We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Safe and good facilites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Private Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Suva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Seas Private Hotel
6 Williamson Rd, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Suva
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap, Safe and good facilites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in Suva for 3 nights (I don't know why!) and this was one of the nicest things about the city. It is an older-style colonial building.
The hotel is safe and friendly and has a good kitchen for self-catering. There is also a TV lounge with plenty of seating. We found this place also to be very secure at night time.
Some tips on Suva:
EVERYONE is out to make money out of you - even someone you pass in the street! We went to the cinema and it was very good. The handicraft market is good but you have to be patient and be prepared to be hassled if you go in somewhere like this!
Only get in a taxi with a meter. We were told not to wander around Suva after dark -but it's ok if you take a taxi everywhere (very cheap)
We went to the bus-station to catch the local buses around Vita Levu and this was fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is not a five-star hotel, obviously. This is an old-style, honest backpacker hostel. Herein you will find a comfortable bed in a secure private room; with clean, shared bathroom facilities; in a safe neighbourhood, conveniently located a pleasant 10 minute stroll from downtown Suva… for a modest $35FJD/night. It is for these reasons that it deserves full-marks. This is my third time staying here and my experiences have been consistently positive. I stayed here for about 2 weeks while on elective placement at CWM Hospital (which is about a $3-4FJD taxi fare ride away) and recommend it for anyone on a similar student budget. The staff are very friendly and helpful, taxis are easy to hail down on the adjacent road and there are kitchen facilities available for those who want to use them (although I found it easier to just eat out everyday at the MHCC foodcourt or one of the near-by pizza cafes, like Bad Dog or Pizza King). Other guests I have noticed range from international students doing a term at the local university, small families from neighbouring South Pacific countries, and the occasional true “back-packer" - it's a pretty quiet establishment and doesn't attract the rowdy crowd that hostels normally do.
No hesitations in staying here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rakiraki, Fiji
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel (which should perhaps more accurately be called a hostel) is a mere 15 minute walk into the city centre, so close but not too close to all of the action! The rooms are spotlessly clean, cool (even with just fans) and simple. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm, which I had to myself, which I would say was one of the few downsides to this place, it seems very empty. There was rarely anyone in the TV room, kitchen or the gardens, which is a shame because the set-up would lend itself well to a social atmosphere with the shared kitchen facillities and such nice grounds. The staff are also very friendly and all know your name the second you check-in, which is a nice touch. The other downside was the lack of any internet facillities, but there are internet cafe's a 15 minute walk away so it's not a massive problem. Overall I was very pleased I chose the South Seas and I would definitely stay there again/recommend it to anyone heading to Suva.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at South Seas three times over the course of around a month, as we came and went to other places around Suva. The building is not terribly well maintained and the rooms are extremely basic (bed and closet, that's it in many cases), but the place has heaps of character, the staff was friendly and helpful (especially at reception), and you can't beat the value. Two out of the three times we had what appeared to be the only double bed room with ensuite. It actually had a chair and small table it in as well as the bed. The third time that room wasn't available so we got a double with a shared bath. That one just had the bed. Both accommodations were very roomy. Easy 15 minute walk down into the heart of town, cheap taxi ride back if you're not up to the uphill walk. Not the type of place you'd want to stay at if you're aiming at a swish holiday, but good for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

One of the truths of travel in the developing world is that there is no such thing as a good 3 star hotel. You'll find great 4 star hotels (the Hilton in Santo Domingo, for example), but that comes at a cost (which is never negotiable). The second tier hotels always are troubled. You have some of the trappings of the Western world (mood lighting, flatscreen TV, coffee maker), but when you look closer, the carpet is invariably filthy, there's hair in the shower, cockroaches crawling in the coffee mugs, the mattresses are worn, the a/c so loud you have to turn it off, which leaves your room damp and musty. In Viti Levu (and, by extension, Suva), there is no great 4 star hotel. Which leaves you with a choice: pay Western prices for one of the second tier establishments you'll find sorely lacking, or pay local prices and adjust your expectations from the outset. With a day to spare in Suva, I decided to try the second approach and checked into the South Seas Private Hotel (at about 1/3 the rate I paid for one of the 3 stars). The structure used to be a girls school or something of that sort, replete with dormitories, chow hall and laundry rooms. It also has one of these old, colonial verandas lining its front, which makes for a splendid place to take in the frequent tropical downpours. Most of it serves as a hostel, with bunk beds and shared facilities. Room 38 in the back is the only one with a private bath and shower, and goes for about US$30. For that price you get very basic accommodations, but they are comparatively clean (not overrun by cockroaches like some of the 3 star hotels I stayed in, even though mosquitos proved a nuissance). There's no a/c, only a big ceiling fan, which is fine, since in this old colonial building the layout was optimized to allow air to flow through the structure (people built smarter before the invention of a/c). It proved to be quite agreeable in my room, really. There's also no hot water (or at least none I could get to work), but given the tropical temperatures, that isn't such a big deal, either. Staff lives on site and is very friendly, but sometimes a bit shy. There's shared fridges and a communal kitchen, which I preferred to avoid. Fellow guests arrived with bags of fresh produce, however, ready to cook some serious meals, and I am sure you could partake in one those if only you sit long enough on one of the benches adjacent to the kitchen. Strictly no alcohol, though! The location of the hotel is terrific. It sits above Albert Park (you can faintly hear the cheers of rugby games going on below), and is next to the Botanical Garden. It's a quiet area full of lush green and nice private homes. Overall, very basic accommodations, but if you arrive with the right mindset, this is probably the best value proposition you will get in Suva. Recommended for the hardy traveler.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

You get what you pay for, and seeing as you don't pay much, that's what you get! Still, it was clean and comfortable. Perfect for backpackers and people on a budget, but perhaps not for a honeymoon! Would stay again if I was in Suva and strapped for cash.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — shared bathroom facilities
  • Stayed June 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Before arriving we mentioned we were staying here to other travellers..all of them told us to cancel! So we were a bit apprehensive when we arrived!

This is the cheapest hostel in Suva. It seems to cater mainly to Fijians who are staying in Suva for a few days. We felt like we were the only backpackers staying there.
Accomodation is very basic but reasonably clean. It reminded us of an old hospital.
It is about a 20 minute walk into the center of Suva.

We were staying there at the same time as a fijian rugby team so we were told when chacking in to expect some noise. That night we were kept awake by some really great choir singing (harmonies and all) from the rugby team...that wasnt really what we were expecting when we were told there might be`some noise!

Overall, there was nothing that would make us want to return to this hostel. That said, its fine for a short stay in Suva.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Seas Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Private Hotel

Address: 6 Williamson Rd, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added South Seas Private Hotel to your Saves list