We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for business traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Princes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Five Princes Hotel to your Saves list
Five Princes Hotel
5 Princes Rd | GPO Box 704, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Suva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great choice for business traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice, clean, handy to the city centre. Very old building but nicely renovated and up to speed. Nice pool, great landscaping. Had really good breakfast in the morning, nothing fancy, but good quality. Overall, would definetly come back if needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were here for only one night but would have loved to have had longer. A special place, a peek at Colonial Suva but with a thoroughly modern twist. As it was January and very hot, we were very appreciative of the air conditioned room. We would have enjoyed to have a meal there but were invited out with friends. The breakfast was a very nice tropical one with papaya and the usual cereals and yoghurts. A lovely and relaxing place to stay. Next time we would love to try out the bures in the garden which looked great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely old colonial stye, boutique and intimate - rooms beautifully appointed, lovely grounds. Up on the hill overlooking Suva Harbor. Out of the central Suva 'hub drub' but only a quick $5 FJD taxi ride to town. Friendly, helpful staff and management. Very nice food and dinning area. Absolutely stunning large 'salt water' pool ( no chlorine) in a beautiful garden setting. Has good off street parking if you have a vehicle. Also has cabins and cottages. Very popular with visiting business people in the 'know'. It's not budget but treat yourself it's worth it. highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 5 nights in late October this year. I chose the hotel mainly because it was one of the few accommodations available that had two bedrooms and was self catering. We stayed in the two bedroom garden villa and it was absolutely lovely. So quiet and tranquil, despite being on a very busy road. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and the meals at the restaurant are superb. I won't give this 5 stars, because for my elderly mother the pathways were a little bit trickly to navigate and our villa was quite a walk from the car park, but otherwise I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Choose a villa if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I purposely chose Five Princes Hotel because it was a small hotel and therefore the experience will be more personal plus the photos were so inviting. Well it was exactly that. Set in a secluded garden setting, I stayed in one of the Garden Bures and enjoyed it so much. I woke up every morning to the sound of birds chirping in the garden. The staff were wonderful, each one of them made me feel very welcome. I also enjoyed the fact that they had a good relationship with the taxi company there who were always prompt to pick me up and drive me around town for business and pleasure.
Breakfast was delicious especially with Bobo's ( I hope I spelled that correctly) pancakes. Dinner was also tasty. Staff went out of their way to get my laundry done,dried and folded before catching my flight. They were great!!
Thank you Five Prince Hotel team for making my getaway a wonderful one. I hope you will visit me in Samoa so that I may return the favor. Vinaka Vaka Levu

Sylvia

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated recommend them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Grounds immaculate gardens lovely
Old building nicely done
Could be romantic and secluded

Service was a shocker waitress in jandals ask us for wine no choice
Food overpriced inedible no one asked why we did not eat our meals when we got bill we could hardly speak we left
No music
Think owners were away
No one at reception waited ages before we found anyone
We had preorder menu day before offered chicken or fish grilled or pan fried that's it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our first impression was good, we were greeted by Helen warmly upon arrival. Our room was ready immediately and we are pleasantly surprised with the temperature and smell of the room, along with the cleanliness. The room also had a cute balcony. The main areas of the B&B are quite nice as well. The breakfast was not included for us. We were informed that the continental breakfast was $20 Fijian, and the Continental & hot food would be $30 Fijian. I think internet is extra too, but we already had a Vodafone WIFI adapter so it wasn't needed and therefore I cannot pass on the cost information. The staff was friendly and the room was great. Even though this isn't a very walkable location to downtown Suva, we would probably still stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Princes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Princes Hotel

Address: 5 Princes Rd | GPO Box 704, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Five Princes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Princes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.