We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiji time rules OK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedarra Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Bedarra Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedarra Beach Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunset Strip | Korotoga, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Sigatoka
Swindon,UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Fiji time rules OK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Having booked a stop in Fiji on a round the world ticket we didn't like the idea of a large resort. We found Bedarra Beach Inn through tripadvisor and booked it straight away. Arriving there at about 5.30pm having been travelling for 26 hours we were welcomed with a drink and shown to our spacious room. Throughout our time there all the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and reasonably priced and the evening happy hour with the music group a great pleasure. We quickly relaxed into doing very little but did enjoy a local tour one day and snorkelling, using the free hotel equipment another. This was a great little hotel and I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    112
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
109
291
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Every member of the staff went out of their way to greet you with a smile and a "BULA"! They knew our names by the 2nd day.Large,spotless room! Coffee maker,Fridge and microwave. If we needed anything,all we had to do was ask!
Food in the restaurant was WONDERFUL! We ate there every meal! Restaurant overlooked the pool and a great view of the breaking waves and fantastic sunsets!
On New Year's Eve the local villagers entertained us with traditional songs and warrior dances.
The ocean water was clear,great visability for snorkling! The pool was clean and the water did NOT have too much clorine.
I read the last review and don't know what happened with that person.
We absolutely will return and HIGHLY recommend this hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

excellent food
clean rooms
no phone thank heaven
no tv again thank heaven
beautiful grounds
friendly and courteous employees
lots to do at night
just perfect

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Arrived at what appeared a great hotel.

Alas no refrigerator. went to call staff but no phone. Went to reception where attendant would tell 'the boss'. He, it turned out, was sitting at the bar in his permanent spot but ignored us. I approached him and he arranged an esky of ice. Each day thereafter we had to arrange a refill.
We went to watch the news on TV re Queensland floods but no TV, no radio or even clock.
Went to shower next morning and guess what? No hot water. The only time there was hot water was on the fifth morning.
They advertise two restaurants - there is really only one but they change the name of it in the evening.
I ordered the prawn entree - three large prawns on a mix of seafood. It was thee prawns on chopped fruit.
I ordered the lobster mornay in which they forgot to put lobster.
My wife is a competitive swimmer but upon entry to the pool, which looked great, told me it hurt her eyes, tasted and smelt funny. I did not go in.
The staff who were mostly happy, friendly and helpfull went through a sullen spell while we were there which appeared to be management related. During our five days stay management never acknowledged us even while at the same bar.

The enening before we checked out during the AM I was violently ill from dinning at the restaurant and was unwell for several days after.

Bedarra Inn was a huge disappointment, it has such potential but suffers from what appears to be arrogant/unfriendly management.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilFiji, Owner at Bedarra Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Dear hmderksen,

What a horrible stay... I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Bedarra Beach Inn.

I want to point out a couple of things, just to set the record straight, but I certainly can't change the fact that you didn't enjoy yourself.

There is a fridge in every room of the hotel. That's why you got the puzzled look from the receptionist. He was shocked to learn that you didn't have one and decided he'd better check with "the Boss" in case it had been removed for repair and not noted on your room documentation.

He duly came over to the bar (where, yes, 'the Boss' enjoys his happy hour after being in the back office for a typical 10 hour day) and reported what you had said. 'The Boss' then walked around the bar to your group to explain that the fridge in your room is under the free bottled water dispenser. You then complained that it was too small, and so were offered an esky and ice to supplement the apparently inadequate fridge space (which by the way is large enough to hold 4 x 2 liter soda bottles or almost a case of beer cans).

You are correct in noting that we do not have phones, TVs, radios or clocks in our rooms - and we clearly state that on our website. Our guests come to relax and most say it is a pleasure to be free of such items.

It is sad to hear that you went 5 days without hot water without reporting it to us. 2 days after your departure, a guest staying in the same room advised us and the problem was resolved in a couple of hours....

As for the pool comments, I cannot argue with you but simply want you to know that I swim in the same pool with my 2 and 5 year old children every week... and I am very fussy about the quality of the water and condition of the pool.

Let's get to the food complaints: I am looking at a picture of the Lobster Mornay left overs from the meal you say had no Lobster in it. (Yes, when we get a complaint we take it very, very seriously and photograph the left over portion so that it can be discussed at the morning meeting). It looks like you ate every scrap what ever Chef had placed in the lobster shell (which would have been lobster, since we use a whole lobster for this dish). However, since we work on the basis that the Guest is always right, we deducted the lobster from your bill immediately.

Finally I am terribly sorry to hear you got ill on your final evening. I am concerned that you assume it to have been caused by the restaurant food. I have looked in to the meals you ordered that evening and cross checked to see how many other guests had the same selections. Multiple guests ordered the same dishes and no other Guest became ill, so I am wondering if the source of the malaise has been correctly identified.

My response to your review is not intended to shrink from responsibility. You had a bad experience and therefore, we are responsible. I comment simply to put the record straight and keep things in perspective. Things don't go right all the time, no matter how hard we try. But arrogance to or disinterest in the concerns of our guests is not part of this property's style. Quite the reverse...

I hope you'll come back to Fiji and find a hotel that is a better suited to your needs.

Cheers
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The bedarra is a good spot.
Swimming at low tide can be difficult, then better use the pool.
The sunset is great (if any visible :) would be nice to rent some good! bikes to drive to Sigatoka. Couldn’t find any around.
We had some good days here.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

As part of a recent 3 week trip to Fiji we visited this Inn three times .
It's quite obvious we were entranced by the place.
Bedarra inn is well positioned not far from the busy, regional, interesting farm town of Sigagtoka .
The Inn faces a Lagoon and offers beautiful sunsets. Kayaks and snorkelling gear are and may tours are available.
The staff are delightful!
They are interested in their guests and meet their needs with a warm, quiet dignity.
The Restaurant serves affordable and varied gourmet food while each table is personally entertained by a delightful trio singing traditional Fijian songs.
The rooms are bright and comfortable. Each has a private balcony.
The Resort has a pretty beachside park for guests to relax and enjoy lagoon views and water activities.
The resort offers a small, intimate atmosphere and is completely lacking in the pretensions of its bigger competitors.
It's a warm friendly home away from home and we would be only too happy to visit it again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We booked this small hotel on the Intranet after an extensive search of suitabl;e accommodation for our family (a 2yr old boy and two girls aged 11 and 14). We suspected that we had discovered a little gem and we were proved correct. Even before we arived we had a good feeling about it, as the staff went out of their way to accommodate us all in a family room and notified us by e-mail. When we arrived we were made very welcome and offered courtesy drinks before our room was prepared. Throughout our week long stay the staff were very hospitable and everyone made a special fuss of our two year old boy. Nothing was too much trouble; when our youngest stayed asleep and missed dinner food was prepared for him in case he woke up in the early hours hungry - he subsequently did and we were able to feed him so he could go back off to sleep. On the same note all the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. There are lots of sightseeing opportunities within the vicinity and the lagoon oppoosite the Inn is excellent for spotting tropical fish and this was one of the highlights of our stay.

During our last evening a family table was reserved for us in one of the best positions in the restaurant without us having to ask. This is another small point of detail but they make all the difference to the quality of your stay. I would summarise the Beddarra Beach Inn as offering the quality of much more exclusive accommodation at a fraction of the cost. We walked around the nearby Outrigger on the lagoon resort which was good in its own right but it was huge and felt impersonal, we knew we had made the right choice. We can't wait to return and meet all the staff again and see some more of wonderful Fifi - hopefully this will be in 2014.

Thanks for making this part of our holiday so special.

Peter and Julie Barker and family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedarra Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Beach Inn

Address: Sunset Strip | Korotoga, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedarra Beach Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the personalized, intimate & friendly service of a small Inn with the luxurious accommodation, exquisite cuisine and special attention you'd expect from a large international resort costing twice the price. Our goal is to welcome you as guests, care for you as family and remember you as friends. 2 Great restaurants, unique cocktail bar, pool, lagoon beach, all rooms air-conditioned. Near Outrigger on the Lagoon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bedarra Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedarra Beach Hotel Sigatoka
Bedarra Beach Inn Fiji/Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedarra Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.