We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise at a high price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise at a high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights in one of the bungalows. We arrived at midnight and were driven in the dark and dumped at our door with zero directions on how the accommodations work and what they offer. The bungalow has no access to the water no stairs like I have seen before. It is quite a walk from the far bungalows to the main reception. No ice clise 30 min for ice to be delivered which melts very quickly. We were told there was a free shuttle into town at 9:30 to catch the fairy to moorea. Waited 30 min no free transportation. The gentleman at the font desk went way out of his way after i told him what had happened. He called the ferry and hurried a taxi so we could make the ferry. Because they only have 2 or 3 departures a day. As most of Tahiti is concerned it is very expensive at this resort $100 for breakfast for 2. The beds were wonderfull and the scenery was absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Don't expect the bungalows to b accessible to the water. Although they are very cool way to exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Goldengal11,

I would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your experience.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in one of our Overwater Bungalows.
I want to reassure you that all negative aspects you have pointed out have been discussed with concerned departments.
Thank you for pointing out our wonderful scenery.

Best regards,
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    296
    161
    71
    43
See reviews for
98
497
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We needed a hotel room for about 5 hours between the end of a tour and the flight out of Tahiti. It was sure nice to be able to take a nap, catch a shower and just relax before the flight returning us to civilization. The staff was very helpful, the only issue was that I would have expected when I booked a day room it would be available on arrival. We had to wait about 20 minutes but they were careful to apologize for the delay and even gave us a coupon for a couple of free drinks. Hotel seems nice enough to consider coming back to if we were to stay in Tahiti for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Halems,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
At Le Meridien Tahiti we do take in consideration our guests experience feedback as this is really important to us.
Thank you for pointing out our friendly staff.

With my best regards,

Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed the sand bottom pool. We went swimming at night and were the only people in the pool. Lovely.

We had a room wiith a balcony overlooking the gardens and the pool.

The room was decorated in neutral colors very simply with tribal designs on the curtains, blanket and light fixtures. Very serene and tasteful.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We took a cab from the airport. We liked the location and recommend it. There is a beach as well. As we were going on to the island of Huahine, we did not snorkle in the ocean, so I cannot comment on that

There is free WiFi in the lobby.

There is a shopping center a very short walk from the hotel.

The price of the room is very inexpensive compared to hotels in the US, I feel. Right on the ocean and not high rise after high rise. Truly amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear travellerMinnesota,

I would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in one of our rooms and our swimming pool.
Thank you for pointing our helpful staff and the decoration in the room.

Best regards,
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in January 2013. Hotel was amazing. Stayed in an overwater bungalow, amazing, like being in paradise. Room was spotless and so beautiful. From the balcony could see the sunrise and sunset and watch all the beautiful fish swimming around. Service was excellent, very friendly people. Grounds are beautiful. Lovely pool with sand bottom. Snorking and kayaking in your own lagoon.
Restaurant rather pricey, especially buffet breakfast. There is a supermarket outside to the left, also a cafe for coffee, sandwiches and pastries. Also an Italian resturant nearby.
There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to downtown Papeete for a small fee, the driver was great fun.
Tours and taxi were arranged on request.
Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Bradley2723,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay in one of our Overwater Bungalows.
As you mentioned the hotel is located by the lagoon offering a lot of possible activities and nearby a shopping center.
Thank you for pointing our staff friendless and our unique swimming pool.

Best regards,

Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here as a post-cruise room before our flight home, booked by the cruise's travel agency. We were supposed to be there from 10AM to 7PM, not long for $150/pers but what choice did we have? However, for the cruise group half of the rooms were not ready to use by 10AM and some had to wait in the lobby until noon. What is the point of a day room that is not ready by the afternoon? My family booked 2 rooms, and the hotel double-booked one of them. A stranger barged in on my mom's room and scared her. Then her key timed out at 5PM. Amateur hour. The beach is small and rocky, and the sand pool had a lot of sand fleas and other bugs that ate us alive (we visited 5 islands in Fr. Polynesia and only got bit here). The restaurant was unimpressive and overpriced, but that is to be expected. I would never stay here again and don't recommend it. However the rooms were roomy and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Ttttttttttttt7,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your feedback about you recent stay at Le Meridien Tahiti.
All negative aspects you have pointed out have been discussed with concerned departments.
I do apologize that Food did not meet your expectation especially talking about rate; the shopping center nearby offers alternative food option.
Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments.

With my best regards.
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We chose to stay here for a day finishing our cruise - not our best decision. People did rave about the Intercontinental. This hotel is so dated - its attempt at being a modern art hotel may have worked when new - but now the features and rooms are worn down. The hotel web site shows images that must have been when the hotel was brand new. The drive into the property has carvings vandalized, empty beer cans on the curb and what looked like tracks of a 4x4 having some fun on the lawn. Even the hotel sign is falling down - obviously no investment into this property. The hotel staff really do try their best - if you can find them. Restaurant staff arrived to work 30 minutes after opening and the food was diner style. Drinks average $15USD. We were happy to just get some sleep, some AC and check out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Havanna59,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us.
At Le Meridien Tahiti we do take in consideration our guests experience feedback as this is really important to us.
I am sincerely sorry to learn that we failed meeting your expectation and I would like to express my deepest apologies.
I want to reassure you that all negative aspects you have pointed out have been discussed with concerned departments.
Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments which will help us to improve our guest service.
Should you one day decide to stay again at Le Meridien Tahiti please do not hesitate to contact me.
With my best regards.
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We used a day room at the end of our cruise and were very unhappy with the hotel. Management was totally unprepared for the large number of guests. Luncheon sandwiches were of poor quality and expensive. Transportation to the airport was mismanaged and a disaster. Would not recommend this hotel. Sorry we didn't go to the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Reservation Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear zumpano,
I would like to thank you for your comment posted recently.
At Le Meridien Tahiti we do take in consideration our guests experience feedback as this is really important to us.
I am sorry that we failed in providing you with the appropriate level of service you were expected.
Your comment about Food has been addressed to head of department for review.
Although transportation was not under our control I do apologize that you had to face a bad experience there too.
Should you one day decide to come back to Tahiti please feel free to contact me.
With my best regards.
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.