We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Yaroslavl, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel is ideally located in he city center, close to the central market. Rooms are quite quiet and spacious enough. There is a shop close to the hotel where you can buy food especially in the evening ad on weekends when other shops are closed. Strangely enough, though, that access to the rooms upstairs is only through the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    235
    96
    39
    17
See reviews for
61
310
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to emergency medical evacuation from pacific cruise. The staff were unfriendly & unhelpful, they wouldn't provide me with a drinking glass.The traffic noise was constant. Our balcony looked into the 24 hr non stop service station-that was noisy. The passageways were dark, lit with blue lights! The shower over the bath leaked water all over the floor into the bedroom-climbing over the bath to have a shower was a challenge in itself. At night it became a heaving night club, the noise was non stop-(our stay was a Friday night-hope it doesn't happen every night). Wifi access is limited to the lobby. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

location is downtown so close to shopping but the staff were less than helpful especially compared to the other hotels we stayed in that area. room was a decent size considering there were three of us staying in it. no room service which was surprising as they have a restaurant located on premise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The first impression was rather good – very central location, only 200m from the harbor in central Tahiti. However, the longer we stayed, the more surprises. Our balcony had a view over a 4-lane highway, which is the busiest road on Tahiti. At 5.30 am rush hour starts, and the sound isolation is very poor, not to mention that it is also very romantic to share a cup of coffee 10m above a highway in the morning. After the lovely morning coffee, we wanted to take a shower. The bathroom looked very nice, with both a bathtub and a shower. First we tried the shower: there was a crack in the wall, so water leaked into the toilet next door, and to our surprise our feet soles were almost colored black when we exited the shower. So we tried to shower in the bathtub, and this time approximately 5l of water leaked into the bedroom… The room is very large, but scarcely furnished relative to its size. On the opposite side of the bed is a huge 15-inch TV, only 5m away from the bed – so remember to bring your goggles. We then decided to head for breakfast. After filling our plates, we were informed that it was not complimentary, and cost ‘only’ 34 USD per person (!!). Luckily there was a Shell station just next to the hotel where they sold croissants, so the following days we were able to enjoy a nice romantic breakfast on our balcony over the highway. The hotel tries very hard to look “top-end” business hotel, but somehow can’t seem to get it right. It’s all the small things. The hotel is dark, especially at night, where the hallways are barely lit. The reception is also dark, and the restrooms adjacent to the reception are so poorly lit that you are lucky if you manage to find the toilet seat. Finally, the outdoor swimming pool, which at first seems very nice, is positioned so that at 1 p.m. the sun disappears behind the hotel and it stays in the shade for the rest of the afternoon. The only positive point is the very welcoming and helpful receptionists who will gladly spend time explaining what to visit in Tahiti, but a part from that this is not a hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the tail end of our 2 weeks in FP. Desk staff seemed more helpful when we spoke to them in French. Hubby tried calling the front desk a couple of times(he speaks English only) and got hung up on once.

The view is ok. Room was huge(studio, 4th floor) and pretty clean. Noise was not an issue for us, pretty quiet when the balcony doors are closed. We didn't mind the dark décor and dim lighting in the hallways. We did not have an issue finding our room after dark.

What is up with the badly planned tub/shower?? There is just no way to keep the water from pouring out onto the bathroom floor.

The pool is unappealing and is completely shaded in the afternoon, so no tanning possible.

Weird thing was that the room had what looked like it should be a full kitchen, ie. full sized fridge, sink, cupboards, but no microwave or stove or hot plate. Seemed kind of like an unfinished kitchen.

Parking is free for guests in the underground lot, but it's unsecured, anyone can access it.

On the whole, a decent place. Convenient location to the market, ferry and roulottes. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed a couple of times at this hotel. The view of the city is amazing. The rooms were top quality and you could barely hear the noise from the outside world. The only letdown is the wireless internet, it is only available in certain areas of the building. The staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything is just a walking distance from the hotel: the market, shops, restaurants, ferry dock etc. The room was clean but there were tiny ants crawling around. We had mountside room and the view was a real stunner, especially before the sunrise.

Room Tip: Get a mountainside room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.