We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but thats what you want right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Private Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Seas Private Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Seas Private Hotel
6 Williamson Rd, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Suva
Vibes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“basic but thats what you want right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times when in Suva. Its very basic but has some class to it. The rooms have not changed since the place was built. It could do with some more powerful fans, a lick of paint and a power supply. The facilites are clean and the kichen and bathroom system works. Friendly staff nice garden The TV room now has satelite TV small bonus if board!

Room Tip: I advise to sleep on the higher floors, less noise and movements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Had some expectations after reading the Lonely Planet guide for Fiji from 2009. I really felt let down when I arrived. The staff was busy with a visitor (I think it was her boyfriend) and barely looked up when we came. She was very unhelpful-- when we asked if she had a map of central Suva, she just said no and turned away, without even asking what we were looking for. The hotel (or hostel, really) lacks many facilities. There is no wifi what so ever. There is, as far as I could see, practically no security at the entrance (I suspect a marching band could have walked in without the receptionist girl noticing). The rooms lacked air-con. There is a roof fan, but the fan in the room we got (#5) was barely working. Paid 51 FJD per night for a double with shared bathroom, which isn't too bad. The room had nothing but a small cupboard and a bed. The bed sheets were a bit stained, but the room was otherwise reasonably clean. A bit dusty. There was no power outlets as far as I could see.

It is okay for a quick night or two in Suva, but I do not think I would spend any more time there. It gets a plus for the location - it really isn't far from the bus stop, and a taxi costs around 4 FJD.

Room Tip: Only saw number 5, and my tip: avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed there in 2010 and 2011. One of the staff is great, the other are ok. The biggest complain I have about it is there is NO internet. In Fiji, they should offer free or low cost internet. It is a pain in the butt to go down to Connect Fiji to check emails!

Room Tip: Get a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in Suva for 3 nights (I don't know why!) and this was one of the nicest things about the city. It is an older-style colonial building.
The hotel is safe and friendly and has a good kitchen for self-catering. There is also a TV lounge with plenty of seating. We found this place also to be very secure at night time.
Some tips on Suva:
EVERYONE is out to make money out of you - even someone you pass in the street! We went to the cinema and it was very good. The handicraft market is good but you have to be patient and be prepared to be hassled if you go in somewhere like this!
Only get in a taxi with a meter. We were told not to wander around Suva after dark -but it's ok if you take a taxi everywhere (very cheap)
We went to the bus-station to catch the local buses around Vita Levu and this was fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is not a five-star hotel, obviously. This is an old-style, honest backpacker hostel. Herein you will find a comfortable bed in a secure private room; with clean, shared bathroom facilities; in a safe neighbourhood, conveniently located a pleasant 10 minute stroll from downtown Suva… for a modest $35FJD/night. It is for these reasons that it deserves full-marks. This is my third time staying here and my experiences have been consistently positive. I stayed here for about 2 weeks while on elective placement at CWM Hospital (which is about a $3-4FJD taxi fare ride away) and recommend it for anyone on a similar student budget. The staff are very friendly and helpful, taxis are easy to hail down on the adjacent road and there are kitchen facilities available for those who want to use them (although I found it easier to just eat out everyday at the MHCC foodcourt or one of the near-by pizza cafes, like Bad Dog or Pizza King). Other guests I have noticed range from international students doing a term at the local university, small families from neighbouring South Pacific countries, and the occasional true “back-packer" - it's a pretty quiet establishment and doesn't attract the rowdy crowd that hostels normally do.
No hesitations in staying here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rakiraki, Fiji
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel (which should perhaps more accurately be called a hostel) is a mere 15 minute walk into the city centre, so close but not too close to all of the action! The rooms are spotlessly clean, cool (even with just fans) and simple. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm, which I had to myself, which I would say was one of the few downsides to this place, it seems very empty. There was rarely anyone in the TV room, kitchen or the gardens, which is a shame because the set-up would lend itself well to a social atmosphere with the shared kitchen facillities and such nice grounds. The staff are also very friendly and all know your name the second you check-in, which is a nice touch. The other downside was the lack of any internet facillities, but there are internet cafe's a 15 minute walk away so it's not a massive problem. Overall I was very pleased I chose the South Seas and I would definitely stay there again/recommend it to anyone heading to Suva.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at South Seas three times over the course of around a month, as we came and went to other places around Suva. The building is not terribly well maintained and the rooms are extremely basic (bed and closet, that's it in many cases), but the place has heaps of character, the staff was friendly and helpful (especially at reception), and you can't beat the value. Two out of the three times we had what appeared to be the only double bed room with ensuite. It actually had a chair and small table it in as well as the bed. The third time that room wasn't available so we got a double with a shared bath. That one just had the bed. Both accommodations were very roomy. Easy 15 minute walk down into the heart of town, cheap taxi ride back if you're not up to the uphill walk. Not the type of place you'd want to stay at if you're aiming at a swish holiday, but good for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Seas Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Private Hotel

Address: 6 Williamson Rd, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your South Seas Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.