We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 4 Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome 4 Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for the first 4 days of our trip. It was a magnificent location. The pool was the BEST we've ever experienced. The grassed area (dotted with palm trees) beside the pool and the beach, just beyond, were beautiful. The room was great with very comfortable beds. And the staff were lovely to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a this positive review about Le Méridien Tahiti. We are honored you consider our white sand swimming pool as the best you ever experienced. Thank you also for mentioning our staff as lovely to deal with.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    304
    165
    76
    44
See reviews for
98
512
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first trip to Tahiti, and last. We spent four full days and 3 night. We learned several things. Like, the Island of Papeete itself blew our perception of Tahiti right into the trash. If you can, once you land, immediately take the ferry to Moorea or hop on a connector flight to Bora Bora.
Candidly speaking, Papeete had more graffiti per square mile than many large U.S. cities and it just did not feel like a secure and comfortable environment. There was a very noticeable division between the 'haves' and 'those who wish they had'. It was not friendly and the beach views were obstructed by either mini-mansions or low budget housing.

We stayed in a different hotel each night. Hotel Sarah Nui on Papeete and Kaveka hotel on Moorea were disappointed primarily because of bait and switch like tactics. Although the physical properties were okay.

So we decided to stay here (back on Papeete) for our last night. One word to describe it, awesome!!!

Location:
This hotel is located about 15 minutes cab ride the international airport by cab. The cab fare to the hotel was about 2600 cf (about $32 U.S.). It is right off of the main island circling highway, right on the beach waterfront. Not sure what businesses were next to the resort because we had no plans to venture out into Papeete again.

Initial Impact:
Wow! Was the word that both of us used, when we walked into the open air lobby and could see across the sandy play area, outdoor beachscape type swimming pool, all the way to the beach itself and above the water bungalows.


Front Desk:
We were greeted by a young front desk agent, by the name of REDA. We told him about our two previous hotel stays and he indicated that he would make sure we were happy at the Le Meridien Tahiti. He was friendly, personable, knowledgeable and had a nice welcoming smile on his face each time we saw him. The first thing he did, without us having to ask, is to extend our stay to 1pm, versus the normal 11am, the next day. He informed us that they had a great breakfast buffet included with our rate too. When we mentioned having an almost mid-night outbound flight, he directed us to the day room facilities that we could use after check-in to freshen up and take shower.

Room:
REDA, gave us a very nice room on the fifth floor with a surround view, that let us see everything from our balcony. When we walked in the room, we looked at each other and just said, "wow"! That room made a knock-out impression, with large comfortable looking bed, massive bathroom with separate high end tub with multiple faucet heads on one wall and a walk in shower on the other. The bathroom even has blinds and a large window that let light pass in from the bedroom.

The decor of the room was ultra-modern, with muted off white and grey type colors, it had big windows to allow lots of light to come in, the furnishings were first rate and all infrastructure components worked as be expected. In fact the room looked so good I didn't want to mess up anything. That feeling lasted for about 5 minutes though. Hopefully, the photographs will give you a better idea of how nice the room was. Lighting was more than adequate and the door was solid, giving you a sense of security.

Beach:
The only disappointing thing is that the sand part of the beach behind this resort is very thin. Yet, when I looked down the shoreline many of the places had no expose sand at all. Please note, I am only disappointed in the amount of sand. The ocean behind the hotel is absolutely clear, tranquil and gorgeous. So much so, that the locals used the beach as well as the hotel guest and it was more fun, seeing the local parents bring their kids out to play there, instead of just the guest. The placid water is relatively shallow, but beach shoes are best because there's lots of rocky spots under the water, that can be uncomfortable in bare feet to walk on.


Other Items:
1. The room did have a safe in a discreet little closet.
2. Wifi does cost you if you use it in the room. However, the lobby wifi is free and it is great place to sit and watch people coming and going.
3. They have two computers for use in the lobby if you don't have a portable device, and the give you an hour of use, each time you log on.
4. The breakfast buffet was excellent. It included everything from meats, yogurts, cereal, crescents and other breads, omelettes, pancakes, various milks, jams, pastries. It was served in a covered, open air area just short of the pool.
5. They provide free kayak rentals (we both tried them out and it was like being in a painting as you drifted silently along the very smooth waterfront.
6. The day room has three showers with towels and a bathroom associated with each.

Last of all, we saw REDA again as the sun set and he had already called us a cab for the schedule departure time. Cabs, cost a lot more after 8pm, so he had us one at the hotel by 720pm, to make the trip back to the airport for departure. Although we left Tahiti convinced that Moorea was the much better, tourist friendly island, our experience at Le Meridien and the service of REDA, made our last day very special. My wife said she hopes that he is there when we come back. My credit card says the next time will be at least 10 years from now.

Again two night in previous hotels with horrible service experiences, staying at Le Meridien Tahiti was heaven. It was well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the surround view rooms, or better yet one of the bungalow above the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing such a detailed and positive review about Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad our resort gave you the experience you were looking for in Tahiti. Reda greatly appreciated your feedback regarding the quality of his service.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our 2-day over the water bungalow stay after 10-days of chartering from Sunsail was great! We were glad that we booked it with breakfast included because the breakfast dining experience was delicious. Imagine fresh omlets with all the wonderful French breads and croissants! We expecially liked REDA, the wonderful young man (from Germany) at the Front Desk. He was an absolute treasure because he helped us book a wonderful island tour and shopping excursion. He also advised us about the Friday night Tahitian Show with the sensational buffet (simply the best roast lamb and beef!) and wonderful other entrees and French pastry desserts! Just superb! I have never met such a helpful front-desk person - he will be a super-star for the resort!

One comment - it would be helpful for the resort to include hair dryers in the "In Transit Room" and update it a bit with more comfortable seating and fresher towels. Other than that, you can't go wrong staying here!

Room Tip: The over the water bungalows are wonderful retreats - you can snorkel nearby them and see colorful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Joanne,

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Reda has been really pleased to read your comment. Your feedback regarding the transit room will be reported to the management.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Island, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed recently in Papeete for a week with my family. We used the hotel as our base for exploring all Tahiti has to offer in terms of sightseeing and relaxtion. We were not disappointed. While the hotel has some details to work on (faulty elevator, small maintenace issues, and lack of really good amenities) we still really enjoyed our stay. The Sandy bottom pool is a real highlight, a swim in the ocean and a little kayaking is very pleasant from the private beach. We enjoyed the different restaurant options as well. As this hotel tends to cater to people just "passing through" to other destinations in polynesia, I felt that sometimes it lacked personal service and attention to its guests. I have to mention both Aimata and Tino as two stand out employees. They took the time to get to know us (we spent an entire week with them!) and remembered our names and our likes and dislikes. They helped us coordinate all our tours and gave helpful suggestions. They both were very pro-active and helped me resolve small situations which their collegues did not have the capacity to help solve. I generally really enjoyed my experience. With a little tender love and attention this hotel could really shine, it has a lot of great qualities but needs a little TLC to bring it full circle. I still reccomend it to anyone going to Papeete, just relax and enjoy your vacation. Do every tour you can, it is really worth it.

Room Tip: I reccomend the ocean view panoramic rooms especially on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you mentioned the qualities of the resort and its staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in an overwater bungalow for 1 week at Le Meridien. They picked us up right from the airport and transferred us by boat to the resort (30 min tops). It was really nice and convenient which we liked so first impressions were great. The resort is quite large which isn't really something we expected being that it’s on the sandbar, but on a positive note, there was so much beach room that you never felt crowded or heard much noise.

The rooms are really nice and modern and also kept very clean. They all have huge glass bottom floors, although not much to see as there is no coral around (i.e. not many fish), like we saw in our bungalow in Moorea. We ended up in a room facing inland, so a helpful hint is to request a room facing the main island. Not only will you have better views, but you'll also have sun on your patio all day long.

Food & beverages were very expensive as is everything in Tahiti, but it was all fantastic. The quality and portions were great and we especially loved the Italian place. Downside - they close down the restaurants 2 or 3 nights a week and force you to pay $90 per person for a buffet which is crazy. We ended up ordering room service on one of these nights - which wasn't comparable to the hotel restaurants quality and the other night we booked a reservation on the main island at Bloody Mary’s (highly recommend this place).

We took the water taxi the hotel offers (for $56) over to the main island to explore and also to hit up a grocery store for cheaper beer and wine. Definitely worth it for the cost savings as we were able to find the same wine bottles for $16 vs $40 at the resort.

There is no free Wi-Fi which we thought was odd given the cost to stay at the resort, however, they do have computers you can use free of charge.

We enjoyed the views from the beach and the snorkeling off the inner lagoon. You also are able to rent fins, paddle boards, sea kayaks, etc. which is free.

Overall we can say it was a great hotel - just really depends on what you are looking for. And as with everything in Tahiti, expect it to cost a lot but be assured you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very nice review but we think you might confuse our resort with Le Méridien Bora Bora. We have two Le Méridien hotels in French Polynesia, and the only one with transparent bottom floor in its bungalows and shuttle by boat is Le Méridien Bora Bora.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPG
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and the end of our Windstar cruise. We arranged this independently of the cruise as Gold Starwood guests and received an upgrade to the top floor and free Wi-Fi. The room was spacious and clean and provided a wonderful view of the sand bottom pool and ocean. The main restaurant served an excellent buffet breakfast with a good variety of options. Dinner at the same restaurant was not as successful as I received seared tuna that was cooked well instead of rare.
The staff was all very helpful and pleasant despite the fact that they seemed to be understaffed.
We had one unpleasant experience at the hotel concerning a French woman named Genevieve who lives in Tahiti and who was teaching (perhaps to teach English) as an employee of the hotel. When my husband was backing out of his parking stall in front of the hotel, this woman drove past behind him. My husband stopped and then because she saw a parking spot that she had just passed, she stopped and threw her car into reverse and smashed into the side of our rental car. Her first reaction was to deny it happened and then that it was old damage on our car. When my husband showed her the corresponding damage on her car she tried to minimize it and say it was partly his fault. How could this be his fault at all when the damage was on the rear side of our car? You can't hit with the side of your car! You can't hit when you are stopped! They exchanged particulars and she said she would contact the rental company. When we returned to Papeete after our cruise we phoned Avis and they told my husband that she had not contacted them and that we would be held responsible for all of the damage. We phoned her and again she again refused to accept any responsibility. She lied repeatedly about many things. Unfortunately this negatively coloured our stay at this hotel which was otherwise very lovely. Beware of crazy French drivers in the parking lot!

Room Tip: The top floor has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you encountered this unusual car experience on our parking lot. The behavior you describe is totally unacceptable but the person you describe was just a client of the hotel. We do not have anyone called Genevieve and teaching English at our resort.

We do appreciate you did not let this story impact the excellent rank you gave to Le Méridien Tahiti.

We will be pleased to welcome you again.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our Windstar Cruise docked early in the morning, and we headed straight to Le Meridien for an overnight stay before heading home. I should have put "early check-in" into the reservation, but it wasn't long before the Front Desk found us a room. Clean, comfortable, lovely view. We ran into friends from the cruise who were staying in one of the over-water bungalows. Definitely the way to go next time! We enjoyed watching the koi in the pond outside our window, though. All in all, we enjoyed the stay and would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you mentioned the cleanness of our rooms and lovely view.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sunniest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.