We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and spacious junior suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Aarhus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location and spacious junior suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at Tahiti Nui for two nights in October 2012. Booked a Junior Suite in June 2012 as part of a round the world trip. Hotel Tahiti Nui was booked because it seemed to have a convenient location for a stay in Papeete, and because it looked new, with spacious rooms and balconies.
Arrived in the morning from one of the outer islands and was told the suite would be ready about one o’clock, and that we could leave our luggage in a locked room until then. The suite consisted of two large rooms, one with couches, dining table and kitchen, the other with a very large bed and en suite facilities. The rooms were very modern, well kept and very inviting, with large windows and a balcony with a view of the city and in the distance the sea and Moorea. The only thing not up to standard was an overdesigned bathroom. It was impossible to use the shower without spoiling a lot of water on the floor, even though one tried to stem the flow with large towels. Staff in the reception area was very friendly and helpful in getting an early and very precise taxi to the airport. And Internet worked as promised in the very large reception area. Would stay there again, and can only recommend booking a junior suite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    237
    97
    39
    17
See reviews for
63
311
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchum, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

With only twelve hours between leaving cruise ship and late night flights to mainland, Hotel Tahiti Nui fills the bill with modern rooms, a nice pool and a very palatable French restaurant. Just four blocks from the port and a short stroll from the market, it saves an expensive taxi ride down the coast to beachfront hotels that only offer late day check-in. The helpful staff let all four family members share one apartment, stored our bags while we went to the market and let us check in at 11AM.

Room Tip: The apartments have a living room and kitchen with separate king bedroom and only cost a bit more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is very nice ! It is well situated in Tahiti city centre, yet just 10 minutes away from the airport. We spent two nights here, at the beginning and at the end of our trip. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. There's also a swimming pool and a gym where we spent our last afternoon in French Polynesia waiting for our flight. Very relaxing !
The hotel's employees are extremely friendly. I'd definitely reccomend it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Positive:
Excellent french cusine in the restaurant.
All service personal very friendly.

Negative:
Too expansive for for just an basic average hotel.
Too noisy. Next to Papeete main road and big disco noices over weekend.
Tourist package was paid by my contractor and was still charged even the food was not taken.
Internet was most of the time not working. Not good for a business trip.
Break fast is just basic and therefor far too expansive

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors. Weekend disco noise until 3:00 am affects the second and the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia, Italia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

this hotel has a reasonable price, rooms are spacious and well finished. The wifi is free but is available only in the reception at ground floor. It's available also a baggage room that is very useful if you are here as point of departure for external islet. But the real best value of this hotel is surely the position cause it's really closer to the town center, the market and the "roulotte" where you can eat very well at fair price. i can certainly suggest this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I arrived quite late at night , at 1:30am in the morning and checked in was no problem.
I choose the hotel as other posts said there is loud partying and music and I was so looking forward to this , but was disappointed - there was none. In fact Papeete could do with some nightlife.. as there just isn't any. I stayed Thurs, Fri and Sat nights and no activity after 7pm. it felt more like a retirement village than what other posts makes it out to be. The town was dead when I was there.

Free internet and WiFi is really helpful in Tahiti. This was a real plus point of the hotel.

This hotel is nice inside... the room I stayed in was clean and comfy., everything worked well, air con, hot water, kettle. going to your room at night had the lights dimmed down.. I think this is give the hotel an 'atmosphere' , either that or they saving on electricity, but it could do with better or more lighting.

The Hotel has a service station ( gas station) next to it and this is really handy as you can get a mini bar coke for 350 francs or the one next door for 110 francs.

The Hotel is also handy to the Ferry port, ferries that take you to Morea and Bora Bora as well as to the 'tourist' areas close by.

Staff will organize a taxi and other activities for you. I did a four hour tour of the island with "Dave!" and he is really good. I would highly recommend you use him as he is an American that speaks clear English which is hard to find in TAHITI . He is also very knowledgeable and helpful. So ask for him and book him in advance if you can. He is popular and his prices is reasonable for Tahiti.

I was a bit short of cash and needed to convert some Dollars to Francs and NO banks are open on a Saturday or Sunday and there are no Currency exchanges around.

Yes, I could have used an ATM, but I personally dislike using my cards oversees and rather prefer to take cash.

The Hotel will convert up to $100/day for you and I just walked around to other Hotels and they seemed no to have a problem converting between $50-$100 for me.

The other option is to go to the Airport and use the converting machine.

The mistake I made was not taking enough converted cash earlier as the prices in TAHITI was generally anything from 3-5 times higher than Australia for most goods and services.

The Hotel, it's services are very good for the location and services provided.

The breakfast is simple. I did not have dinner at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool is good, it was quiet and also you will be in for a treat when the aqua aerobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three days...all of which were equally awful. The first room lacked most of the advertised amenities...including no shower curtain, so water dangerously flooded the bathroom floor and ran into the bmdroon The walls at the entrance to the bathroom, had been damaged by water and the baseboards were inches away from the wall. This impression was enforced on day two when we returned from walking into the town to find water pouring into the bath from one of the light fixtures We were then moved to another room, which had obviously not been occupied for some time as the floors were filthy...and when they finally sent someone to clean, it took her more than an hour. I agree with another reviewer that the hotel is very dark. So much so, that it is hard to put the key in the lock and again I agree that the attitude of the staff is poor ,right up to and including the manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.