We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Private Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Seas Private Hotel
Save Saved
You added South Seas Private Hotel to your Saves list
6 Williamson Rd, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Suva
Suva
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

minus:
there is no power plugs in the dorm room. and no induvidual bed lights, only one fluro light in the middle. and the fan only had one speed...full speed.
Plus:
friendly staf. you can come and go as you wish 24h a day. friendly staf. clean rooms, bathrooms and bed clouthing(changed every day). friendly staf. tv-room/loungh/library/safe storage/kiosk.
close to town(just next to Albert park). friendly staf. nice view from the shower booth...yes the shower(2d floor).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
7
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lots of steps up to the place and a little walk into town. Close to Fiji Museum. The dorm room was okay and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and looked after my valuables as there are no lockers in the rooms. They have a kitchen if you want to self cater. Suva is not a place you really want to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night for transit. They had had a very busy week, so when we arrived, apparently they had not been able to keep pace with laundering towels or linen.
While we were out at dinner, they DID get everything installed int he rooms.
DOWNSIDE was getting new towels that hadn't ever been washed, so they still had the residue of spinning oils from the manufacture proces, o they didn't dry you properly. It was mor elike a wipe-down process.

But the downstairs rooms were very nosiy with foot traffic above, it is VERY old, creaky, and really not a place I'd choose to stay again.
I have to say, the bed linen was very clean and crisp.
They take a key deposit as well as the security deposit, and required this in cash only, but as we were checking out early a.m. before reception re-opened, we had to return our keys before 10pm at night, and go to bed, or we would have not got our deposit back. We had to do the same with the towels. They need a bit more flexibility.

Our intrepid group of teenagers had a choice of staying overnight again after 13 hours travelling back from the outer islands where they ahd been living and volunteer working village style, but they opted to endure another 4 hours on a wild run in from Natovi landing, to catch the last Pacific Bus service of the day and a 10pm arrival in Nadi (17 hours all up on the road), so they could stay at Tanoa Skylodge again.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed a night at the South Seas Private Hotel in Suva, paying for a private bathroom, their most expensive room at $64. Late at night we found we had no hot water. There was a school group staying at the hotel and we thought because of heavy use, the hot water might just have run out. However, we checked again at 5.30am and at 7.30am - still no hot water. On checking out we asked the staff whether they thought it was fair to pay what we had for a room with no hot water. They merely said that was the room rate, and it did not seem to matter to them that it was supposed to be a room with hot water.
So, fellow travellers, if you are considering staying at the South Seas Private Hotel in Suva, check that the room actually has hot water before accepting it.
Still no Internet or WiFi.
Ian and Stephanie Partridge

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here when in Suva for one night after checking out of the uncharacteristic Best western down the road. This was by far nicer, it had a lot more of a rustic theme, yes the rooms were far more basic, but the smiley staff made up for it as well as the rooms being half the price. The location wasn't the best but it was right next to the museum which we planned to visit anyway. I would stay here again if I came back.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quite basic but clean enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vibes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times when in Suva. Its very basic but has some class to it. The rooms have not changed since the place was built. It could do with some more powerful fans, a lick of paint and a power supply. The facilites are clean and the kichen and bathroom system works. Friendly staff nice garden The TV room now has satelite TV small bonus if board!

Room Tip: I advise to sleep on the higher floors, less noise and movements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Had some expectations after reading the Lonely Planet guide for Fiji from 2009. I really felt let down when I arrived. The staff was busy with a visitor (I think it was her boyfriend) and barely looked up when we came. She was very unhelpful-- when we asked if she had a map of central Suva, she just said no and turned away, without even asking what we were looking for. The hotel (or hostel, really) lacks many facilities. There is no wifi what so ever. There is, as far as I could see, practically no security at the entrance (I suspect a marching band could have walked in without the receptionist girl noticing). The rooms lacked air-con. There is a roof fan, but the fan in the room we got (#5) was barely working. Paid 51 FJD per night for a double with shared bathroom, which isn't too bad. The room had nothing but a small cupboard and a bed. The bed sheets were a bit stained, but the room was otherwise reasonably clean. A bit dusty. There was no power outlets as far as I could see.

It is okay for a quick night or two in Suva, but I do not think I would spend any more time there. It gets a plus for the location - it really isn't far from the bus stop, and a taxi costs around 4 FJD.

Room Tip: Only saw number 5, and my tip: avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Private Hotel

Address: 6 Williamson Rd, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.