We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, poor beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Shanghai
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Average hotel, poor beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The island dream of Tahiti is quite quickly shattered. For beach holidays I can not recommend it. Beaches are quite poor. Meridien is average, quite old.
as resort we were surprised to learn that there are no kids activities whatsoever.
As Platinum member I had booked a suite upgrade. they gave us a normal room and upon complaining, staff was pretty lost. they asked me to hook up my ipad to their computer so I could send them the confirmation email...
anyway, we got upgraded to the junior suite. it is basically a normal room with a large outdoor seating area. they had put the cot into the first room and we asked the porter to bring it to the new room (I had given him a good tip too). as it turns out, tasks are divided at this hotel and cleaning staff move cots. it took us two calls and a personal visit to reception to get that cot moved.
beach is poor, can have quite strong current (you are not allowed to swim).
we stayed again after staying at meridien bora bora - see separate review - and got upgraded to an overwater bungalow. not suitable for small children. this time it took them two hours to get us the cot. they first waited one hour doing nothing and then it started raining.
those bungalows do not have direct water access as the grounds are completely covered in reef.
breakfast is alright. dinner at le carre is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    268
    143
    65
    38
See reviews for
87
449
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lustenau, Austria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is an old hotel as most hotels in French Polineysia. But you can see that its constantly maintained and refurnished and the overall impression is good. We stayed there twice, on the way to Bora Bora and on the way back. First time, we have booked the upgrade to the Junior suite and I can honestly say that for a couple it would be a lovely space to use. Its a big room with the bathroom and equally big open terrace/ lounge with sun-chairs, tables, chairs,lamps. However, we were with the toddler and ended up sleeping in the same area what was not our idea when we have arranged the suite upgrade. Additional minus was an unbelievably squeaky floor in the room. It was like hunted Adams house and every trip to the bathroom at night was waking up the others.
Second time we got upgraded without notice to the water bungalow. Very romantic. The only thing is that while there is a storm you have a felling that the structure will just be blown to pieces in no time. Especially that the window at the desk, next to the bed, doesn't have the glass, only wooden blinds. Also, not recommended while with the toddler, in the first 15min we were trying to catch string of things flying over the balcony rail and then watching some of the stuff drift into the ocean....
There are no umbrellas in the room what in the rainy weather is a bit of inconvenience, instead you need to ask for the rain plastic coat from the receptionist. Also no children playroom in case of bad weather. Spa is just a one room and since its run just by one lady, by appointment only.
The desk staff is helpful but I would not say fast, neither really welcoming and friendly. I am used to the smile welcoming me in the hotel, after all the hotel is build for the purpose of hosting guests and making their stay happy. However, neither in Tahiti, nor on Bora Bora, not on the Cooks Island either as a matter of fact, were people smiling at hello. Very often i got a feeling that I interrupt them instead and I am another nuisance on their schedule.
But now the real pluses. The continental breakfast was very rich including deli and good french cheeses which we appreciated. There is one, big, lagoon style swimming pool with artificial beach, very friendly for children. 5min walk from the hotel to the left is a cluster of buildings with supermarket, pharmacy, hairdresser (excellent:!), spa, nail saloon, bank (remember to bring your passport for money exchange) and few restaurants. Very convenient.
In the hotel you can watch weekly Maori dance show and its really worth it. The buffet assisting the show is average but while watching the dancers you will disregard this side of the evening.
And now the absolute highlight - hotel's French restaurant next to the swimming pool. Food was divine, service impeccable, and the live music band really good. Absolute must to try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice, on either side of a trip to Bora Bora.
The first night was ok, (we were at the end past the entry) although at 1am, when we arrived, we could still hear the voices coming up from the pool, and people partying and laughing. However, on the way back, we had a room at the opposite end, and were kept awake by wild dogs barking ALL night. There is no sound proofing in this hotel.

The food was ordinary and very over-priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

They could learn a lot from le meridien bora bora. Customer service leaves a lot to be desired, We arrived late afternoon we were told our room number and told its down the corridor get the lift no one even offered to take our bags for us. Another couple asked where the restaurant was and the waiter just pointed and said over there and walked away they were still walking around 1/2 hour later still looking. The staff who had finished work were sitting at the bar getting drunk while their children were running about annoying customers. One good thing I can say about the hotel is the breakfast was very good, nothing else was. The showers were very dirty with mould.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I kicked off our honeymoon at Le Meridien Tahiti for two nights before heading over to Moorea and Bora Bora. I'm sad to say it wasn't the most memorable part of the trip, but at least we did like it better than the Intercontinental on our way back (please ref my other review for that if you are debating between the two).

As far as ROOMS go, we were upgraded one level up from the standard rate (we are Starwoods Gold Members), so we had a great view over their Koi Pond (which was pretty neat) looking into the ocean and their water bungalows. The rooms are very spacious and very clean -- the bathroom is also large equipped with a bath tub, two sinks, separate stalls for toilet and shower, and a window looking into the bedroom (typical Starwoods, and I love it!). The amenities were pretty much standard Starwoods amenities. The bed was nice, we slept well.

SERVICE however, was another story. Don't expect to jump into honeymoon mode upon arrival. The service didn't care what you were doing at their hotel, in fact they were hard to find and there was barely more than one person at the front desk. It was a little tough to get over this, we had left for our honeymoon the very next day after we got married, so we were still on that high and the aura of this place just crushed it. Especially for a Starwoods property, we were expecting a warmer welcome, even if it were just a note welcoming us as any other Starwoods property has always done.

The PROPERTY is also a little dated and there isn't much to see/do. There is a great pool and a smaller beach you can walk on and just a couple of kayaks to take out. The outside of the property is not stunning, but the lobby has a pretty entrance. One thing that left me confused to this day is we could not locate the SPA. After following the signs all over the property and knocking on random doors, we never found the spa so we couldn't even get a massage. INTERNET is free, there are a few computers in the lobby available for use but they are small. We could easily check out the Italian restaurant next door and we walked a little further to a mini strip mall where we purchased a few hard to find French brand products (i.e. Nuxe!) and came across a grocery store where we picked up some food and alcohol to keep at the hotel...

DINING was not really a special experience. Breakfast was an option to have the buffet or sit down. We appreciated the breakfast most because we got there just as it opened and it was full of fresh cheese, fruit, etc. Lunch and dinner however were mediocre and nothing to write home about. We'd even ordered grilled fish for room service one night and it was just dry and bland, my husband poured hot sauce all over his to give it some flavor. Further, my husband has a nut allergy and none of the staff understood this. We spoke with the head chef, the front desk and asked for a manager, and all were clueless -- it was incredibly frightening to dine on the property because we not only had to worry about someone accidentally cross contaminating our dish with nuts, but also about how not quickly they would get us to a hospital.

SHUTTLE TO TOWN was very expensive per person. It was also far, and took forever to get back. Traffic is bad, the town is fairly run down, but if you want a discount on Tahitian pearls, this isn't a bad place to get it. The town is small and you can go through it quickly, we were done in about an hour.

All in all, the Meridien was an OK place to stay for just one night on the way in to Moorea/Bora Bora. The points conversion for SPG members is pretty good, and the rooms are big and spacious for what you pay. I wish we'd only kept the trip to one night, but at least we just spent most of the time getting over jet lag and relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Le Meridien for 2 nights / 3 days and enjoyed every moment.
The service and food was very good.
We loved the huge breakfast buffet.

They have a huge pool filled with beautiful kois, and the garden was in a excellent estate.
The view from the rooms is just like in a dream.

They have a "hotel" cat, which was looking very healthy and castrated. Very exemplary!

If we go back to Tahiti next year we will definitely stay again at the Le Meridien.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was looking forward to our trip to Tahiti and was more focused on the two smaller islands we would visit, Huahine and Bora Bora. Thankfully Geri Miller at Tahiti Discount Travel in Newport Beach had us stay one glorious night and morning at the Le Meridien. The over water bungalow was very, very cool! And when we woke up in the morning and saw the sun rising over the perfectly blue and green water we were blown away! It was peaceful and quiet and all I thought Tahiti would be! And the grounds were beautiful as was the breakfast! The other bonus, if you surf, is that there is a great left hand break just down the beach! So if you are going to Tahiti just to visit the smaller islands remember not to pass up this little jewel of a resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Responsable commercial at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Steve E,
Thank you very much for your nice comment about our resort.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Tahiti.
Thank you for pointing out our beautiful overwater bungalows as well as our beach location and our nice buffet breakfast.
With my best regards
Loic Troupel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.