We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, busy restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Retro

Le Retro
Centre Vaima | Front de mer, Papeete, French Polynesia
+689 428683
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 43 Restaurants in Papeete
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Big, busy restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at this place which was nearly full. it is very central in Papeete, right on a major street and has outdoor sitting too.

We both had hamburger with fries with draft beer and shared an ice cream. The total bill was about $45. The food was OK, but although the waiting stuff seemed to work very hard(unusual for this part of the world) service was still slow. I felt really sorry for an oriental couple who waited 3-4 times longer than we did for their food.

There is not much choice for lunch in Papeete, since the roulottes are available only after about 6PM.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    16
    41
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun Happy Hour Karaoke Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was our last night and we were waiting for the food trucks to open at the Port, so we decided to stop in at Le Retro for some drinks during Happy Hour. It was very entertaining! We had a blast having some excellent drinks. Coming from NY, the prices weren't all that shocking, but I can see why other reviewers thought it was expensive. However, the location is prime, so it's understandable. We enjoyed watching locals sing karaoke as we got a bit buzzed. We didn't eat anything, other than some pomme frites, which were very good...but I suppose they are difficult to mess up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens GA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Karaoke place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Sounds of music across from the place where our ship docked attracted my attention one night. The locals were having fun doing karaoke and it was a scene. A fellow passenger signed up to sing, so I sat with his wife and had a Tahitian beer (small bottle = $7.50). Another ship mate on his honeymoon bought me a tequila shot, for which I reciprocated (@shot = $6.00). For me, 3 month's worth of drinks in one night! Fun nonetheless. The service was slow and I was uncertain about the conversion to the local currency, but it was entertaining to see the locals sing (both in French and in English). I would stop in there again, but would be sure to put some extra bills in my wallet. Also, it was a safe walk from the ship, no problem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourist trap to avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Despite a good location in the heart of Papeete avoid this bad and expensive restaurant. The food and the service are poor. The design of the place needs renovation. Only the prices are high.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok given limited good food options in Papeete”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our hotel recommended Le Retro for a quick lunch. It was just OK. None of the wait staff seemed to speak English or at least to understand us. It is a great location across from the harbor and there were two cruise ships in harbor the day we were there so Le Retro was busy. I thought it was expensive for the service/food but I also don't think there are many good options that aren't extremely touristy in Papeete as you might expect and Le Retro was in a nice space. The fries were good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Retro also viewed

 

Been to Le Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Retro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.