We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a person, not a room number” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedarra Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bedarra Beach Inn to your Saves list
Bedarra Beach Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunset Strip | Korotoga, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treated like a person, not a room number”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I agree with all the positive comments written here, which is one of the reasons I chose the Bedarra. I was looking for a relatively cheap stay in Fiji without having to share a room or facilities with strangers, so this place seemed like a good middle ground. The staff are truly wonderful and friendly and even seemed quite sincere in their greetings. Everyone in Fiji says Bula, wherever you go, so it can just seem like lip service after a while but at the Bedarra, you would actually get more than just Bula, they knew your name, any special requests you had and would make the effort to talk to you and get to know you - much appreciated when you are a solo traveller.
It is not a resort and does not claim to be, so if you are looking for a day of structured activities and someone to supply all your entertainment, then this isn't the place for you. Go and pay double or triple at a resort and be surrounded by hundreds of people and a crowded pool and regular announcements over the intercom of what the next activity will be. I took a walk to the nearby resort and while at first impressed by its size and gardens, the anonymity of the place and the noise quickly made me realise why I don't have a desire to stay at a resort, I went to Fiji to see Fiji, not to stay in the resort grounds having room service and beauty treatments all day. By the way, you can get room service at the Bedarra if you want, you just need to go and order it from the bar as there are no phones but they will be happy to bring it to your room when ready.
Also the staff at reception were always helpful with any questions you had and didn't try to sell you the most expensive option when looking for transport or places to go. This was a nice change from more expensive hotels I have stayed at.
So if you are looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle, relax, unwind, read a book and get some peace and quiet then this is the place to go.
Vinaka to the staff at the Bedarra.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    129
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
131
324
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed for 5 days and it was the most relaxing time ever. We were looked after very well by the friendly and helpful staff. All the food was excellent. It was just so nice to sit and watch the lagoon/ocean and then stroll the few feet back to the bar and restaurent.
It's small and peacefull nature was just what we wanted, if you want organised games and 100's of people go elsewhere but for personal treatment in the most relaxing of atmospheres go to the Bedarra beach Inn every time.
For the record the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable (we opted for an airconditioned one). Whenever we had a questin it was answered fully and efficiently (even to asking which was the best shop in the adjacent town to buy cheap shoes!)
My wife has quite restricting dietary problems and they went out of their way to make sure they were accomodated. Just the best!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We arrived late Saturday evening & where greeted at reception with a Cool drink all's well you would think. From there it just got worse. The room smelt of mould, turning on the air con. didn't help as it pumped out more bad smells. The towels in the bathroom where washed but still had staines on them. The Beds sank in the centre, there was no telephone, T.V. or radio, the bar fridge was empty with just a jug of ice water sitting on top. The windows where bared with amplimesh which made you feel like it was a prison.
with a little apprehension we went to dinner, ordered a bottle of wine. The waitress came with a broken cork screw opener and was unable to open the bottle...how do I get out of here was my next thought !! actually the meal was reasonable thank god.. Thank goodness we discovered the Outrigger Resort just up the road. One night at the Bedarra Beach Inn was all we could Stand.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilFiji, Managing Director at Bedarra Beach Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear Nuttzz of Melbourne,

We refute your review. We stand by the 100 plus positive reviews we have received both here on TripAdvisor and on our own website.

Our rooms do not smell of mold, our air conditioners do not produce bad smells, our linen is not stained, our beds do not sink in the middle and our windows are not barred.

As you correctly state, we do not have TVs, telephones or radios in our rooms. Our reason for this is simple; we do not believe our guests come all the way to Fiji to watch TV or chat on the phone. In fact, we are constantly complimented for NOT having such facilities.

You stated that your fridge was empty. You are correct. We do not know why this was a major issue worthy of pointing out to the world nor do we understand what you expected to find in your room fridge, which is provided for your convenience.

We do, however, apologize profusely for the broken corkscrew. This was obviously a major traumatic experience for you.

What surprises us the most is that at no time were any of these alleged issues raised with our staff or management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

A really lovely place to stay and relax for a few days. The staff are excellent and will know you by name not long after you arrive. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The meals fantastic and good value. The outlook from the bistro veranda overlooking the lovely pool and gardens to the ocean just across the road is to die for. No traffic noise, except the distant sound of the ocean hitting the off shore reef. What more could you want.
PS. Happy hour down the end of the road at the little pub is worth the 5min walk. Very cheap prices! Just turn left out of the resort to the last place at the end.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

The positives have all been noted in previous reviews and I can only agree with all of them. The Bedarra Beach is outstanding and is excellent value for money. Above all are the staff - a lovely group of friendly, helpful people.
A couple of points to consider:
1. For a solo traveler, the Bedarra Beach is quiet (a blessing) but with no TV or radio in the room, and if you are not interested in sitting in the bar, the nights may prove a little tedious. Really glad I packed my lap-top and a few DVDs to fill in the hour or two before bedtime.
2. It may be worthwhile booking a taxi direct from/to the airport/Bedarra. The coach trip, which of course does the rounds of the other hotels in the area adds approximately an hour to the trip. A little disconcerting when you leave at 0445 to catch an 0900 flight and spend half the trip waiting for people at other hotels.

The district surrounding the hotel is easy to explore, and please don't forget the Eco Park - a 25 minute walk, or $6 taxi ride from the Bedarra. The Eco Park is the only one of it's kind in Fiji and an establishment that all Fijians should be justly proud of. Small and compact, the Park exhibits local flora and fauna, rare and endangered species and also conducts breeding programmes.
A donation of $20 will cover the transportation costs for a school group to visit the park and learn about the conservation of Fijian wildlife.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The title really just sums up the Bedarra Beach Inn. We stayed for 8 Nights at the end of August Begining of September 2009. When we were looking for where to stay in Fiji we didn't have a clue and Trip advisor came up with this place. Well What a fantastic Choice it was.
The rooms were big and clean and the shower was powerful, The pool area and bar were small but ideal for what we wanted which was a week of nothing.
The Staff made the trip though. They were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived. By the end of the Breakfast on the first day everyone knew our names and would stop and say BULA and offer a smile. It really did make the trip.
If i head back to Fiji Bedarra will be first on my list.
If you want 5 star luxury then this is not the place for you, however if you want friendly service, good value for money,excellent food and to feel right at home and relax then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

What can i say i have been to Fiji 6times and my parents have been 25times
we are heading back again in feb.
The managers, owners, staff from Chefs to gardeners, all with their wonderful smiles and bulas.
We are not just guests at this wonderful establishments we feel like part of their fijian family, we are not just a room number like you are at the large resorts , you have a name.
I would stake my life on Bedarra Beach Inn as being the best fijian experience.
The cleaniness of the rooms, the wonder affordable menus.
Our age group was 69yrs ,62, 41, 8, 6 , 4yrs old and everyone of us had the best time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedarra Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Beach Inn

Address: Sunset Strip | Korotoga, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedarra Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the personalized, intimate & friendly service of a small Inn with the luxurious accommodation, exquisite cuisine and special attention you'd expect from a large international resort costing twice the price. Our goal is to welcome you as guests, care for you as family and remember you as friends. 2 Great restaurants, unique cocktail bar, pool, lagoon beach, all rooms air-conditioned. Near Outrigger on the Lagoon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bedarra Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedarra Beach Hotel Sigatoka
Bedarra Beach Inn Fiji/Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedarra Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.