We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Feilding, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 1 night either side of a 5 night stay on the Island of Moorea.

We had a Street room and it was very very noisy even on the 4th & 5th floors!! No double glazing.

Make sure you ask for a back room with the views of the Mountains if you want any sleep.

Otherwise the rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is right next door to a Shell Service Station open 24/7 with a god mini market for supplies.

Room Tip: Street rooms are noisy, get a back mountain view room and also not next to the Shell Service Station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    237
    97
    39
    17
See reviews for
63
311
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Tahiti Nui pre and post Moorea trip. Great city center hotel. Our room was huge. We had the one bedroom. It was like an apartment with a full kitchen and living room/dining area space. That worked out great if you want to make your own breakfast in the morning (Go to the Shell station next door and pick up stuff at the market. It's more like a mini grocery store rather than a grimy service station convenience store). Great décor but it could use a bit more lighting. We came in late at night and the only lighting that they had was blue lighting near the room numbers and that's it. I almost needed a flashlight in order to find our room. They staff is also very helpful with letting you store your luggage all day and giving you suggestions on what you can do while you wait for your flight which for most of us doesn't leave until 11:59 pm. We ended up renting a car for the day and driving around the whole (main) island of Tahiti.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location, price and service were all excellent. The room was large and comfortable with a balcony that had a scenic mountain view. This hotel was certainly much nicer than the Radisson at LA airport where we stayed the night before.
We only had breakfast included in our booking, so ate in Les 3 Brasseurs at the end of the street on the waterfront - very good, but as with everywhere in Tahiti it was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel Tahiti Nui is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and it cost 2500 XPF. So, if you fly in and out of Papeete you would need 5000 XPF (approx. $55 US). Make sure you have cash for this and everything else in Papeete. If you plan to leave out of Pepeete on a ferry, there is just the one-way taxi ride it’s it not as bad.
Hotel Tahiti Nui is in a great location and there is a restaurant on site. It’s also very close to downtown Papeete where there is a well-known market. It is about a 10 minute walk to the water front where the ferry to Moorea is located. We walked to the ferry with our carry-on luggage, but it may have been a better idea to spend a few dollars for the short taxi ride.
The receptionists at the hotel were very nice and helpful when we needed to check our luggage early and wait on a room. They also did a good job of communicating with us and speaking English. Another bonus was there was free Wifi in the lobby in which I was able to use Skype to call a few places.
Unfortunately, there are a couple of downsides to this hotel. First of all, the doors to the rooms are very hard to push open. I’m sure it would be extremely difficult for elderly people. Secondly, we had a room on the side of the building and we could hear all the traffic from the gas station located directly beside the hotel. So take peoples tips and try to get a room facing the mountains.
The pool area was nice, but the hot tub could be updated or at the least it needs some maintenance. There were a few other spots around the hotel that could use some maintenance. Lastly, keep in mind that you can book most excursions right at the reception desk of the hotel. Just make sure you do it sooner rather then later so you can get a reservation. We did a 4X4 trek with Marama tours into the mountains and it was amazing! I would highly recommend it... and ask for Ramana. Enjoy your trip! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed one night travelling back from Bora Bora. It is located near the waterfront where you have good restaurants and a great food stalls market. Rooms are amazing, too big in fact.
BUT it is noisy as hell, especially if you have a street facing window. Even on the 8th floor you can hear every single car and scooter driving by. We couldn't sleep for even a second... not sure why there were so many vehicles out on a Sunday night

Room Tip: Stay away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights as a stop over between flights. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished, and in all respects pleasant. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the road noise made sleeping a difficult challenge. Equally, when there on a Friday night the bar gets busy and noisy, as does the general entrance lobby. They are very helpful in providing storage facilities for luggage you may not want to take in between stays with them, and manage this well. The rooms, despite being air conditioned, were really too warm, and nothing seemed to change this despite trying all we could with the air conditioning. They claim to have wifi in reception but we tried repeatedly and it didn't work and got an unhelpful response when we raised this with the front desk. THey do, however, have computers you can use instead, but we only got told about this in response to complaints as to the lack of wifi. They did a fantastic job in organising taxi pick ups and trasnfers to the airport, and it is only a 10min cab ride (but about USD35).

Room Tip: The road is very noisy, all night. Try and get a higher room and one to the sides or rear, desperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is rated as three star but I would say it is far better than the average three star hotel. In all essential areas I would rate this as four star. We had a huge room with two double beds and a large bathroom. We also had a small balcony which was very pleasant. breakfast a little basic but adequate. There is a good restaurant, room service and a spa centre. Not bad for 3*! The only significant drawback is that the hotel is kept in a state of permanant darkness. Possible for eco reasons but very difficult to navigate at night and in my opinion dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.