We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy, clean hotel, centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tidy, clean hotel, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hotel transfers were great, reception was friendly and quick. What is surprising is how dark the corridors are at night time, quite difficult to find your room if you get in late. The bed was comfortable and the room nice and light and airy. Continental breakfast was nice and fresh.
Didn't like having only one soap for the shower and hand sink. The shower was weird- water managed to get all over the bathroom floor no matter how you placed the shower head.
Would have really appreciated an in-room safe to place the passports and valuables. For an overnight stay it was great, and very close to the airport for our morning departure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    237
    98
    39
    17
See reviews for
63
311
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we first arrived to the hotel, all presentation was great, staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Next morning when we woke up, first thing i found there are some blood on our duvet but on my husband's side. After shower, we try to make some coffee but found out the sticky teaspoon, and lipstick on the water glass. We were very exiting for our Honeymoon trip, but after all, it drop it to zero! We show the staff the photos, they ask us to send them to "the manager", after all, nothing happen.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Okay, redemption time... My previous comments on this hotel had to do with a cancelled reservation and was charged for the room anyway. Well, after having to postpone my trip to French Polynesia, I ended up using this hotel while in Papeete, on the island of Tahiti.
What a pleasant surprise in the middle of town and not too far from everything, including the dock for transportation by ferry. The hotels location is great! If you know Papeete, a decent hotel right in town, is really not available, so you end up staying in one of the farther, out of town hotels, but this was a pleasant surprise! Right off Prince Hinoi Blvd. Opened the glass doors into a modern uncluttered, and very cool lobby. The women behind the reception desk were friendly, quite charming and efficient. We had a two bedroom duplex room on the top floor, balcony overlooking Papeete.
The restaurant had an alright breakfast. There is a swimming pool on the second floor as well, but just don't expect scenery, as you are in the middle of residential areas. There is also a sundries/ supermarket next door.
All in all, if you want or must stay in Papeete, this hotel is a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We needed a hotel room for the day only, from 10 am to 8 pm prior to going to the airport for flight home. Tahiti Nui hotel is located in the center of town, very convenient to the market and pearl market. Our room wasn't available until 1 pm so we shopped and had lunch, then checked in. A beautiful hotel, with Polynesian theme and décor. It's dark in the rooms, the lighting is very dark in the bathroom and there was no good lighted area to apply makeup, dry and style hair. Spa and pool elegant. Very friendly staff. We ate dinner in the attached Velvet restaurant, and it was very good and reasonably priced for Tahiti. Our room had a balcony and mountain view. We enjoyed our day stay there very much

Room Tip: The hotel web site has a contact form and the manager gave us a very good rate when we requested a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was attempting to meet up with a boat in French Polynesia and the plan kept changing, so having booked a flight to Tahiti, I needed to fly onto Fakarava. With no flights until the following day I needed a room for the night and the Tahiti Nui had space.
I arrived well before check-in (1pm) so reception gave me towels and a pass to the spa area. After the flight from LA it was great to relax in the pool. It was smallish but with good views of the mountains behind Papeete. They have a small gym and treatment rooms but I was happy to just relax by the pool until the room was ready.
Other peoples comments about the lift are accurate (doors shut fast and the card access system is a pain) and parts of the hotel deliberately make use of dim lighting (changing area and corridors are very dark) but I enjoyed the overall 'feel' of the hotel which may have had a lot to do with the staff who were always helpful.
My room was fantastic, plenty of space, comfortable seating, good working space with power sockets (European style plugs) and a balcony. The bath/shower area was spotlessly clean. The bed was excellent.
I didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar was well stocked!
Staying here was an excellent experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice over the last year (April/May, November/December).
Since my work involves also traveling to the outer islands, my stay has always been interrupted and could easily be considered by many staff as complicated! However, staff have always been incredibly amenable to helping me out, extremely friendly as well as efficient, and have always extended the possibility to leave some of my luggage at the hotel if needed, while I am on duty travel.

The rooms are clean, bright, and very spacious. The linens are of superior quality.
The shower has hot water and good pressure and there is a bath for those who prefer baths.

Prices vary according to which side of the city you face. Papeete is a noisy place - the windows offer some noise cancellation but if you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs.

The hotel is extremely centrally located - I always walk everywhere. It is safe - and if you prefer to use a cab, the front desk will happily call one for you.

The hotel will also happily organise for airport transfers.

I will be traveling to Tahiti again this year and without a doubt will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight back to the states. Maybe I just don't get the modern hotel thing but this place was not for us. We checked in to the lovely lobby no problem. The elevator doors closed so quickly we almost lost one arm and a suitcase. Since it was after dark and there was no natural light from the hall skylight so we could hardly find our room. It was really creepy. The only lights in the halls are these strange, very dim purple lights that are not for actually seeing anything. We had a jr. suite and they (very kindly) had two beds made up for our children before we arrived. However, the beds had no blankets, just a sheet. The children are little and travel with their own blankets so luckily this was no problem. There is no room service which was disappointing. We went to the restaurant in the lobby for a quick bite, not great. The room was noisy b/c of the gas station out our window. And most importantly...no wake up call in the morning! So not a terrible place but certainly not great...maybe we just don't get it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.