

We were so enamored with our over-the-water bungalow that it basically took over our stay on Tahiti. We enjoyed snorkeling off our dock and kayaking by our bungalow and feeding the multi-colored abundant schools of fish from our balcony. The reception service was shockingly unprofessional. We simply had a hard time checking in and felt that there was some cultural prejudice. The seafood at the buffet was truly not fresh, much to our disappointment.

  • Liked — feeding fish from our over-the-water bungalow balcony
  • Disliked — dirty when we first arrived at the bungalow
  • Tips/Secrets — skip the buffet
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

This is not a five star resort based on European or American standards.

Although it is beach front the location of the hotel leaves a little to be desired. It is some way from the Airport and there are quite strong rip tides.

The pool is a sand based lagoon and is very nice but save for this there are few other activities at the resort (we spent much of our time palying table tennis with worn out bats!).

The rooms are clean although I would recommend a junior suite with a large balcony. We were upgraded to a junior suite when the air conditioning leaked and made the room we were in unusable. To the credit of the hotel they dealt with the issue quickly and moved us with the minimum of fuss.

The food seems fine but expensive (as most things were in Tahiti). However, there are few other places to eat in the area save for a couple of cafes and a Chinese restaraunt which can be recommended.

One other thing, there are numerous stray dogs on the site and they quite often walk through the resort although it appear that they reside at the resort entrance.

All in all this was not up to what I expected.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

We had a 5-day stay at Le Meridian Tahiti before our cruise. After the long flight from Seattle, what a great treat to be able to chill out and kill the jetlag. The bungalow we had at Le Meridian has been the greatest vacation hotel experience we've had. It costs more than the standard rooms, but we believe it was worth it and we'd do it again.

From our patio, we had an outstanding view of Moorea and the setting sun. We had our own private aquarium! Instant entertainment. We sat out on our patio each morning to watch the sun rise and see the reef around us come to life. So many different types of fish live in the corals! And they are all fond of stale french bread, we discovered. We even fed the small schools of baby leopard sharks.

Every night, we went to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the outer reef and the gentle lapping of water all around us. It was such a fantastic experience. The rooms are bigger on the inside than they appear on the outside. Teak floors, teak walls, walk-in shower, soaking tub and double sinks. We could take a bath or brush our teeth and still never lose sight of the water. Teak louvers, ceiling fan, large bed, nice sitting area, mini refrigerator and coffee maker.

I was a little concerned about "bugs" while I was planning our trip. And on arrival, when I saw the big bed with all the mosquito netting, I cringed. But do you want to know something? The netting was there for esthetics. We had the louvers on our bungalow wide open nearly the entire stay and we did not once get disturbed by any bugs! Not even when we were on our patio. I didn't get disturbed by bugs until went over to the pool and sunbathing area near the main hotel. Maybe the constant sea breeze and being over the water had something to do with it. Whatever the reason, we are totally sold on these bungalows.

The next time we go to Tahiti, we want to try Le Meridian Bora Bora. The over the water bungalows have glass coffee tables that slide open and allow you to view / feed the fish from INSIDE your bungalow. Plus, you can swim right off your patio!

Room service is expensive, as it is anywhere. Expect to pay a little over $30 for two people to have a hamburger and fries, and that does not include tip. Our honor bar offered some familiar goodies at a jacked up rate. For example, $5 for a can of Coke; $12 for a liter of water; $6 for a small can of M&Ms (canned to avoid the moisture, I suspect). Here's something the hotel clerks DO NOT volunteer to their guests: there is a little market around the corner. I enjoy going out to eat, but it helped our pocket book a little buying some things from the grocery store.

My fellow Americans, if you don't speak French, I think it's a good idea to learn some key French travel phrases before you come here! After all, it is FRENCH Polynesia. But if you really want to score some points with your native Tahitian hotel clerks and/or tour guides, learn to say HELLO, GOOD MORNING, PLEASE, and THANK YOU in Tahitian.


  • Liked — water views
  • Disliked — stray, starving, sick dogs -- very sad
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

Nice location. Shops and the like nearby. Spacious property. Lovely sunsets over Moorea. The over the water bungalow was lovely. Spoilt a liitle by people swimming too close - note people are advised to because of bad currents in the other direction. The buffet is a bit pricey but is top rate. Service was smooth and there was always a smile. Some negatives - some of the rooms looked awful. On the small side with no view and grotty plastic furniture. Some bits looked like a tacky resort. The band one night was SO loud it was annoying. If you can make it to an OWB I rate this one - otherwise I think the risks of a bad stay are high.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

My wife ,18 month old daughter & I spent 9 nights here from June 11th 2006.We loved the location, as it has the best beach and pool by far on the main Island.Also un- like the other hotels you are not hand cuffed to the hotel,when it comes to meal time.There is a near by food market and a couple of good restaurants all within walking distance from the hotel.
My wife and i have been blessed in traveling a great deal to some very luxurious places around the world,but no where as ever been as exspensive as Tahiti.It is out of contol and if you decide to stay out on one of the islands ,be prepared to not only be hand cuffed to paying the prices ,but also shackled as well.We enjoyed our hotel and booked day trips out to the islands.This was very cost effective and a great way to experience Tahiti without emptying your bank account.We rented a car for $90 per day and it takes about 4 hours to circle the island.Pappette has nothing to offer,the pearl market is a joke.$10 U.S for a fridge magnet.Morea was well worth a visit and the Tahitians are very friendly and welcoming.
In all we had a great time and i thought it worth reporting our findings ,as we booked our hotel based on the Trip Adviser web site and so glad we chose Le Meriden.We would definitely stay here again.
Carl Jones Folsom ,California

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.