We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Fitzroy, Victoria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overall - very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with all rooms having a sea view. There is a pool with a sand floor, although it is quite shallow. It is also possible to swim in the sea at the front of the hotel and the hotel has kayaks etc that guests can use. Our room was spacious, well-appointed and very clean. Our rate did not include breakfast, and really, it is very expensive to purchase separately - $30 or $40 dollars per person. Luckily there is a small cafe in the adjacent shopping centre which is a five minute walk away. There is a very good restaurant in the hotel on the sea front, although some people may find the meals overly fussy and elaborate. We found some of the staff very friendly but others were not particularly friendly or helpful. The hotel is several miles from downtown Papeete, so a car is helpful. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and the setting is really lovely, with tropical landscaping, shrubs and trees and the beautiful sea and mountain views.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views. There are also over-water 'cottages' which are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    309
    173
    78
    44
See reviews for
98
525
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent four nights at this lovely hotel in paradise. The staff was wonderful and helpful in every way, we where given a wonderful room overlooking the beach and pool that was beyond our expectations.The food was excellent, the Friday night buffet and show is not to be missed. We fully intend to return next year for seven nights, and can't wait until then.

W.& M. Powers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We (Three Couples) stayed here in September for six nights. Fantastic pool for early morning swim. (make sure you get a towel the day before). Breakfast Buffet is fantastic. Not sure if it was because the Hotel was full. Thank goodness we were there for a few days so we could sample something differnent each day. We found all the staff were most helpful. Our room had a problem The staff were very helpful and shifted us to another room also were happy to leave xtra bathroom linen when requested, which made for a very pleasent stay . Rooms are very modern and well appointed. Great little supermarket just a few minutes to left of hotel which has lovely baguettes, wine, etc for those nights when you dont feel like a big dinner. Really enjoyed our stay. Thankyou Le Meridien

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room on 4th floor near reception. Just high enough away from the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went to the French Polynesia for our honeymoon for 2 weeks and stayed 2 nights in Tahiti. It is absolute paradise. We stayed in the luxury overwater bungalows. Spacious and it was always clean. Water was breathtaking. Definitely would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a nice two nights here at this modern facility located south of the airport; we recommend a rental car to get around. The sunsets can be magnificent from the balconies, where you have a view of Moorea in the distance. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and quite large on the Starwood Preferred Guest level; we had been upgraded due to our status as Starwood Gold members. You can attain this status with possession of an Amex Platinum Card, or spending $30,000 during the year on an AMEX SPG card, which we highly recommend. There is a large swimming pool; we dined outside the hotel and made use of the tiny mini-bar to keep our breakfast fixin’s.

The high point of our visit was the fantastic staff here. These people are every bit the equal of Four Seasons and Ritz-Carlton hotels, immediately and efficiently responding to every request. They are friendly, remembering our names even after only one contact. Every single person, from the front desk to the towel guy at the pool, made us feel like royalty. Management here should be proud of the employees.

Our big beef—and what keeps us from giving the maximum rating—is the charge for Internet, which is about 44 U.S. dollars per 24 hours. This is inexcusable; even the Intercontinental on Bora Bora only rips you for about $33.00 per day for the service, which is free on such places as Maupiti’s Kuriri resort. Best to come here without obligations for daily contact with home! We got the service for free because of our Starwood status, and the room was a bargain paid for mostly with points—so we would return in a minute if we had to stay in Tahiti.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We got upgraded to overwater bungalow No. 812 which is closest to the beach. (online upgrade for Starwood member).  We emailed directly to book the hotel shuttle in advance at 4000 xpf for 1 or 2 persons.  It was very convenient since we arrived nearly at midnight and did not wish to fuss with taxi or exchanging money at airport (however, there were currency exchange booths and ATMs available just to the right as you exit Customs).  Someone was there to meet guests with name sign and pretty flowered necklace. It was about a 20 minute ride to the hotel and no traffic at that time of night.

Check-in was very smooth since there were only three people in the van, but one receptionist (Starwood members did not have any particular priority or check-in area - hmmm).  

The bungalow was basic and a bit dated though. I would feel very hard pressed to pay 'full prices'. Some of what we noticed immediately within the first hour: toilet needed repair and light did not work (hmmm), doors did not open smoothly, older cushions on couch and holes in mosquito net (tacky), dirty windows and mirror (oh my), only one bottle of complimentary water (really!).  Woodwork inside appeared to need revarnishing, deck lounger cushions needed cleaning too...basically, the bungalow overall seemed to need a 'refreshing' touch, and some extra attention to the details (e.g., clean windows) to really give guests that "wow"' feeling when you stay at a '5-star' accommodation.  There are just a few OTWs, so choose wisely.  Tip: there was more activity around our bungalow because it is located near the shore line, so choose one farther away if you can - the walk to/from is no problem and there is transportation if you really need it.

Water around and under bungalow was shallow and clear with occasional surface debris such as pine cones, small sticks, and foam (no human trash) Coral had brownish tones, areas of seaweed too. Still enough water even at low tide. The hotel's beach is nothing to write home about, so keep expectations relative given the location of the hotel (there are better beaches in Tahiti!).   

The water was very calm with a constant breeze blowing into the bungalow, especially throughout the night.  We did not use the a/c and were fairly cool while sleeping.  There was a smell of smoke coming from the neighboring property, as well as music from the bar until 11pm...and dogs barking off and on during late hours too...ugh! Local residents may also pass through the beach as well, along with their dogs - children be careful (so not that private, especially on weekends)

There is a 'man-made' beach swimming pool near the main buildings which was nice, especially for smaller children, but the sun is much warmer there as compared to the ocean beach. There is also an embankment wall along the beach area made of large rocks as well as some natural rocky areas that get exposed at lower tides.

Platinum Starwood members can choose the complementary (continental) breakfast which does not include any hot items...strange.  Actually, I thought the entire breakfast selection was the least inspiring of any Starwood hotel I had stayed at (frown).  I would be hard pressed to pay regular prices for the breakfast, unless you want the convenience, of course!  Oh, yes...free wifi in the room was a blessing since there were only two computers in the lobby, but if you got your pad, then it's free in the lobby areas too. 

We used the shuttle to go into the city center for a few hours to exchange money, shop, get a SIM card, and buy boat tickets for our stay on Moorea. Everything is located within a small area, so it's easy to walk around the tourist area that caters to the cruise ships.   It cost a reasonable 1500 xpf for round trip per person, but schedule times are limited.  The shuttle is a nice convenience though.  

FYI: there is a smaller shopping area just outside the main entrance.  We shopped at the grocery store for snacks, fruits, and drinks; but, prices are higher than those in France for the same products.  Heineken beer about 3 usd/can; orange juice about 5 usd/2 ltr; Coke was 5 usd/1.5 ltr (healthy is cheaper!); sun block 7 usd/small tube - very expensive!  We brought big bottles of suntan lotion with us - well needed even at 8am. Exchange rate at hotel was 85, bank was 88 plus 5 dollar flat service fee; not sure about ATM since I have a daily limit. 

Friday evening we enjoyed seafood buffet dinner and a show costing 100 usd/person.  The lobster was cut in half and served chilled - tail meat was a bit tough, but there were other selections of dishes with shrimp and fish.  I would rate the buffet only a 6 out of 10 for its cold seafood and limited variety especially for a '5-star' accomodation.   Make reservations for a front row table and go about 7:30 pm.  The show started at 8 and was very nice- you could watch it from the bar level too.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Accommodations seemed to be just under the bar of our expectations, however.

Room Tip: Choose overwater farthest away from shore that has balcony facing west for best sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the panoramic view room for two nights and it was recently renovated. Very spacious, well designed with a magnificent view of a roof top koi pond and the beach. The sandy bottom pool was lovely. We then stayed in one of the over-water huts for two nights and that was an experience not to miss! The hut was beautifully appointed on the inside, with a porch from which you could easily watch the fish feed on the coral beneath our feet. We didn't want to leave the room, but we did and enjoyed swimming and snorkeling. Another great feature is that there is a shopping center next door with a great patisserie, super market and several restaurants. The food on site was pricey, but there were other choices right next door. The staff was friendly and always helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the panoramic view room or the hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.