We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, attentive service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bad Dog

Bad Dog
5 MacArthur Street, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
+679 331 2884
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Suva
Price range: $4 - $14
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
SY Mariposa, The Big Blue
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate relatively early on a Wednesday night, so perhaps missed the noise others have mentioned. We had an extremely attentive waiter and a very good meal. Though more expensive than our usual dining it was worth the cost. Good atmosphere but I can see from the proximity of the night club etc that it would get pretty noisy at times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    56
    24
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“noisy bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

on the positive 50% of food great
decor clean 100%
the noise deafening
service terrible after waiting soo long for drink being told happy hour and price order drink then after finally drinks arrived 20 minutes told sorry now you have to pay full price till changed over 2 minutes ago really seriously and no one cared
wont go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Popular but my first meal was flawed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well located and popular restaurant. I nearly walked back out when I heard how loud the band was but the guys in front of me who had been there before ploughed on through the restaurant to the far end where the volume was tolerable. I had the sticky pork which was good texture and taste but spoiled by the poor butchering of the meat which had left it full of bone fragments. The other five at the table were all happy with their meal. As it is popular I guess that I will be back but I won't be having the pork again!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you enjoy the pub environment, then this is a place for you. Sit down with a drink and order some chasers or a pizza watching the game on TV. Pizzas are good and reasonable as well.
Good place for a office lunch as well

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't eat there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

To be fair there was a large function going on in one of their rooms which may have affected the quality of the food I got.

The service was actually quite good, and the restraunt is clean and well presented but the food was terrible. In a country where most food is quite good I was quite surprised how bad it was. I had pork rib which was 3 small pork chops which were so burnt that I could not tell where the bone ended and the meat started and som cold boiled veg on the side.

This place was recommended to me by several people so as I said it may have been a bad night but buyer beware...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad Dog also viewed

 

Been to Bad Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bad Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.