We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights before heading off to Bora Bora. The grounds were lovely and the restaurant and entertainment were fantastic. The rooms were small and smelly but I guess we didn't stay in them long. I think a bungalow would be nicer. The pool was beautiful and was great for children. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here although it was nothing compared to the gorgeous Bora Bora. I would recommend it and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    304
    167
    76
    44
See reviews for
98
514
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely room at Le Meridien for two nights. The reception staff was excellent and extremely accommodating. The room faced the ocean and it appeared that all rooms did. There was a coffee pot and a fridge in the room. The bathroom was huge with a big tub and a shower as well as double sinks. There was an ironing board and iron. The grounds were very nice as was the pool. The sun sets near Moorea on the ocean side and we had an amazing sunset. We did not eat at the hotel but at an Italian place five minutes walk from the hotel called L'Cignalon. The vegetable pizza was delicious and plenty for two persons. The next night was Le Coco's which was incredible (separate review). We were upgraded at Le Meridien but would have considered it decent value for the quality of the room anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is located several miles from the airport, out of the capital Papeete. This means you are likely to get stuck in a lot of traffic and not get a taste of the capital, without an amazing beach to make up for it.

The hotel is bizarrely architected like something of a red pagoda, quite out-of-place. It is located on the beach, even if not a great one. Having said that, rooms are very comfortable, spacious, clean and modern (except the bathrooms which, at least in standard rooms, look older than the rest of the room), though with little local character. The restaurant is pricey but great. Sunset on the beach is the highlight.

Though by no means a bad choice, you could probably do better for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a whole Imax shooting period ("Ultimate Wave Tahiti") based at this very comfortable hotel in 2009 with most of the crew. Friendly personnel, relaxed atmosphere, great bar, good food. Even a very decent snack place just next door. Had spent several weeks a year earlier at the Intercontinental where you felt you had to "dress up" and "behave" a little more than elsewhere... Found the Meridien more casual and friendly. Great beach, interesting architecture, well situated geographically, this hotel has a lot to offer in a clean and inviting setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came during Shoulder Season so it wasn’t an issue for us, but the beach was very small. We stayed in an over-the-water bungalow and had no problems. We stayed at a bigger resort in over the water and the LeMerdian had a certain charm and sense of exclusivity to it because there are only a handful of them. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making travel accommodations for us. I didn’t get the sense that they had a lot of activities available on property. The dining options were a little limited. If you wanted to just do bar eats and not a full blown dinner, you might have trouble getting a table during a busier time. Off/Shoulder Season, was even a little full.

Room Tip: Over the Water Bungalows are great - no deck to jump in the water though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Victoria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with all rooms having a sea view. There is a pool with a sand floor, although it is quite shallow. It is also possible to swim in the sea at the front of the hotel and the hotel has kayaks etc that guests can use. Our room was spacious, well-appointed and very clean. Our rate did not include breakfast, and really, it is very expensive to purchase separately - $30 or $40 dollars per person. Luckily there is a small cafe in the adjacent shopping centre which is a five minute walk away. There is a very good restaurant in the hotel on the sea front, although some people may find the meals overly fussy and elaborate. We found some of the staff very friendly but others were not particularly friendly or helpful. The hotel is several miles from downtown Papeete, so a car is helpful. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and the setting is really lovely, with tropical landscaping, shrubs and trees and the beautiful sea and mountain views.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views. There are also over-water 'cottages' which are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent four nights at this lovely hotel in paradise. The staff was wonderful and helpful in every way, we where given a wonderful room overlooking the beach and pool that was beyond our expectations.The food was excellent, the Friday night buffet and show is not to be missed. We fully intend to return next year for seven nights, and can't wait until then.

W.& M. Powers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.