We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Lacey, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Tahiti Nui as it was convenient right in downtown Papeete and walking distance to mostly everything in Tahiti. We flew in on Hawaiian Airlines which arrives around 10pm and departs about 12 midnight so we were forced to stay the night of arrival and also stayed a night and a half on the way out of French Polynesia.

I feel we chose a very good hotel for staying a night or two between flights. There are many comments about the low lighting. The hallway lighting is very dim but not so that I needed a flashlight to get to the room. I did have one handy just because of all of those comments. We stayed in a jr suite the first time and an executive suite the second stay.

The jr suite was on the 4th floor next to the road. On a Saturday night, it was VERY loud! The executive suite was on the 6th floor and away from the road. We couldn't hear any traffic noise from here. I read a bunch of comments about the road noise and didn't think it would matter much but definitely ask for a room away from road noise.

The wifi was pretty dependable from the lobby only. There are lots of seating in the lobby for this purpose. It would be nice to have in room but come on, what do you expect in Tahiti. The lobby is just an elevator ride down from your room. There was ethernet hookup in the room but we didn't have anything with a wired connection.

My wife and I were glad that we used our stays here only as an airport stay. It's not somewhere you would probably want to spend more that 1 night. Papeete seems very old and run down. I'm amazed that they wouldn't fix up a town that's the first thing people see when flying into French Polynesia. On the positive side, It's in walking distance to pretty much anything downtown including the pearl museum, Vaima Center, food trucks, pharmacies, grocery stores, farmers market. The gas station connected to the hotel is key. It's even popular to the locals as food and drinks are very affordable here.

One thing to note is the shower in the jr suite. I think it's mainly meant for a bath. If you shower in it, everything slopes to the ground which left a puddle of about a half inch in the bathroom. There was a drain in the bathroom but it did not really work. The shower in the exec suite was much better. The beds were average but the sheets were pretty high quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    237
    97
    39
    17
See reviews for
63
311
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

motorcycle noise kept us up until the wee hours so the next night we asked for a quiet room away from the street. We got a room over the disco that was thumping with very loud music until 1 AM.
The rooms smelled like bug spray.
The staff was pleasant and let us use the spa to clean up for a late flight after we had checked out.
Nice hotel, but next trip I will find a quiet place where I can get some sleep

Room Tip: traffic noise at the front is bad. Find out when the lounge has loud music and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were eight of us flying into Tahiti at night and we wanted a place to stay in the city. Hotel Tahiti Nui was perfect for us. We had two 2 bedroom apartments. The rooms were very large with big patios that offered views of the city. Everything was clean and we felt like it was a good price considering we had two couples in each room. The bedrooms are upstairs so you need to be able to get yourself and your suitcase up there. We were very happy with our stay and would do it again. It is close to good cafes for breakfast and very close to the huge market.

Room Tip: If you have a family and can negotiate stairs the two bedroom apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights before going to Moorea. Granted, prices are sky high in Papeete, but we definitely didn't get our money's worth here. The rooms are generic and lack any Tahitian charm. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable - softer than a waterbed! My boys thought the sheets on the extra beds felt like plastic. The pool was cold... too cold for my kids to swim in, and they seriously swim in almost anything! There's no breakfast included; we got ham baguettes at the gas station convenience store next to the hotel. Finally, the hotel has Wi-Fi, but it's only useable in the lobby. Really inconvenient! Seriously, there's got to be a better option in Papeete.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The manager seems to think that it is a good idea to double dip by having a VERY loud disco on the 2nd floor while guests who thought they had booked in for a good nights sleep on the floors above toss and turn while waiting for their flights. Gee thanks! dining service and room cleanliness indifferent. But most annoying of all is the non-response to our complaint.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. That is what several rooms full of guests did at 11pm when told the disco would be pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helped me practice my rusty French. Clearly they do speak English too. Hotel Tahiti Nui is close to the centre of town and handy to the ferries. Central Papeete is slightly sleazy along the waterfront at night but there is a lovely park close by. The pavements could do with repair which would make handling wheelie suitcases easier. That is not a hotel problem though.
Hotel Tahiti Nui is a well appointed haven compared to the surroundings outside.
Because of traffic noise it would be recommended to take a rear facing room. We had one night on our return in a street facing one and even with ear plugs there was a lot of traffic noise on a Saturday night/Sunday morning. See more below.
I think Tahiti Nui is quite adequate for a stop over if you want/have to be in Central Papeete.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite at the back of the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I expected much more from Tahiti and this hotel. The city is very third world and is infested by people who have that sick/twisted look in their eye and present as unhealthy. I've never seen so many transgendered prostitutes in my life! The hotel is C level at best and has the quickest elevator of all time. This is a polar opposite to the doors of the room as they are stiff, slow and more difficult to open then they needed to be. The cost was ok. Long story short, if you arrive in The French Polynesian Islands after 3pm your best bet is to spend 1 night at a hotel in the city as you won't get full value for a half day in Moorea, Bora Bora, etc. I would never stay at any hotel in Tahiti for more than 1 night.

On a postive note the food trucks by the water front are to die for! I recommoned the steak frites.

Room Tip: You will be jet lagged, don't expect a great sleep, stay no more than one night, try the food tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.