We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money , second to none!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambua Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tambua Sands to your Saves list
Tambua Sands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Highway | PO Box 100, Korolevu, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Value for money , second to none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was a bit worried after reading the reviews from people who have visited and stayed here. We were greeted by friendly staff who made us very welcome every day. As for the food that people complained about, what do you expect for $12-15 AUS avg per meal. The Continental breakfast was inclusive and not too shabby considering it was part of our package.
I'd probably avoid the fish, it was a bit bland, but as far as the burgers and salads , chicken goes, not the largest servings, but who's complaining, given it's a resort and they could really charge a lot more.
The room / beachfront bure is simple, yet totally charming. The fan was sufficient and waking up to the sounds of the ocean with the breeze was beautiful. The water was sooo warm and nice to swim in. Although there are rocks, so choose the location carefully where you can avoid them.

Overall, terrific value for what you pay, find a better location and price anywhere in the world, i doubt you'll get better. We even got 25% off booking for 4 days!

As for all the whingers ,get over yourselves, it's beachfront - peaceful and super value, what do you expect for that price, the Taj Mahal??? Seriously!! ( And no i'm not paid by the resort to write this review!)

Room Tip: Ask before you arrive that you're getting a BEACHFRONT Bure, if that's what you paid for. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear George I,

Sunny greetings from the team at Tambua Sands Resort and we are absolutely thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that guests like you who appreciate the effort that all of our staff put into making your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your outstanding review and for recommending us to other reviewers online. On behalf of the team at Tambua Sands Resort, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back for another wonderful holiday in future.

Tropical Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
41
75
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We decided to stay at Tambua Sands for a night on our way to Suva for business.
This resort is just delightful. The staff were so lovely. The accommodation was great! The food and drinks were tasty.
But best of all we spent the most glorious afternoon floating around in the sea. So peaceful and rejuvenating - a little slice of heaven!
It is roughly half way between Suva & Nadi and if you don't have transport you are best to purchase any extras you may desire before you get there. But it's location is also one of its' benefits. It's away from the hustle & bustle. Just what we needed! Thankyou!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Bula bellbirdy,

A big "BULA" from the Team at Tambua Sands Resort. Thank you for taking your time to provide positive comments on your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you found us to be the peaceful and perfect place to relax and unwind for stopover. Thank you for highlighting our convenient location, accommodation, Food and beverage including your positive comments regarding our dedicated team.

I will definitely share your comments with all our staff and I am sure your feedback will serve as an encouragement to us all, as we strive to continuously improve the qualities of our service to all our guests at the resort. I hope your wonderful experience with us will bring you back for another memorable stay soon.

Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Decided to book this resort for a hens party with the bride to be and 2 other bridesmaid, base on reviews on tripadvisor. I've always trusted reviews on tripadvisor, since it's never disappointed me before, but after staying here I'm not so sure anymore....

This is my first ever review and it's simply because the resort was such a horrible experience, I wouldn't be able to live with myself if I didn't warn others about it!!!!

Our first impression when arriving was actually nice with welcome drinks and smiles, but it was all downhill from there.... Apparently after asking if we could bring drinks back to our room after a long flight and taxi ride was NOT ok, unless we brought the cups back to the bar???? Really???anyways, no biggy, we just left the drinks with them. After being showed to our room I realised that it had not been what I booked and there was only 1 double bed and a single, not the double and 2 singles on my confirmation letter. I immediately questioned the guy who had taken us to the room and his response was for me to walk all the way back to reception, to ask them myself and grab the keys for him if it was the wrong room ..... I was annoyed, but walked to reception anyways, since all we wanted to do was shower after our flight and make it to our dinner reservation. After showing reception my printed confirmation and a new set of keys.... I repeated the journey 4 times.... Because ever room did not have enough bedding and apparently it was too much work for them to get the keys and the guest had to do it!!!!

Finally at the very very very end of the resort we found the room with the correct bedding, but wait , our luck didn't stop here.... The room smelt bad even after opening all windows, toilet and bathroom was disgusting, sheets dirty and dead cockroaches!!! Receptions response... Oh that room probably wasn't used for awhile, that's all....

To be honest after that experience we stayed at the resort only for sleeping and avoided eating, drinking or doing anything there!!!!
We ate at the other resorts and the staff was amazing!!! Even with minimal time spent at the resort, all 4 of us still experienced bad service and it ruined a special occasion for the bride to be.


I could continue to go on, but I don't think anyone would want to read such a long review since what I've mentioned was only the
first day!!! Please avoid at all cost, not worth it at all especially when you're there to get away!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Linandmik,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your recent experience with us.Our sincere apologies that your expectations were not met by our team during your stay with us.
We have noted all your views and constructive comments, but do note that we will address your concerns regarding the rooms and staff. Honestly, our rooms are not new, but they are kept spotlessly clean to a 4 or 5 star standard.

Please be rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent any future occurrences.We appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

we were two familes (4 adults 4 Kids) spend a total of 4nights in tambua sands from new years eve. the resort had a decent new years eve party going when we got there, and we didnt waste time in joining the party!, stayed in two beachfront chalets, rooms have good views, but are quite basic, had to follow up a few times for single beds for the kids, everything & everyone is on island time, though the staff are friendly & trying to help. re transportation, because you are a bit far from town, either use travel desk to hire taxi or wait at the main road for taxi/bus, food & drinks pricing were higher than expected, food is satisfactory, breakfast is included but is very ordinary consisting of papaya,banana,cereal,two pieces of toast each which arrives just when you are about to leave the table!,enough facilities to keep you busy though, such as swimming pool, snorkelling, kayak etc. highly recommend is a day trip to nearby Kula eco park (for kids) and Outrigger resort (for adults & kids), dont forget to pack sunscreen,insect repellant,sun hat & pick up water & provisions from any store on the way from the airport, have a great holiday

Room Tip: if you are not fond of walking ask & follow up for chalets closer to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Bula BMNz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Tambua Sands Resort and we also appreciate your time taken to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. We have noted your constructive comments as we continue to review and improve on the quality of our services for the comfort of all our future guests.

Our sincere apologies on areas that you have highlighted due to the high occupancy experienced during your stay.

Thank you for recommending us to other reviewers and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka Fiji
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed our time at Tambua Sands. Had a very quiet and restful time which was what we needed. Beautiful singing of Carols woke us on Christmas Day and the added bonus of Father Christmas arriving on a horse was fun. Lovely grounds and swimming pool. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have more road noise, still had a view of the sea the beach front ones had uninterrupte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ethelrich,

Bula Vinaka from the team at Tambua Sands Resort. We would like to thank you for taking your time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable Christmas with us and we also appreciate your remarkable and positive feedback regarding the staff and our resort.

Thank you for recommending our resort to other reviewers and we look forward to welcome you again on your next Christmas holiday.

Tropical Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed at Tambua Sands twice -- most recently in September -- and both times found it to be a perfect getaway from the crowds that make large resorts feel like cruise ships. If falling asleep on remarkably comfortable beds to the sounds of waves crashing on the reef and waking to a Coral Coast sunrise sounds good to you, then Tambua Sands is for you. The pool is kept immaculately clean, the staff are locals who love their jobs, and the rooms are plush and cozy. The restaurant remains underutilised, especially in the mornings, when sometimes it would be nice to be able to order more than complimentary toast, fruit and cereal. I agree with other reviewers -- the best way to enjoy Tambua Sands is to have a car, as it's a wonderful place to return to after exploring Viti Levu.

Room Tip: Bures along the beach are extraordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Bula Joe W,

Sunny greetings from Tambua Sands Resort and thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for recommending us to other reviewers online.

I look forward to welcome you again at the resort soon.

Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights in october 2013. Very comfortable cabin. Pretty beach. Restaurant ok. No other food services near unless you have a car. Breakfast included. The price of accomodations were quite reasonable. For some reason cheaper through booking agent than when reserve direct. I would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Bula Ken T,

Sunny greetings from Tambua Sands Resort. I am delighted to hear that you have spent an enjoyable holiday with us.

Thank you for recommending us to other reviewers and I look forward to your next holiday with us.

Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tambua Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambua Sands

Address: Queen's Highway | PO Box 100, Korolevu, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambua Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 17 pristine acres on the breathtaking Coral Coast of Fiji, Tambua Sands Beach Resort is a South Pacific escape for the soul. Bathe in the warm South Pacific waters, relax on a white sand beach, and articlee in to our blue lagoon and fresh water pool. Discover a romantic vacation getaway, where you are free to relax, indulge, play, eat, celebrate and fall in love at our spectacular Fiji luxury resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Tambua Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambua Sands Sigatoka
Tambua Sands Hotel Sigatoka
Tambua Sands Fiji/Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambua Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.