We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mango Bay Is A Must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Bay Resort to your Saves list
Mango Bay Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Namatakula Tadrawai | Coral Coast Fiji Islands, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mango Bay Is A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My first overseas trip and first time to Fiji couldn't have been better, The staff went out of their way to make us welcome and we found everyone really nice and helpful. There were a couple of communication break downs but that's part n parcel of travelling OS.

Stay in the Bure for sure if your a couple. Excellent snorkeling right out the front with the wave breaks way back so the surfers can enjoy themselves and so can the swimmers and snorkels without intruding on each other.

Lovely secluded spot and the resort food was excellent when we stayed there. You must try the Kokoda and Ika Vakalolo especially if you want something authentically Fijian. There's also plenty of other more western items available too. Everything is in FJD and excellently priced.

Loads of activities or doing nothing, it's up to you. Don't be afraid to ask about anything and the staff will see what they can arrange. On site dive facilities and the massage bure is a must with excellent prices.

Over all a little fridge would be a nice addition with tea and coffee facilities in room. Not really for families but families are welcome. More suited to couples, friends getting away and families with older kids.

It's always on our Itinerary for Fiji from now on. A must!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    100
    40
    21
    15
See reviews for
11
145
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A gorgeous Bure with nothing between it and the beach. An idyllic location on a beautiful beach flanked by a village on either side. The staff were mostly wonderful and when they were not it was kind of amusing, the food was pretty good, but if you ordered fish of the day and didn't mind about a few items on the menu not available every day, it was fabulous.
There were daily free activities if you wanted to take part in, or not, like beach or pool volleyball, jewelry making, crab racing, kayaking, snorkeling, and there were commercial tours also available from Mango Bay to other islands, waterfalls by foot or horseback or scuba diving.
Not an ideal location for families unless your children are older teenagers or young adults. It is however fantastic for couples in the Beach Bures, or small groups of friends in the Safari Huts which sleep 3, or the bunk room dorms for backpackers.
The staff and local people were generous with their welcome and their homes,thank you for the glimpse into Fijian life, and if I ever go back to Fiji I would not stay anywhere else.
The absolute best part of the trip was snorkelling through the coral which looked lighted with ultra violet, swimming alongside shoals of jewel bright fish and swimming over giant clams, who knew how colorful they were? That wonderful morning was enough to save me from too much disappointment when conditions were not possible for a discovery scuba dive on my penultimate day. Maybe I'll go back for the scuba dive next year.
A note to Mango Bay, I missed my cups of tea while I was away from home, a small fridge in the room for milk and a kettle would be my wish, it also wouldn't hurt for you to replace the plastic sleeves on the menu, they must be 7 years old.
As for the water stopping one afternoon for a few hours, and for one night of cold showers it didn't spoil my stay, I found it all part of the rustic charm.
Thanks Mango Bay, it was great.

Room Tip: Do not choose Bure 6 or 5 they are too close to the Resteraunt, which by night is a hopping bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days, in the dorm accommodation. The accommodation itself was pretty good with both single and bunk beds available (We were given single beds - i think it was just luck as to where you were placed).The rooms were clean, with mosquito nets although be prepared for snorers - I have never slept so appallingly as when i was staying here (*nothing to do with the resort, just the luck of the guests i guess).
Most of the staff were appalling - the receptionists had no idea what they were doing and were always rude, and the waitresses were even worse. The activity staff were the only exception, always friendly and willing to help out whenever you need it.
The food was brilliant to begin with, with a range of western food from fish & chips to pancakes and a good buffet breakfast, but as the days went on gradually the food began to run out and it wasn't long until there was no fish, no vegetables/salad and no pineapple - which rather limits the menu somewhat. It is very secluded and this is therefore the only place to eat so be prepared!
The beach is really nice - very clean and with a number of hammock chairs to sit in to relax, the only problem is that the sea is surrounded by rocks, so the deepest you can get to is about waist height and then you can't go any further - which limits the snorkelling.
I would say the activities were excellent - with a wide range covered including basket weaving, pineapple smashing (when there are pineapples available of course) and my favourite - coconut lollies. They kept you occupied all day, and there were free snorkels and kayaks/canoes to hire if you were still bored.
Overall i would not return, mainly because the staff were so rude!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent a week here and had an amazing relaxing time - we stayed in a beach bure which was so cool, a traditional style hut with an outdoor shower. Location of the resort is awesome, the food was delicious (always go for the fish of the day, and make sure you try kasava wedges!), optional activities were held throughout every day and there was plenty of chill out time! Great value for money too and the staff were all lovely. Would defintely return for a cheap and amazing holiday in Fiji! :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money, amazing staff an facilities (for what you pay), plenty of things to do inside an outside the resort an the food was delicious and nutritious. Felt more like a Fijian village than a resort. Really enjoyed our stay there and would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wow...what can I say??? We had an amazing time. My husband has travelled all over the world, but Mango Bay was my first international stay and we loved it. The people were wonderful...a special thanks to Onni and Wyce for making our time so special.
The whole team went out of their way to make our experience wonderful from shopping in Sigatoka to Pineapple Smashing and local School visits, the trip was wonderful.
The rooms are basic, but clean and all your needs are met. If you are expecting a five star resort with fridges and air con, then stay elsewhere, but if you are looking to experience Fiji (Western style), then do not go past this place. It takes around 2.5 hours to get to Mango Bay from Nadi and once you are there, everything requires travel time. If you want an experience, take the local shuttle bus to one of the local towns. Be careful in Sigatoka...they see foreigners coming and will separate couples to con you into buying stuff that you wouldn't normally take a second look at.
I would strongly suggest doing the Jewel of Fiji tour......it is sensational! You go to a villiage and can buy loads of neat items that easily make it through Aussie customs. You will also get to see and swim in a waterfall.
The Robinson Crusoe Tour is also excellent. The people are wonderful and the turtle is amazing.
Mango Bay suggested these tours and they were spot on with their reccommendations.
The only drawback with staying at Mango Bay is the food. It is nice, but there is no-where else to go. My suggestion to Aussies is to take Vegemite and stay away from the buffet. The fish on the menu is very nice, but be prepared for all meals to be served with noodles or rice. I found out on the last night that they did steamed vegies...you may laugh now, but I guarantee by day 5 you'll be hanging for them.
This is not a place for families as there are loud backpackers that frequent Mango Bay (mostly Aussies and Americans), but it is perfect for a couple of any age.
The weather was very cool while we were there. If you are going in Winter, pack a varied wardrobe with some pants and jumpers.
There is no fitness centre (hence my score of terrible). There is also no room service, but if your room needs anything then the staff at Mango Bay will assist you quickly (fiji time lol)
Our stay was amazing. It was exactly what we wanted and expected. Thank you Mango Bay for providing excellent service and an amazing international experience.

Room Tip: We had the Safari room which had an indoor shower, but those who had an outdoor shower actually comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our accomodation at Mango Bay came as part of a package and after reading some reviews was quite weary. I emailed reception at the resort prior to our arrival with a couple of requests, one being a Bure away from the bar area due to reports of noise. The response was quick and the requests granted and we we off to a good start.
We arrived in Fiji the day before Nadi was flooded and cyclone Daphne was forming and our driver from the resort pointed out areas which had previously been flooded just weeks before. After checking in we were shown our Bure, It was clean functional, private and dry. Just a word of warning, there are no mini bar fridges or tv's in the Bures, there is a queen size bed, chairs, ceiling fan, clean toilet and shower(roofless).
Our first full day at Mango Bay was spent in our Bure all day due to the rain. We simply shrugged and accepted the hand we had been dealt and read or slept the day away. very relaxing without any outside distractions. Over the next three days there wasn't much sunshine, when the rain did ease up we manged to explore the beach and got to spend half a day snorkling exploring the beautiful coral reefs adjacent to the resort.
Food and Beverage
Our package included continental breakfast and by day five this had become very boring. Toast jam cornflakes ricebubbles and fresh pineapple tea & coffee. We couldn't believe we were in fiji and couldn't get a banana and when another guest brought out a jar of vegemite there was almost a stampede. Other meals we had were simple tasty and of a good portion size, read pub style meals (Not gastro pub style). Drinks were a bit of a mystery, the first night my partner requested a Mango Bay Breeze and she loved it tropical mango pineapple midori and vodka, layered green yellow orange. for the rest of the stay we were never able to get the same drink all though we ordered it. most times same barman too. We had blue ones with the addition of blue curacao all green ones all orange and they never tasted the same. Initially we laughed and in the end it probably saved us a lot of money and hangovers.
The staff at the resort were happy and polite and given that most were probably worried about family and friends did an excellent job. I always try to remember they are not accountable for the weather nor the attitude and behaviours of other guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Namatakula Tadrawai | Coral Coast Fiji Islands, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Sigatoka
Mango Bay Sigatoka
Mango Bay Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.