We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay after a cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay after a cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived on a cruise ship in late January of this year. After an Island tour, we spent one night at Le Meridien and then an early morning flight to the states. I thought the price was too high for the amenities and service we received. To be fair though, we were there only a few hours on the day we arrived, and departed very early the next morning. We did not eat dinner there, but had a couple of drinks (very expensive) at the bar. Our main complaints: inadequate A/C in the room and fluctuating hot and cold water in the shower. I am sure both can be easily repaired.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread out and some rooms are quite a hike from the main lobby. Ground floor rooms allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    334
    200
    87
    50
See reviews for
114
566
36
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Le Meridien on two separate occasions (14th and 23-24th) in February as our "pre" and "post" Morrea visit. We had organized our entire vacation with Tahiti Travel Connection and this hotel was part of our Tahiti tour package ( meaning, it had not been our choice).

Initially, we were very apprehensive about the stay at this hotel due to the mixed comments posted on Tripadvisor and had prepared ourselves not to have too high an expectation.

Our stay on both occasions turned out to be comfortable and actually, very pleasant.

On the first night, we had arrived close to midnight and was fairly quickly assigned a room on Level 3 after check-in. We were grateful for a nice, clean and modern room to take a hot shower and sleep after a day of plane flights from Sydney. We didn't have the time nor energy to check out the hotel at that time as we had to depart early next morning to meet the ferry to Morrea. Our only impressions at that time were that the facade of the hotel appeared dated and the lotus pond around the hotel looked rather stagnant.

It was only at our second check in (post Morrea) that we appreciated the hotel more. This time, we were upgraded to room on Level 5 facing the pool and the ocean. It was an equally nice room that we found very clean and comfortable. We explored the surrounds of the hotel grounds and appreciated that the hotel has refurbished / modernized major sections like the Le Plantation restaurant , the main lobby ( very inviting) and the gardens around the hotel were kept neat and tidy. We were impressed that the we could even view our Account ( for the expenses incurred in the hotel) from the TV in the room and it was almost real time and up to date.

One negative was the thin walls. We could hear the sounds of the TV from the next room, doors from other rooms being slammed shut through the night and furniture from the room upstairs being dragged ( presumably, the foo was being cleaned).

We spent our last day in Tahiti laying on the beach chairs facing the ocean. The beach chairs, were surprising comfortable with the blue paddings. The swimming pool (with a sandy bottom) was refreshing to swim and cool down in. There were not many young children at that time and we noted the sense of tranquility by the pool. The sea was not as inviting as the ones we had seen at Morrea so we didn't venture into it.

There is a nearby supermarket just five minutes away from the hotel ( Super U) which we got some soft drinks, yoghurt, bottles of water and snacks.

Our package did not include any meals at the hotel. As can be expected, the cost of meals were not cheap but still relatively cheaper than the ones we had on Morrea.

We had our dinners at Le Carre (appeared to be a fusion of local and Japanese - fancy restaurant) and Le Plantation (simple food done very well and relatively more affordable between the two).

The staff spoke fluent English and were lovely and professiinal. .

Overall, we found Le Meriden to be a very nice lay over hotel for a day or two.
It has great potential for a higher rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels (level 5) facing the sea. You get to see the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'd describe this hotel as a tale of two extremes:

Pros:
- The beach access, pool, and water equipment are amazing. The pool makes you feel like you're in a freshwater beach, and the lagoon is great to swim/kayak/snorkel in. Extremely clear water with relatively few obstacles to avoid on the ground (eg coral) below the surface when it's particularly shallow and you are likely to walk.
- The service from the hotel staff is really good. They promptly fixed an issue we had with the restaurant (which the restaurant didn't address) and were helpful with things such as booking activities.
- The rooms are comfortable with really nice beds and strong air conditioning, which is particularly valuable in Tahiti!

Cons:
- The restaurant service was really poor. I have a separate review for this under La Plantation for more details. The bar near the beach was also really slow.
- The wifi was terrible, which is particularly frustrating since it costs extra. More than half the time, you get an error message implying there's not enough bandwidth.
- There was minimal hot water in the shower. I'd characterize the shower as slightly better than like warm.
- The hotel and furnishings are showing their age, making it feel less luxurious which is what you're going for in Tahiti and a place like this
- The location is far from the city. There are a few things within walking distance, including a grocery store and a couple local restaurants, but it would be nice to be in Papeete where there are many more options. Not sure if the beach would be so nice there though, so may be a tradeoff.

A couple suggestions if you come here:
1) In terms of food, if you don't want to try one of the nearby restaurants, I suggest getting room service. We did this the second night and they had basically the same menu as the main restaurant, but it came much faster and was presented very well. I'm not even sure there was a surcharge; if so, it must have only been a few dollars.
2) I forgot to look into this, but I heard you can get a rental car at the airport for like 25 USD per day. I think the hotel also has free parking. Since it costs 25-30 USD each way for the taxi, the rental car could be a great option. It would also let you easily go to Papeete, and the driving looked very simple between these two locations with a good road and safe drivers.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights, arriving the first evening just before midnight, so we stumbled to our bungalow without really being able to see very much. We didn't appreciate how worn down this place is until the morning. The boardwalk over the water to the bungalow we booked is falling apart and a bit of a hazard (pick up your feet so you don't trip on raised boards). The interior of our bungalow was nice--the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. However, the folding doors to the deck were broken and didn't open properly. The hotel lounge area has your typical overpriced, watered down drinks (truly terrible) so we walked next door to the market to purchase a bottle of rum so we could make a proper drink which we enjoyed on our little deck watching fish. The lagoon is nice but unfortunately there is no water access from the bungalow decks like many other resorts provide (although given the condition of the deck door, water access could provide security issues). But I would have liked to access the water from my room. It was very pretty. The beach is natural, meaning they don't invest in creating a pretty beach by bringing in white sand like some of the nicer resorts. There is also an artificial pool/lagoon with white sand in the middle of the grounds but there are some holes in the side of the sloped walls. Shabby. The pool staff was very friendly and took care providing snorkel gear, kayaks, towels, lounges, cushions etc. but many of the lounges are worn out -- rusty and torn fabric. It is clear that this place needs an infusion of cash to bring it up to speed. We had dinner at the restaurant on the beach (not in the main hotel). The food was pretty good (small plates). We only stayed one full day (departing early after the second night) and I'm glad it was only a lay over on our way to another island. I enjoyed our one day accommodation on the water but I think if I were to do it again, I'd pick another resort.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jérémy D, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Ia Orana, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are sorry if our hotel did not completely match your expectations. Our management have been informed about your feedback, and we will use it to improve our current level of services. For your information, sun lounges have been ordered and are on their way so that our future guests will be able to enjoy them. We are hoping to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First let me start off with my personal expectations before my trip based off of my research from sites like hotels.com and trip advisor.

Meriden is one of the larger resorts on Tahiti. It has a modern flare with clean rooms and exceptional service. The food in and around the hotel is expensive. But the private white sand beach and the hotel's sand bottom lagoon pool should make up for the overpriced meals.

--------

The following is my real life experience based off of a one week stay at Le Meridien on February 14-21, 2015.

When we arrived at the hotel (around 9:30pm on a Saturday night) we were greeted by a friendly gentleman at the front desk with a lukewarm shot of what I think was mango juice. There was live music playing in the bar downstairs. Music was awesome. Atmosphere was awesome. Good start.

We finally got to our rooms and immediately felt like there was some kind of bait and switch happening. The room we were put in (room 125) was not the clean modern rooms we saw in the photos. Ours was an outdated room you'd find in at a two star hotel. The room felt muggy and musty. The air conditioning, even at the coolest setting did not get cold enough to be comfortable. The walls were covered with what looked like blood spots of squashed mosquitos. More on the mosquitos in a bit. The refrigerator was not cold enough to keep our sons' milk cold. It spoiled after the first day. We called for maintenance and waited in our room for an hour and a half. No one came. We tried again the following day. We got a replacement an hour after we called front desk. We befriended other guests of the hotel and their rooms on the 5th floor was more accurate to what the photos portray on the website. Looks like all the ground floor rooms are outdated while the upper floors have been remodeled to be more accurate to what the pictures on the website looks like.

Unbeknownst to us, every Thursday the hotel applies some type of chemical treatment to every room on the ground floor. We walked into our room after a day of exploring and was welcomed with a thick smokey chemical haze. The haze was so thick, at first I thought it was smoke from a fire. The chemical smell made me think otherwise. Ran to the front desk to alert them and was nonchalantly informed that this was normal and just a weekly mosquito treatment. Okay, cool. I wish we were informed about this process earlier. We had left out our tooth brushes, some fruits and my one year old's pillow and blanket. Had we known about it, we would have put these things away. They claimed it was safe, but the chemical smell was so strong and haze so thick that it lingered for a few hours. We left our room, chilled poolside and came back two hours later and the haze was still thick and the room still smelled like Raid. I did not want my toddler inhaling these chemicals so we asked to switch rooms. No harm no foul. Just our toothbrushes, fruit and son's blanket were exposed and some inconvenience in packing up our stuff, but better safe than sorry. Another plus of switching rooms, our AC worked properly and comfortably cooled the room.

The food choices are limited in and around the hotel. A dry, bland hamburger at the hotel is around $20usd. Bottled water another $6usd. A plate of spaghetti for room service was $21usd. Bottled water was free with room service order. A Caesar salad at (Le Nemo) restaurant just outside of the hotel was $21usd. Chez Remy is another restaurant just outside of the hotel. It is a small but AC cooled French restaurant that serves awesome duck and seafood dishes. Plates were around $30-50usd. Pricey but the quality was a notch above the hotel food. The grocery store is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We got our snacks and water there. There is a food truck about a 5 minute walk from the hotel (opposite direction from the grocery store). The walk is a bit dangerous. Busy, narrow street, no sidewalks, poor lighting. There we found the traditional Tahitian meal. Huge portions. Tahitian huge. Could have fed us for 2-3 days if we had a proper refrigerator and microwave in our room. The Tahitian ceviche ($15usd) was my favorite dish from that food truck. Our favorite meal was the pizza food truck that showed up after 6pm on weekdays. A large pepperoni pizza (8 slices) is $16usd. We ate at this pizza truck 4 out of the 7 nights we were in Tahiti. The Italian man was the nicest guy ever.

The beach is small. Not quite white sand. Felt a little dirty. Might have been because of the warm, dark unclean looking water near shore, or the faint mixed smell of rotten fish and some sort of nitrate smelling chemical. The snorkeling is awesome the further out you get. Lots of marine life in the reefs. Free snorkel gear from the hotel. Kayak was also fun. And free. The sunset is amazing. It came at 6:35pm on the dot every evening.

The lagoon pool has a sandy bottom. That's about all it has going for it. On the weekends the pool gets full from a mix of locals and hotel guests. The water is warm and cloudy -- mostly residue from everyone's sun screen. Plenty big to accommodate everyone.

Some other quick hits:
Our flight left at 11pm at night. Our checkout was at 11am. They did not allow for a late checkout because the hotel was fully booked. The good thing is they offer an air conditioned transit room for us to shower and freshen up in before our flight.

We arranged our shared transport to and from the airport directly through the hotel. It cost $140usd for my wife and I with our one year old. Price is steep for a shared transfer. A cab ride to downtown Papeete from the hotel is about $30usd one way. The airport is closer to the hotel than downtown is to the hotel. Go figure.

We booked our Moorea lagoon tour directly through the hotel as well. They required $10usd upfront to be paid in cash to the front desk. The balance to be paid directly to the tour company. The total price of the tour is $60 per person. We paid $60 to the tour company. Save yourself $20 and book it yourself.

Despite all of these first world problems, we managed to enjoy the facilities and more importantly the people around us. The island people are very friendly. The hotel workers are very friendly and mostly helpful. The two most helpful people at the front desk were Caroline and Tino.

Overall, not the best value for a vacation. This hotel is suitable for a one to two day stay. But because of the lack of food options and the so-so beach and pool facilities, I would not recommend for a weeklong stay as we did. If I were to do it over again, I would go straight to Moorea and skip Tahiti altogether.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jérémy D, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Ia Orana, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are sorry that our resort did not succeed entirely to match your expectations. Your feedback has been reported to our management, and we will use it to improve our level of services. We appreciate your mentions about the friendliness of our staff, and we are happy you enjoyed your swimming experience with these beautiful surroundings. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced with your room. We try to accomodate to our guests needs’ when it is possible, and rooms changes or late check out can be made when availabilities allow it. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights in January prior to our cruise. I had read many reviews and as we got closer to date of departure the reviews seemed to get worse. We had booked many months before and had a non-refundable room so canceling was not an option. We arrived between 6 and 7 am and as would be expected at most hotels there was not a room ready yet. We were fine with that and used the day room to change into swimsuits. The hotel stored our large suitcases and we took our carry ons to the pool area. The pool area is very pretty and kept clean. While it is a pool it is supposed to appear like a lagoon, thus the sandy bottom. The only negative about the pool is that they do need to get some new chairs and additional umbrellas. Some of the chairs were in such bad condition that they couldn't be used. After spending a couple of hours at the pool my husband went and inquired about a room being ready. No room ready but it was still very early. After about 3 hours we did get assigned to a room. We had reservations for an ocean view on the top floor. My husband came back and told me that he accepted a first floor room so we could get settled. Come to find out they upgraded us to an over the water bungalow! We were ecstatic to say the least. The bungalow was great. It had a king bed, sofa, large surfboard coffee table, a desk area, large bathroom area and a small deck. No, it isn't a new hotel and yes, it needs some refurbishment however our room was clean and everything worked fine. We had free wi-fi in our room because we are Starwood members. The signal was adequate and we were able to connect at all hours of the day. We spent all 3 days at the "resort" and after really thinking about the age of the place and the condition we think the best word to describe it is "rustic". Don't choose this resort if you are looking for new and modern. It has seen its better days but it still has quite a bit of charm and is a comfortable place to spend 2 or 3 days. We had good service from all the staff we encountered. We ate at the restaurant in the main building and also in the nicer restaurant that is separate and by the beach. Yes, hamburgers are approximately $18 but we have travelled to many other places and paid the same. We had rib eye dinners in the nicer restaurant and they were $24 apiece. All the food was good and we had no complaints about the quantity or the quality. People need to remember that they are not at home and things tend to cost more when traveling abroad. The lobby area is worn but still functional and comfortable. This hotel is really exposed to the elements and it does take its toll on things exposed to the humidity and salt air. The ocean access is calm due to the reef that keeps the waves far from the shore. We saw many snorkelers and saw lots and lots of fish from the dock that goes out to the bungalows. We even saw a couple of reef sharks. They do not bother people so don't be fearful of snorkeling with them around. There is a grocery store about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Do be careful when you step out onto the main road. We had read to be cautious and once we were there we saw that you enter out onto a busy road. The grocery store isn't anything fancy but had everything we were looking for. Prices were more than at home but it all has to be shipped in so thus the added cost. Certainly not so pricey that we couldn't buy everything we wanted. We did not eat outside of the resort so we cannot comment on any other restaurants in the area. I am quite aware that our positive comments about the resort are helped by being upgraded to a bungalow. However, we are seasoned travelers and hope we presented a reasonably fair review of the Le Meridien. I give it 4 stars by Tahiti's standards. It would certainly not be higher than a 2 or 3 by US standards. We stayed at the Intercontinental the last time we were in Tahiti and we did enjoy it. Le Meridien gives a much slower, relaxed feel than the Intercontinental. I suppose I could concede that the Intercontinental is taken care of a bit more. People have commented on how far out the Le Meridien is from the airport but we were pleasantly surprised at what a short ride it was. 15 to 20 minutes. We reserved in advance a taxi ride to the hotel. It was $40 for two of us. I think it is possible to get it a bit cheaper. In the $35 range? We never left the resort since we had been to Papeete before so the distance to town wasn't as important to us. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on the condition of the rooms in the main building. I would guess that most people are pretty accurate with their description of things being worn. The over the water bungalow runs approximately $690 per night. (which we were fortunate not to pay) Don't expect the Ritz even for that kind of money. But do expect a fun, unique experience that might be a once in a lifetime opportunity. We feel really lucky to have gotten such a great upgrade. Remember to think rustic not ritzy and you should be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jérémy D, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Ia Orana, thank you for your review. We are glad to read that your stay at le Méridien Tahiti have let you amazing memories. We appreciate your comment about our pool, staff and service. It is a pleasure to have upgraded you in an overwater bungalow which made you enjoyed the lagoon and its beautiful fishes. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Papeete is well named as in Polynesian it means water basket and it is a low lying port which is the capital of tahiti. The island of tahiti itself acts as a launching pad for some of the beautiful islands such as Rangiora, Bora Bora and Moorea. Papeete should not be looked at as a holiday destination but merely a stopover place between flights or cruises. The two resort hotels of note are the Interconntinental and Le Meridian, upon arrival in tahiti we stayed at the Intercontinental for 3 nights prior to a package deal with the same hotel on Bora Bora followed by a 10 day cruise around the islands. I approached the Interconntinental to see if they would match the rate of our initial booking but they wouldn't with their rate being around $480 per night plus breakfast so I researched other hotels and number 2 on the list was Le Meridian which was offered at $306 AU per night plus taxes. A no brainer when comparing the dollar for dollar value. As a member of the Starwood programme I booked the cheapest room because as a SPG member you get upgraded almost 100% of the time. When we arrived it was early at 8 am and the not so happy receptionist did book us in straight away into the 5 th floor SPG 5th floor. The rooms are a good size have had a paint over in the last few years and have commanding view of the lagoon, the bed is comfortable and in honesty the room is excellent value for a stop over hotel albeit it is very tired like the rest of the hotel and in need of physical and cosmetic maintenance. The maintenance is definitely not up to the standard of the Interconntinental but the pool area and the sandy beach area which opens up to the lagoon is far more comfortable,informal and relaxing. The pool attendant will supply towels,snorkels and kayaks for no fee and you are at Liberty to swim and snorkel around the dormant coral. There really is a lot of fish life to keep your interest. Went to the Le Carre restaurant at about 11.40 to be told no service till 12 noon so wandered up till to the Plantation dining area sat down and ordered what the couple next door were eating Spagetti Bolognase,after ordering a wine and waiting 25 minutes the waitress brought out fettuccini instead of Spagetti ,when questioned why it was not Spagetti we were told they were out of it, then to top it off they said here is the cheese which was brought out in individual bowls and poured on top of the meal. Upon close inspection we could see the cheese was old and moldy not blue vein cheese just old and moldy. I showed the waitress to be told wait a moment I will show the chef, she returned promptly grabbed the plate and said chef said don't eat (one of the ugly moments) then asked what else would you like. We ordered simple hamburgers which were presented another 20 minutes later with 2 glasses of complimentary wine. Upon completion of the meal we were given an account with no charge for the meals as a way of apologising for the previous meals presented. Breakfast menus were given us in the room and for a full breakfast it was 4600pfc per person or about $55 Au and I don't care how good it may or may not be I refuse to pay $110 for cornflakes and bacon and eggs to anyone for 2 people. The good thing about Le meridian is there is a small shopping centre right next door with a super market,a small caffe and a Chinese restaurant cafe which is opened for breakfast. We went there and we had quiches sandwiches and dumplings which were freshly made and together with 2 coffees cost less than $20. I know it is along review but I expect most Aussies and Americans will choose either of these when coming as a stop over so just wanted people to be informed as per my review of the Interconntinental. Question is which would I stay at again with the benefit of history and experience. If you want a hotel that is very relaxed has great swimming snorkelling and you can look past it's tired veneer then I would have to say value for money Le Meridian. Should you wish a little more polish on your romantic escapade and prepared to pay then it is the Interconntinental
I laugh when I spoke to one of the staff about the exorbitant price of a cocktail which was about $25 AU and his response was a classic " But sir this isTahiti!"

Room Tip: If you don't get a 5th floor room then it probably is not going to be suitable. Join starwoods p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jérémy D, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Ia Orana, thank you for your review about le Méridien Tahiti. We have reported it to our management and it will be used to improve our service. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Le Méridien Tahiti allows you to discover and enjoy Tahiti’s lagoon thanks to snorkeling materials and kayaks which are available for our guests. It is also a pleasure to upgrade our guests when availability allows it, and we are happy you enjoyed it. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.