We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but maybe there's better on Tahiti!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Amarante, Portugal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but maybe there's better on Tahiti!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent just one night, in this hotel, during our Honeymoon, on French Polynesia.
Our flight arrived late, it was already night, and when we arrived to the hotel we went directly to the room.
First point we noticed was that rooms (in particular ours) were quite far from the reception/lobby area. There wasn't nobody of the hotel's staff to help us with the luggage (which was a lot of luggage, since we were on a honeymoon of one month of duration, and we were arriving from two weeks travelling around the world).
We had to carry all our luggage to the room.
The receptionist wasn't very nice.
On the way to our room, we had a little difficulty in finding it, since the signposts were a bit confusing.
Finaly, we found our room.

The room was beach/swimming-pool front. It was a garden room.
It had been renovated, recently and it had a good appearance.
But, it was not very clean, specially the bathroom area. We found some hairs on the ground, on the shower area and on the bathrobes (photo here).
As we were on honeymoon, the hotel's staff offered us a mini-bottle of champagne and cookies, on the room.
The room had a nice balcony, with a good view.
Overall, the room was large and the bathroom was spacious.

On the morning, we went early to the breakfast, since we must be ready to the transfer, to attend to our flight to Bora Bora.
When we arrived to the breakfast, the lady who was there, didn't make much case of us and there was some things (the hot food) that weren't yet available.
But, the breakfast had a good variety of food and beverages and everything was tasty and fresh.

The hotel's location is good. Is near the airport and it's beachfront.
It's a nice hotel. But, it has a low level of service and we think that the management should improve that, in order to get the customer loyalty.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Ex. Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Ia Orana Maria,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am really sorry if you did not have the help you needed for your luggages, or the service during the breakfast. We usually are delighted to provide the best service to our guests. I will let the manager know about your experience in order to not have this situation again. We really appreciate you highlited that the rooms were renovated and we are glad you mainly enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Simon Cousin
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    267
    143
    65
    38
See reviews for
87
448
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had an amazing week-long stay at this hotel, and would recommend it highly to others. It's such a good option that we're not sure staying on Bora Bora would necessarily be better. We upgraded to a bungalow and loved it - panoramic views of Moorea, clear water, and fish swimming right swimming right below your room. All of the hotel staff treated us very well. The breakfast is excellent, as are the two restaurant options (great French food). We also really enjoyed the free activities, especially the sand bottom pool, snorkeling, kayaking, acquagym & acquabike. There's a shopping center right next door with a good italian restaurant, grocery store, pharmacy, and a great artisan jeweler I'd highly recommend if you are in the market for pearls (Art D'Or).

Note - there is no fitness center; instead, there are hotel activities mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask for rates to upgrade to a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircomLMBB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Ia Orana
Thanks a lot for your nice comments. In a few words, you have said the essential about Tahiti. Regarding the gym, please note that it will be part of our next renovation phase which will start around Q2 2014. A gym, a full spa and a kids club will complement our great product. Hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again in TAhiti ... Mauruu'ru..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the end of 2 weeks in the area. 2 adults, 2 kids, great pool, snorkeling. If you can get the breakfast included, it is a huge buffet and worth it. Rooms on top floor were very nice, great beds. Local shopping center is an easy walk from the resort and has full supermarket, great french restaurant and guy selling AWESOME pizzas out of a van at dinner time--get one or two and some beer from the market and watch a movie in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Ia Orana, thank you for your great review. We are glad you spent a great time and appreciated our buffet at the restaurant La Plantation. We look forward welcoming you again. Kind Regards. Simon Cousin - Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here the first night before flying the next morning to another island. The day room was very nice before our room was ready as we arrived at 6 AM. The beach and pool were very nice and we snorkeled and kayaked for free. Everyone was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Ia Orana Craig,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you were pleased about our hotel and services. We would be glad to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Simon Cousin
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for the first night of our French Polynesia trip and also got a day room here for our final day before our departing flight. Honestly, I wished we could've stayed longer because I really liked the resort.

We arrived at the hotel by taxi at 8 pm after our flight from Los Angeles. The cab fare for this ride was 2500 xpf. We were quickly checked into a room on the 2nd floor, which was a bit of a walk from the lobby. The room appeared to be updated with modern finishes and was fairly spacious. There was a nice large tub in the bathroom with a separate shower. We had a king room and found the bed to be very comfortable for a good night's sleep after a long flight.

The next morning we woke up early and were finally able to see our first glimpse of Tahiti in the light. The resort has beautiful grounds, an open air lobby, a huge sand bottom pool, and gorgeous landscaping. There is a small beach area and the water is crystal clear. We were even able to see baby sharks at the shoreline early in the morning, which was pretty cool. While the water doesn't have the turquoise color we saw on the other islands, it was still very nice. We went snorkeling right off the beach later in the morning and saw a lot of fish.

For breakfast, we decided to walk to the nearby shopping center and get some croissants and juice at the supermarket. The shopping area is very convenient to the hotel and has several small restaurants, shops, and a pharmacy. We also visited this area again when we returned to the hotel at the end of our trip. We bought good, inexpensive pizza at a food truck that was set up in the shopping area's parking lot in the evening.

We spent a relaxing morning at the hotel pool, before heading to the Papeete ferry terminal to travel to Moorea. The taxi to the ferry terminal was 3200 xpf and it was about a 20 minute ride. I was actually sad to leave this hotel after one night, but happy that we would be returning for our final day in Tahiti.

After visiting Moorea and then taking a 7 night cruise on the Paul Gauguin, we returned to Le Meridien Tahiti to spend our final day before a late night flight home. We checked into a room on the ground floor, close to the pool. This room was not as nice as the previous room we had and had older finishes and furniture. I guess some of the rooms in this hotel have been remodeled and some haven't. I really didn't care, as it was just a day room for us. But if I chose to spend more time at this hotel, I definitely would request one of the newly remodeled rooms.

Our final day in Tahiti was another good experience and we again enjoyed the beautiful pool area and rested at the hotel until 9 pm. We also stayed at the Hilton Moorea during this trip, and I would say the pool, lobby, and common areas at Le Meridien were much nicer. So I don't agree with some of the negative reviews I've read about this hotel. I have no regrets about booking here, and I hope we can return someday and spend 3-4 days enjoying this hotel and seeing more of Tahiti.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your review about Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As you mentionned most of our rooms were renovated and the process of improvements at Le Méridien is still running. We would love to welcome you again for a deeper discovery of Tahiti. This time I would advise you to contact the activities desk to be aknowledged about Skydiving, Canyoning, Skubadiving, Paragliding, trails, ... and all other possible activities to do in Tahiti.

Warms Regards,

Simon Cousin
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for about 6 hours following our overnight flight and prior to boarding our cruise ship. The room was in a wing of the hotel off the lobby. The room was large and the bed comfortable. We had a nice balcony with views of the lovely garden. The bathroom was well appointed. We wandered the grounds, saw the pool and beach area. We would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel was part of a package so I'm not sure of pricing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your nice review. We are delighted to provide a relaxing experience to our guests, especially when they are stepping by. We are glad to notice you would like to spend more time in our hotel and would be happy to welcome you again for a longer stay.

Best Regards,

Simon Cousin
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Using cash and points made this a great value. The hotel is a good size, not too big not too small with a nice layout. We were on the third floor with a lagoon view with the upstairs koi pond just off the balcony. Temp was great never needed AC. Bed was comfy. No converters in the room. Food wasn't cheap. Mini mall right next door was a good resource for water and other groceries. Service good, gave a free upgrade and ordered cabs for us. View from the beach was amazing for sunsets and we even saw a whale in the distance. Not great for swimming given current. Lagoon snorkeling was ok but not much to see. Western omelet was good, they were out of the salmon dish both days. Not super new. Bit of a euro vibe with music and modern decor. No free wifi but fast when paid for. Computers in lobby worked most of the time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your honest feedback and sharing with us your amazing luck with a whale. Indeed, the lagoon is a better place for snorkling than swimming with its reef just under the water bungalows. I hope you enjoyed the free snorkling equipment and kayaks we share with our guests.
I am sorry to let you know about that only now but there is a free wifi and free access to computers available at the reception.

We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.

Simon Cousin
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.