We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Easter Island, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed recently in Papeete for a week with my family. We used the hotel as our base for exploring all Tahiti has to offer in terms of sightseeing and relaxtion. We were not disappointed. While the hotel has some details to work on (faulty elevator, small maintenace issues, and lack of really good amenities) we still really enjoyed our stay. The Sandy bottom pool is a real highlight, a swim in the ocean and a little kayaking is very pleasant from the private beach. We enjoyed the different restaurant options as well. As this hotel tends to cater to people just "passing through" to other destinations in polynesia, I felt that sometimes it lacked personal service and attention to its guests. I have to mention both Aimata and Tino as two stand out employees. They took the time to get to know us (we spent an entire week with them!) and remembered our names and our likes and dislikes. They helped us coordinate all our tours and gave helpful suggestions. They both were very pro-active and helped me resolve small situations which their collegues did not have the capacity to help solve. I generally really enjoyed my experience. With a little tender love and attention this hotel could really shine, it has a lot of great qualities but needs a little TLC to bring it full circle. I still reccomend it to anyone going to Papeete, just relax and enjoy your vacation. Do every tour you can, it is really worth it.

Room Tip: I reccomend the ocean view panoramic rooms especially on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you mentioned the qualities of the resort and its staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    284
    153
    67
    42
See reviews for
95
480
30
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in an overwater bungalow for 1 week at Le Meridien. They picked us up right from the airport and transferred us by boat to the resort (30 min tops). It was really nice and convenient which we liked so first impressions were great. The resort is quite large which isn't really something we expected being that it’s on the sandbar, but on a positive note, there was so much beach room that you never felt crowded or heard much noise.

The rooms are really nice and modern and also kept very clean. They all have huge glass bottom floors, although not much to see as there is no coral around (i.e. not many fish), like we saw in our bungalow in Moorea. We ended up in a room facing inland, so a helpful hint is to request a room facing the main island. Not only will you have better views, but you'll also have sun on your patio all day long.

Food & beverages were very expensive as is everything in Tahiti, but it was all fantastic. The quality and portions were great and we especially loved the Italian place. Downside - they close down the restaurants 2 or 3 nights a week and force you to pay $90 per person for a buffet which is crazy. We ended up ordering room service on one of these nights - which wasn't comparable to the hotel restaurants quality and the other night we booked a reservation on the main island at Bloody Mary’s (highly recommend this place).

We took the water taxi the hotel offers (for $56) over to the main island to explore and also to hit up a grocery store for cheaper beer and wine. Definitely worth it for the cost savings as we were able to find the same wine bottles for $16 vs $40 at the resort.

There is no free Wi-Fi which we thought was odd given the cost to stay at the resort, however, they do have computers you can use free of charge.

We enjoyed the views from the beach and the snorkeling off the inner lagoon. You also are able to rent fins, paddle boards, sea kayaks, etc. which is free.

Overall we can say it was a great hotel - just really depends on what you are looking for. And as with everything in Tahiti, expect it to cost a lot but be assured you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very nice review but we think you might confuse our resort with Le Méridien Bora Bora. We have two Le Méridien hotels in French Polynesia, and the only one with transparent bottom floor in its bungalows and shuttle by boat is Le Méridien Bora Bora.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPG
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and the end of our Windstar cruise. We arranged this independently of the cruise as Gold Starwood guests and received an upgrade to the top floor and free Wi-Fi. The room was spacious and clean and provided a wonderful view of the sand bottom pool and ocean. The main restaurant served an excellent buffet breakfast with a good variety of options. Dinner at the same restaurant was not as successful as I received seared tuna that was cooked well instead of rare.
The staff was all very helpful and pleasant despite the fact that they seemed to be understaffed.
We had one unpleasant experience at the hotel concerning a French woman named Genevieve who lives in Tahiti and who was teaching (perhaps to teach English) as an employee of the hotel. When my husband was backing out of his parking stall in front of the hotel, this woman drove past behind him. My husband stopped and then because she saw a parking spot that she had just passed, she stopped and threw her car into reverse and smashed into the side of our rental car. Her first reaction was to deny it happened and then that it was old damage on our car. When my husband showed her the corresponding damage on her car she tried to minimize it and say it was partly his fault. How could this be his fault at all when the damage was on the rear side of our car? You can't hit with the side of your car! You can't hit when you are stopped! They exchanged particulars and she said she would contact the rental company. When we returned to Papeete after our cruise we phoned Avis and they told my husband that she had not contacted them and that we would be held responsible for all of the damage. We phoned her and again she again refused to accept any responsibility. She lied repeatedly about many things. Unfortunately this negatively coloured our stay at this hotel which was otherwise very lovely. Beware of crazy French drivers in the parking lot!

Room Tip: The top floor has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you encountered this unusual car experience on our parking lot. The behavior you describe is totally unacceptable but the person you describe was just a client of the hotel. We do not have anyone called Genevieve and teaching English at our resort.

We do appreciate you did not let this story impact the excellent rank you gave to Le Méridien Tahiti.

We will be pleased to welcome you again.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our Windstar Cruise docked early in the morning, and we headed straight to Le Meridien for an overnight stay before heading home. I should have put "early check-in" into the reservation, but it wasn't long before the Front Desk found us a room. Clean, comfortable, lovely view. We ran into friends from the cruise who were staying in one of the over-water bungalows. Definitely the way to go next time! We enjoyed watching the koi in the pond outside our window, though. All in all, we enjoyed the stay and would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you mentioned the cleanness of our rooms and lovely view.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sunniest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is a gem hiding in the middle of a bustling town, as most hotels here are. The rooms are spacious for European standards(French Polynesia). A majority of the regular rooms face the ocean and there is always the room over the coral reef option. I looked at both and they are all lovely. Large sand bottom pool and amazing sunset views. Kayaking and snorkeling are included. Here's what you need to know:
If you are budgeting- get your liquor at the airport stateside as drinks are very expensive. Food is really high as well, but you can walk to the supermarket down the hill or there are food trucks a couple blocks away. Splurge on the Friday night Polynesian dance and dinner. The tours at the hotel are reasonable and worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for writing a review about our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you again for another trip of yours in Tahiti.

Sunniest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We make a couple of trips to the Pacific Islands each year and have never been disappointed. This was our first trip to Tahiti and we enjoyed every moment of it. The hotel while largish did not feel crowded and the rooms (all of which seem to have a lagoon view, even the ones described as 'garden view' which we were on the ground floor) were large, modern and well appointed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had been told that food would be expensive but we found there were a range of options. Right next door to the resort was a shopping centre with a Patisserie, supermarket and a couple of restaurants. The filled baguettes from the Patisserie were outstanding and about the same price as NZ (the unfilled baguettes from the supermarket were much cheaper and there were a wide range of filings if you wanted to make your own). There were also excellent ready-made meals at the supermarket, ranging from European to Chinese and Vietnamese. The restaurant we went to (Le Cigalon) beside the hotel served excellent pastas and pizzas, amongst other things, and quite reasonably priced. We did, however, go to the hotel restaurant by the waterfront a couple of times. It was I think about NZ$150 for two, for a main and wine, but the food and service were outstanding! A couple of other things - no problem catching a cab from the airport to the hotel. The prices were marked on a board by the taxi rank - about NZ$40 (the night rate), and we took the bus into Papeete - you catch it across the road from the shopping centre. I think it was about NZ$5 (less if you get a return ticket). We loved Le Meridien and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Ia orana,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Your positive feedback on the quality of service, food, and surrounding is much appreciated.
We will be pleased to welcome you again in our resort.

Maururuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014



Felt safe booking a Starwood Hotel until we experienced Le Mediocre Papeete. Yes it's a stopover hotel for the islands but its our first experience of Tahiti and first impressions count. Our immediate thought was "is this a Starwood ?"

Our habit, rate a hotel by its breakfasts, it's rooms, cleanliness and atmosphere and the staff.

So. ... The Food : The worst breakfast we have ever encountered, and we mean Ever! We have stayed in 3 star hotels in Europe that provide simple breakfasts and lodges in Nepal with better quality food. I ordered an onion and tomato omelette that came deep fried, with cheese inside that I didn't order. Enough to make my stomach turn after a few bites. Lifting the covers on the bain marees revealed cold coagulated fatty bacon and sausage. No thanks. The fruit was mangy and probably last week's left overs. The bread either soggy or stale.

A $300 dinner in the French Restaurant one night came with overcooked fish. When I asked for cheese to finish dinner there wasn't any so they found and served me the breakfast cheeses from the hotel breakfast buffet for XPF 3000 ($38).

Staff, friendly but not many around.

Rooms, clean large and fine for a night.

Atmosphere and Cleanliness : it was clean and felt like a place where you deposited bus loads of tourists for a night. In fact when we were there there was a large group of unhealthy looking people being fed deep fried fat etc. For those looking for a romantic stay, please spend your money more wisely. The hotel seemed to back onto a cantonment that reminded me of Asia in the 1970s.

So Starwood Tahiti (St Regis as well) what are you doing? Profitable, probably. Pleasurable, probably not. Return custom. No.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry if our hotel did not match with your expectations. As we do take in consideration feedback from our guests, we decided to contact you directly through private messages on tripadvisor.

We hope to hear back from you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.