We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy, central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tidy, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tahiti Nui for one night, in one of the suites. The suite was very spacious and modern. The hotel itself has a great design, and is a tidy, affordable place to stay in Papeete (when other hotels of similar standard are really highly pried). The pool is okay (nothing special, but good for something on the second floor).

Everything is within walking distance of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    244
    100
    40
    17
See reviews for
65
319
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was only there for a day stay before leaving on air plane at 12:00pm. I would not stay there over night. The whole hotel is dark, bathrooms need light and more lights. Staff needs to improve there attitude which was poor.. We did find a places to eat down the street at the dock park area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 1 night at this hotel after an amazing week in Moorea and before a long flight home to Canada. Esthetically, the hotel is beautiful if not a bit worn in some public areas (especially around the pool), but unfortunately, as previously reported, we were on the 4th floor and were subjected to loud booming music and laughter well into the wee hours. I would find it difficult to recommend this hotel to people looking for a good nights rest before heading off. That said- if the noise is adjusted, all other reports are true regarding the central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel stayed two fablous nights.Very clean and well maintained.Location to downtown Papeete, roulette trucks and ferry dock was perfect. Would reccomend to everyone wanting to stay close to it all. Spa treatments were also very relaxing..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is well located for the port, and the market. The hotel was clean, and the rooms to a good standard. The overall service of staff was fine, but unfortunately the manager let our whole experience slide downhill, and we cannot recommend this hotel. We (a family of 5) stopped off here on our way back to the UK from New Zealand where we had been working for 5 months.
We naturally had a lot of lugguage, with 3 young children in tow. Our travel agent at the airport had suggested that we store our extra bags with the hotel, while we travelleved to Moorea and Bora Bora. We arrived late at night, having carted all of our bags from the airport to the hotel, and were told to organise the lugguage storage in the morning. However, the manager in the morning refused to store our bags (we were offering to pay). We asked why not, to which he replied that it was because we were not staying before we left Pappeete. So we then offered to book a room for our last night. Again, he simply refused to accommodate us, remarking that we should have booked earlier. We landed up having to taxi all of our bags back to the airport and back again before catching our ferry. He was most unhelpful. FYI, the hotel has a large 'left lugguage. room, but don't expect to be able to use it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. Our first night we arrived around 10:30 PM and expected to hear the loud music everyone talks about here. There was music confined to a large room off the lobby area but in no way was it blaring. We had a room on the 5th floor as we requested away from the street noise. All our nights were noise free. The room was quite clean. I would have liked wash cloths and hand towels as there were only 2 bath towels. Also there is a note saying the fridge is not to be used except for the items stocked by the hotel itself. Ridiculous. Good location to the pier. Probably the best and most reasonably priced hotel for a stop over in Tahiti.

Room Tip: A room in the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March 2012, a few days before boarding the Aranui 3 for the Marqueses Islands and again upon returning. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was friendly and professional. On the day of our departure back home our flight left at 11pm. The hotel was gracious enough to hold our luggage and let us have day use of the pool and shower facilities (very convenient to have in such a hot climate).

Room Tip: Request room at the back of the hotel to avoid the main road. Breakfast buffet is very pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tahiti Nui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.