We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Service, and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Hotel Fiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Cross Hotel Fiji to your Saves list
Southern Cross Hotel Fiji
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   63 Gordon St, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Suva B&B and Inns
Luganville, Vanuatu
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Value, Service, and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The furniture and fixtures are getting old, but they are clean and usable. The bed was very good. The room was spacious. We enjoyed the fourth floor balcony and the easy walk to Churches, restaurants, and stores. At $145 FJD, it was good deal for Suva.

The swimming pool and the bar were closed. The Korean restaurant on the sixth floor was open. I am not a big Korean food fan, but the service was excellent and the portions were generous.

We were able to call and make reservations without using a credit card. Then we arrived at Nausori airport at 7:30 on a Sunday morning and gave them another call. They allowed us to check in ahead of time, which enabled us to attend the Church accross the street without taking our luggage with us. When we checked out two days later, they locked our bags away for a couple of hours until we were ready to leave Suva. In between they gave us extra towels, laundry cleaning, called taxis for us, and generally gave us very good, friendly service. We will probably stay there again the next time we are in Suva.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights in a "deluxe" room on the second floor. I was told when booking that only deluxe rooms were available. I did sense though that occupancy of the hotel was low so it may be that ordinary rooms were not considered good enough. At FJ$150 per night the price was very reasonable in comparison with other Suva hotels. The room was of an older colonial style but was thankfully clean and comfortable with air-conditioning and a nice tiled modern bathroom. The hotel is very close to the Suva business centre, Parliament buildings, Fiji Archives and the Anglican cathedral. We found it very convenient. The Korean restaurant on the top floor had good food, especially the tuna, and Scott's restaurant beside the pool had first class food of European cuisine. Neither was cheap but there were nearby food bars. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful and would not hesitate to stay there again. We enjoyed our time there. I felt that the hotel deserved more patronage than it appeared to get -- probably because they didn't seem to advertise much. Perhaps that is why their rates are lower than other Suva hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is within walking distance of the business center of Suva with all its amenities but surprisingly quite. The price is also good, FJD 100 for a room. The room wasn't anything to write home about but then you get what you pay for. The breakfast was in the Korean restaurant on the top floor with excellent views. I also ate at the attached Italian restaurant downstairs and the food was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a business trip to Suva. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. I find accommodation hard to find in Suva that is clean and affordable but I am happy to say that this place is both of those things. I had a standard room for $105 FJD and the room itself was great. Spacious (a Queen bed and a single) and had a large balcony, fridge, writing desk and chair and also a decent sized bathroom. This place also has a small pool (which I dididn't have time to use) and also a bar and a Korean restaurant on the top floor. Also next door was a basic spa place which was good for a relaxing massage. It's also just a short walk to the main part of town but is far enough away to be able to have a quiet nights sleep. I will def stay here again for my next trip to Suva.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Cross Hotel Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Hotel Fiji

Address: 63 Gordon St, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Cross Hotel Fiji 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite harbour views and a Fijian warm welcome at Southern Cross Hotel Suva, just minutes from the city's central sights.An open-plan hotel Lobby at Southern Cross Hotel Suva. All of our bright, modern Guest rooms have high-speed Internet and a balcony. Nausori Airport is 22km away.Southern Cross Hotel Suva is within 5 minutes' walk of major banks, embassies. Well-located for business, 2 flexible meeting rooms, with wireless Internet, 24-hour Business Centre and a backdrop for events.Easily explored on foot. 5-Minute walk to shop for Fijian Traditional handicrafts. Fascinating insight in the botanical Thurston Gardens where you'll find the Fiji Museum, the country's history and historic Government buildings. Waterfalls, rainforest trails are 15 minutes' drive away to Colo-i-Suva.Work out in our Fitness Centre, opposite the hotel. Seoul's restaurant is a laid-back setting for fresh fish while and enjoy an icy-cold beer and listen to music and enjoy Suva's sunsets from the Bar Cloud Restaurant.Information Tour DeskOur Information Tour Desk, friendly Concierge can give you all the info you need for sightseeing. The Southern Cross tour desk where you can book everything from excursions to Colo-i-Suva to boat trips to other Fijian islands, Yasawa Islands, Mamanuca Islands, Taveuni and Shark Dive at Beqa Lagoon and more.Planning a meeting, party, reunion ask our Functions Manager about our good-value business packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Southern Cross Hotel Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Hotel Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.