We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic coffee over 4-lane highway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Bergen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic coffee over 4-lane highway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The first impression was rather good – very central location, only 200m from the harbor in central Tahiti. However, the longer we stayed, the more surprises. Our balcony had a view over a 4-lane highway, which is the busiest road on Tahiti. At 5.30 am rush hour starts, and the sound isolation is very poor, not to mention that it is also very romantic to share a cup of coffee 10m above a highway in the morning. After the lovely morning coffee, we wanted to take a shower. The bathroom looked very nice, with both a bathtub and a shower. First we tried the shower: there was a crack in the wall, so water leaked into the toilet next door, and to our surprise our feet soles were almost colored black when we exited the shower. So we tried to shower in the bathtub, and this time approximately 5l of water leaked into the bedroom… The room is very large, but scarcely furnished relative to its size. On the opposite side of the bed is a huge 15-inch TV, only 5m away from the bed – so remember to bring your goggles. We then decided to head for breakfast. After filling our plates, we were informed that it was not complimentary, and cost ‘only’ 34 USD per person (!!). Luckily there was a Shell station just next to the hotel where they sold croissants, so the following days we were able to enjoy a nice romantic breakfast on our balcony over the highway. The hotel tries very hard to look “top-end” business hotel, but somehow can’t seem to get it right. It’s all the small things. The hotel is dark, especially at night, where the hallways are barely lit. The reception is also dark, and the restrooms adjacent to the reception are so poorly lit that you are lucky if you manage to find the toilet seat. Finally, the outdoor swimming pool, which at first seems very nice, is positioned so that at 1 p.m. the sun disappears behind the hotel and it stays in the shade for the rest of the afternoon. The only positive point is the very welcoming and helpful receptionists who will gladly spend time explaining what to visit in Tahiti, but a part from that this is not a hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    271
    125
    47
    20
See reviews for
76
364
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the tail end of our 2 weeks in FP. Desk staff seemed more helpful when we spoke to them in French. Hubby tried calling the front desk a couple of times(he speaks English only) and got hung up on once.

The view is ok. Room was huge(studio, 4th floor) and pretty clean. Noise was not an issue for us, pretty quiet when the balcony doors are closed. We didn't mind the dark décor and dim lighting in the hallways. We did not have an issue finding our room after dark.

What is up with the badly planned tub/shower?? There is just no way to keep the water from pouring out onto the bathroom floor.

The pool is unappealing and is completely shaded in the afternoon, so no tanning possible.

Weird thing was that the room had what looked like it should be a full kitchen, ie. full sized fridge, sink, cupboards, but no microwave or stove or hot plate. Seemed kind of like an unfinished kitchen.

Parking is free for guests in the underground lot, but it's unsecured, anyone can access it.

On the whole, a decent place. Convenient location to the market, ferry and roulottes. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed a couple of times at this hotel. The view of the city is amazing. The rooms were top quality and you could barely hear the noise from the outside world. The only letdown is the wireless internet, it is only available in certain areas of the building. The staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything is just a walking distance from the hotel: the market, shops, restaurants, ferry dock etc. The room was clean but there were tiny ants crawling around. We had mountside room and the view was a real stunner, especially before the sunrise.

Room Tip: Get a mountainside room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Tahiti Nui as it was convenient right in downtown Papeete and walking distance to mostly everything in Tahiti. We flew in on Hawaiian Airlines which arrives around 10pm and departs about 12 midnight so we were forced to stay the night of arrival and also stayed a night and a half on the way out of French Polynesia.

I feel we chose a very good hotel for staying a night or two between flights. There are many comments about the low lighting. The hallway lighting is very dim but not so that I needed a flashlight to get to the room. I did have one handy just because of all of those comments. We stayed in a jr suite the first time and an executive suite the second stay.

The jr suite was on the 4th floor next to the road. On a Saturday night, it was VERY loud! The executive suite was on the 6th floor and away from the road. We couldn't hear any traffic noise from here. I read a bunch of comments about the road noise and didn't think it would matter much but definitely ask for a room away from road noise.

The wifi was pretty dependable from the lobby only. There are lots of seating in the lobby for this purpose. It would be nice to have in room but come on, what do you expect in Tahiti. The lobby is just an elevator ride down from your room. There was ethernet hookup in the room but we didn't have anything with a wired connection.

My wife and I were glad that we used our stays here only as an airport stay. It's not somewhere you would probably want to spend more that 1 night. Papeete seems very old and run down. I'm amazed that they wouldn't fix up a town that's the first thing people see when flying into French Polynesia. On the positive side, It's in walking distance to pretty much anything downtown including the pearl museum, Vaima Center, food trucks, pharmacies, grocery stores, farmers market. The gas station connected to the hotel is key. It's even popular to the locals as food and drinks are very affordable here.

One thing to note is the shower in the jr suite. I think it's mainly meant for a bath. If you shower in it, everything slopes to the ground which left a puddle of about a half inch in the bathroom. There was a drain in the bathroom but it did not really work. The shower in the exec suite was much better. The beds were average but the sheets were pretty high quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

motorcycle noise kept us up until the wee hours so the next night we asked for a quiet room away from the street. We got a room over the disco that was thumping with very loud music until 1 AM.
The rooms smelled like bug spray.
The staff was pleasant and let us use the spa to clean up for a late flight after we had checked out.
Nice hotel, but next trip I will find a quiet place where I can get some sleep

Room Tip: traffic noise at the front is bad. Find out when the lounge has loud music and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were eight of us flying into Tahiti at night and we wanted a place to stay in the city. Hotel Tahiti Nui was perfect for us. We had two 2 bedroom apartments. The rooms were very large with big patios that offered views of the city. Everything was clean and we felt like it was a good price considering we had two couples in each room. The bedrooms are upstairs so you need to be able to get yourself and your suitcase up there. We were very happy with our stay and would do it again. It is close to good cafes for breakfast and very close to the huge market.

Room Tip: If you have a family and can negotiate stairs the two bedroom apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.