We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of repair” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“In serious need of repair”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

MUCH WORSE than any Le Meridien I've ever been to!!!!

My husband and I came here just one night between our stay in Moorea and flight the next morning. Perhaps because we had just come from a week-long stay in the incredibly beautiful Hilton Moorea, we were very disappointed with Le Meridien. Hotel quality is much poorer than others in LM hotel chain (worse than even a 3-star hotel) and staff is mostly rude, not what you normally expect as SPG members in a Starwood hotel. The worst part, we requested an early morning wake-up call to get to the airport and never received it!!! We almost missed our flight not only because of that, but also because the front desk was empty and there was no one there to check us out of the hotel! Never have I encountered such unprofessionalism.

Pros- dinner was tasty and chef/waitress were happy to accommodate our strict dietary restrictions. Bartender was also friendly

Cons- run-down, small pool area with only a few lounges, rocky beach with nowhere to sit, rude staff at front desk, view from OWB was nothing special, room was dingy, uncomfortable and cheap furniture, like what you see in a hostel. Only one restaurant was was open but not until like 9pm. Hotel located in seedy area, not for tourists at all

If you are staying here for just one night (e.g. for a layover), or you just need a clean room to sleep and are speding all your waking hours away from the hotel, its not bad. But if you're looking to experience Tahiti's famous over-the-water bungalows or enjoy the island's natural beauty and soak up the sun by the beach/pool, avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    310
    176
    78
    45
See reviews for
98
529
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in an overwater bungalow. We arrived on a late flight and were checked in fairly promptly and escorted to the bungalow. When I woke in the morning it was truly waking in paradise...the view and surrounding were breathtaking. The overwater bungalow was well appointed and though not cheap it way exceeded our expectations. The water was so clear we could sit and watch the tropical fish from the balcony. Try to book a breakfast inclusive package as we did. Though I can't understand why other reviewers complain about paying $56 for buffet breakfast for 2 at a quality hotel. There was great pool bar service and the pool was lovely. The restaurant was very nice and priced as would be expected in French Polynesia and a quality hotel. The shops mentioned outside the hotel were OK it was a bit grubby and I would not like to go there at night. We bought a wonderful baguette and french cheese from the supermarket for lunch which we ate on our balcony. I would recommend taking a short walk to the headland at low tide and sit under a tree gaze out to Moorea, watch the surfers surf the coral reef and look along the coastline.... just beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pecsherr1
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Although obviously built some time ago, Le Meredien is beautifully maintained and updated. Our room was gorgeous with great views over the koi pond, pool and out to the lagoon and reef. The shower head broke and it was repaired within 15 minutes of a call to the front desk. The staff is friendly but a little shy - not speaking French made it just a bit harder to communicate at times. The pool, OMG the pool... It is wonderful - beautiful soft white sand around the edges and clear as a bell turquoise water. The ocean is adjacent and such a nice entry area. Only reason that this is a 4 instead of a 5 is cost of food and overall age of hotel. As previous persons have posted, continental breakfast alone will run you at least 56 USD for two. We ate lunch at the pool bar and dinners at both the bar and at Le Carre restaurant. The restaurant while beautiful is overpriced as the serving of mahi was less than at the bar restaurant or the pool bar at quite a hefty price tag. If you go knowing that this is the cost, just prepare and eat at the bar or pool bar if you want to have a good view and save a few $$$. Sped your day at the pool and beach and you will never want to leave paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a panoramic view room - we had 564
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights as the first leg of our honeymoon and overall felt disappointed. The room itself was nice, but it was sad to see a place with so much potential fail to deliver. To start off, we arrived in the evening and were told we had a room with twin beds. This seems to have been a mistake on Starwood's fault, but what luxury hotel has a room with twin beds? We explained we were on our honeymoon, but they said they didn't have any other rooms and would try to switch later, but they never did and it was later clear to us that the hotel wasn't full. We made a few arrangements with the concierge, Caroline, who was very nice, but they were very understaffed. There was always a long line of people waiting to speak with the front desk/concierge desk and we felt bad taking up their time simply to book excursions. In addition, many members of the staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help and the service overall was slow and subpar. The pool is very nice, but there was no drinks or food service at the pool or adjacent beach. Very strange for a luxury hotel. Overall, the hotel did not live up to the Le Meridien brand and price we paid to stay there.

Note: we spent an afternoon in nearby Moorea and would recommend staying at The Sofitel there instead!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package offered by Air Tahiti Nui where you can stay for three nights free if you use the airline to fly to Australia or New Zealand. The hotel was very nice with its beach property and Tahiti is a pleasant place but there are some pitfalls to avoid.

First, some cab drivers at the airport will try to overcharge you even though the rates are posted at the taxi stand. You should pay 2500 French francs to travel to the hotel which is about $27.

Second, while the hotel is actually free except for a small room tax, other services can be very expensive. We paid 7000 French francs for a breakfast buffet for two which is about $75. However, there is a shopping center next to the hotel where you can get breakfast for under $10 per person and a supermarket with prepared meals for even less.

Third, when you are returning to the United States, the airline issues a boarding pass from Auckland to Los Angeles, thereby implying that you will be in a constant transit status. However, when you land in Tahiti everyone has to get off the plane and then go through security again to get back on. This means that any liquid you bought duty free in New Zealand such as wine will be confiscated.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here on our way to New Zealand and that proved just right. We left with nothing more we wished to do having accomplished our purpose of shifting gears into vacation mode. The sand lined pool was delightful early in the day. The large delightful lagoon better later in the day. Food and service here is expensive but of high quality and well served. Staff exceedingly helpful. If I should be so lucky as to have the chance to return to Tahiti, this is where I'll stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights upon arriving Papeete before setting off to Maupiti and then Bora Bora. We just wanted a low-key but nice place to decompress from the long flight deal with jet lag, and this hotel was perfect for that. We had a basic room -- attractively furnished and comfortable with a nice balcony that looked out over a fish pond, garden, pool and then to the beach and ocean beyond. It was quite pleasant sitting on deck chairs by the beach, albeit nothing special by French Polynesian standards. The open-air architecture of the lobby and restaurants is very well-done, particularly the breakfast area that sort of wraps around the garden. We had the breakfast buffet and dinner at the bar, and both meals were excellent. There is a grocery store a short walk away which was helpful for stocking up on snacks, sunscreen and forgotten items for the rest of our trip. I am a frequent Starwood traveler and used points for our stay -- at 12,000 points a night this seemed much nicer than other Starwood properties in that category.

Room Tip: Hard to go wrong -- all rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.