We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to get to Moorea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aremiti Ferry

Aremiti Ferry
Porto di Papeete | v3vfed, Papeete 1234k4, French Polynesia
725 6694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Papeete
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
Attraction details
Kelowna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great way to get to Moorea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Located right next door to the cruise terminal the Ferry terminal is quite a building considering its surroundings. Buying tickets, disposing of luggage, and boarding the ferry was done pleasantly and efficiently at both ends. Ran on time. Clean and comfortable with food and drinks in a decent sized cafeteria. Just what a ferry should be!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    127
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quick and easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We actually took the Aremiti Ferry 5 which is the faster one to Moorea. Takes about 30 minutes to get there. There are snacks on board and it's a pretty smooth ride and they pack all your luggage for you before getting on so your not carrying things on board with you. It was very convenient and affordable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“cheap and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great deal for Chinese new year, half price! Nice way to spend half an hour each way, nice views comfortable seats and a happy atmosphere .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great except on stormy days.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We took the Aremiti 5 catamaran to Moorea and then 10 days later back to Tahiti. The day we left from Tahiti, it was raining and the seas were roiling. We did not know what we were in for. The boat was gently rocking as we made our way out of the reef. As soon as we got into open water, we started to seriously feel the angry sea. The boat would rise up to a zero gravity feeling and then crash down as the waves came up around us...over and over again. By the end of the 30 or so minute boat ride, at least 80% of the passengers had utilized a barf bag and the napkins handed out by the Aremiti Ferry employees. My husband and I held our stomachs, just barely. We were nervous for the ferry ride back and bought some "MerCalm" from the "pharmacie" in Moorea. We, luckily, did not need it on the way back. The seas were calm and the trip was smooth. The view from the top of the ferry was beautiful on the way back and the air flow felt great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Easy and fast way between Tahiti nui and Moorea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The ferry was a cheap and quick ride between islands. The cost for the roundtrip was $30 bucks and took about 25 minuntes. The only bad thing was they made us "check" our suitcases and were never gave us a tag in return. Once we got to the other island our suitcases never made it over, but were told instead that they were put on the next ferry. The wait time was an hour in the HOT sun with little shade before the next ferry with our suitcases arrived which was not fun, but the suitcases did arrive on the next ferry.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aremiti Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Aremiti Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aremiti Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.