We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older hotel in Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice older hotel in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived late after 8 1/2 flight from LAX and found a beautiful hotel with a warm and friendly staff. Our room was a deluxe lagoon view with a large balcony and an upscale bathroom. The surrounding grounds are a tropical wonderland and the large, white sand bottom pool was nice. There are snorkel equipment and kayaks available with no charge for guests. The overwater bungalows looked nice but noticed that none of them had access to the water. The restaurant was OK but be aware of the flock of birds that continuely flew into the open-air tables and helped themselves to anything on your plate if you left it unattended. If you want to flavor the local food there is a supermarket 5 minutes from the lobby that has a large selection of pre-cooked meals that were rather good. Most of the staff spoke some english but sometimes it was hard to convey exactly what you needed as French was the language of choice.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the over-water bungalows they have no access to the water and are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Waggie1856,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
We have failed in meeting your expectations about the Restaurant and I want to express my sincere apologies for this.
Tahiti being part of French Polynesia, it is true that French is the official language but we are proud that a significant majority of our staff speaks a good English
Once again thank you for giving us your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for not having meeting all of your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Le Meridien Tahiti.

With my best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    273
    145
    66
    39
See reviews for
90
459
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Le Meridien in Papeete was our stop over hotel getting to and leaving Bora Bora and it exceeded our expectations. We got an overwater bungallow on one night and a room with a panoramic view the final night. Both were comfortable and well decorated. The panoramic view room was very modern and came with an Illy espresso machine. The staff were very helpful and courteous arranging cabs for the airport. The beds were extremely comfortable. We wish we could have spent more time in this lovely resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Polin001,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in one of our Overwater Bungalow and in one of our Panoramic room offering many advantage such as coffee machine.
Thank you for pointing out our professional staff and the comfort of the rooms.

Best regards,
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

If you travel to Tahiti, your better off going somewhere else....The staff are amazing but the Hotel is Run Down I switched over to inter-conntinental & That was AMAZING....upper management is full of it Spend a few Bucks more & go somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Droman1864,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
At Le Meridien Tahiti we do take in consideration our guests experience feedback as this is really important to us.
We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your experience.
By reading your comment I realized we did not meet your expectations and I want to express my sincere apologies for this.
Thank you so much for pointing out our staff friendliness and efficiency.
Should you decide to come back to Le Meridien Tahiti please do not hesitate to contact me.
Once again please accept my deepest apologies.

With my best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights in one of the bungalows. We arrived at midnight and were driven in the dark and dumped at our door with zero directions on how the accommodations work and what they offer. The bungalow has no access to the water no stairs like I have seen before. It is quite a walk from the far bungalows to the main reception. No ice clise 30 min for ice to be delivered which melts very quickly. We were told there was a free shuttle into town at 9:30 to catch the fairy to moorea. Waited 30 min no free transportation. The gentleman at the font desk went way out of his way after i told him what had happened. He called the ferry and hurried a taxi so we could make the ferry. Because they only have 2 or 3 departures a day. As most of Tahiti is concerned it is very expensive at this resort $100 for breakfast for 2. The beds were wonderfull and the scenery was absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Don't expect the bungalows to b accessible to the water. Although they are very cool way to exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Goldengal11,

I would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your experience.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in one of our Overwater Bungalows.
I want to reassure you that all negative aspects you have pointed out have been discussed with concerned departments.
Thank you for pointing out our wonderful scenery.

Best regards,
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We needed a hotel room for about 5 hours between the end of a tour and the flight out of Tahiti. It was sure nice to be able to take a nap, catch a shower and just relax before the flight returning us to civilization. The staff was very helpful, the only issue was that I would have expected when I booked a day room it would be available on arrival. We had to wait about 20 minutes but they were careful to apologize for the delay and even gave us a coupon for a couple of free drinks. Hotel seems nice enough to consider coming back to if we were to stay in Tahiti for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Halems,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
At Le Meridien Tahiti we do take in consideration our guests experience feedback as this is really important to us.
Thank you for pointing out our friendly staff.

With my best regards,

Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed the sand bottom pool. We went swimming at night and were the only people in the pool. Lovely.

We had a room wiith a balcony overlooking the gardens and the pool.

The room was decorated in neutral colors very simply with tribal designs on the curtains, blanket and light fixtures. Very serene and tasteful.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We took a cab from the airport. We liked the location and recommend it. There is a beach as well. As we were going on to the island of Huahine, we did not snorkle in the ocean, so I cannot comment on that

There is free WiFi in the lobby.

There is a shopping center a very short walk from the hotel.

The price of the room is very inexpensive compared to hotels in the US, I feel. Right on the ocean and not high rise after high rise. Truly amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear travellerMinnesota,

I would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in one of our rooms and our swimming pool.
Thank you for pointing our helpful staff and the decoration in the room.

Best regards,
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in January 2013. Hotel was amazing. Stayed in an overwater bungalow, amazing, like being in paradise. Room was spotless and so beautiful. From the balcony could see the sunrise and sunset and watch all the beautiful fish swimming around. Service was excellent, very friendly people. Grounds are beautiful. Lovely pool with sand bottom. Snorking and kayaking in your own lagoon.
Restaurant rather pricey, especially buffet breakfast. There is a supermarket outside to the left, also a cafe for coffee, sandwiches and pastries. Also an Italian resturant nearby.
There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to downtown Papeete for a small fee, the driver was great fun.
Tours and taxi were arranged on request.
Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Bradley2723,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay in one of our Overwater Bungalows.
As you mentioned the hotel is located by the lagoon offering a lot of possible activities and nearby a shopping center.
Thank you for pointing our staff friendless and our unique swimming pool.

Best regards,

Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.