We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was booked a deluxe room but upon check in; the reception gave us the one bed room suite. The room was very large and had balcony to enjoy open air at night time. The bed was excellent and comfortable, I had good rest. I had problem with the shower, due to there is no separate shower and bathtub has no curtain. The water splash all over the floor. Beside the bath room; others were very good. I did not hear any music from the lounge down stair. The hotel has gym and in house spa. The gas station is next door, where I can stock all my beverage and light snack with very cheap rates, it is not easy to find anything cheap in Tahiti.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    245
    100
    40
    17
See reviews for
65
320
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The only bad surprise was the quality of breakfast in particular when compared to the quality of dinner served in the same restaurant as well as compared to other hotels in Tahiti and French Polynesia.

Room Tip: I received free upgrade to junior suite that is said not to face the street and more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great place to stay pre or post cruise if you are looking for value. Close to piers. Area of town is not the best but seemed safe during the day. Restaurant also good value for dinner but not for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights pre & post cruise in February. It is really well situated as is close to the crusie ships embarkation point as well as the city and restaurants.
For French Polynesia the charge is very reasonable and the price includes the internet ( with a French keyboard) in a Business centre next to Reception.
We did not eat at the restaurant as we purchased breakfast and lunch from the Mini Mart next to the Hotel.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The hallways are very dark and humid.
The Hotel does not provide black tea or milk. The tea provided is every other variety but black!
The airconditioning is very, very effective and the rooms become quite chilly.
if you are walking down to the wharf to catch your cruise,it is an easy walk . However ,there are a number of places where you will need to lift your case up and down the steps to continue on the pavement.
The food vans at the water from 6pm are good value and very popular with locals as well.
Overall we were very happy with the Hotel Tahiti Nui and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 317 & 417 have a balcony on one side and a large glass window to the mountains on the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night pre-cruise. Very convenient to cruise check in as this was at the city hall only a short stroll (with luggage) away. 5 - 10 minute walk to the cruise terminal itself. Several decent local restaurants. Little bit of a sketchy area surrounding the hotel but we had no problems.

The hotel lobby is huge and largely empty. Check in was fast and efficient. The room was 2 level with a sitting room/ kitchen on the entry level and with the bed/ bath on the level above. Small balcony looking onto a busy street and a run down apartment opposite. Quiet enough with doors closed. AC worked well. Kitchen was strange as there were some dishes etc but no towels or soap. Comfortable bed. Clean with all appliances working. Lighting in the hall way was provided by small blue lights that provided little actual illumination.

Kindly let us use the pool and shower after checkout as well as the Wifi (which worked in the lobby only). Even provided towels! Nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am sure this hotel was very nice at some point but it defiantly hasn't been maintained. We had a 2 bedroom suite and my parents had a regular room a few floors down. Our suite was okay but lots of things didn't work. The shower in one room was broken and the AC in one room didn't work and literally had no control pad. It was clean-ish as there were dead bugs around the window etc and they were big bugs. We were traveling with our 2 children so these things matter when you have a toddler with you. My parents had similar issues in their room as their phone didn't even work for a wake up call. The business center printer didn't work either so that was pretty useless for printing boarding passes. I am glad we only stayed the one night for an early flight the next day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived by ship and checked into the Hotel Tahiti Nui which is not far from the port area. As we were only staying one extra day, we decided against staying at an ocean-side resort but rather wanted to be near the downtown area. The hotel was perfectly located. It is new, modern and had all the amenities. We had been advised to get a mountain-side room rather than be on the street side where there might be traffic noises. The hotel is new, modern and has all the amenities desired. Free internet access is in all of the rooms but can only be via ethernet cord however, free wi-fi is in the lobby. The resturant looked OK but we didn't eat there. The full downtown area with shopping, resturants and the "roulettes" (food trucks) is only a very short walk away. Additionally, we were able to get a taxi to the airport for a reasonble fee (about U$20) which is only about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: get a mountain-side room rather than be on the street side where there might be traffic noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.