We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on the Coral Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Sigatoka
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“The best on the Coral Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have just left the Hideaway resort for another and the kids are still sad ( 11,16,18) they met the most beautiful staff and great friends that they'll never forget....that's the great thing about the Hideaway, it's not huge like others on the Coral Coast so staff get to know you.
The beach is one of the best I've been to on the Coral Coast, absolutely stunning when looking out onto it, beautiful crystal clear warm waters that you could lay in all day.
Our two bedroom bure was of decent size and thoroughly cleaned everyday by the lovely housekeepers, the main bed was very comfortable so comfortable we were waking at 9am.
Food was nice, I did notice sizing could be on the small size if you've got a big eater in the family however I enjoyed the pizzas from the Mongolian BBQ restaurant. Breakfast had a huge selection of hot buffet food and cold selections with an egg station ( egg chef is good for entertainment).
Hire a car if possible and explore around you, we went to different restaurants at night, Eco cafe toward the Warwick resort and back near the Outrigger along the "sunset strip" are a handful of little beachside restaurants, we went on the waterfall tour (excellent) which was way way cheaper going to yourself and paying the village direct, the Sleeping Giant beautiful gardens, Denarua which is so so, don't know why anyone would want to spend longer then a night here though, it was very hot compared to the Coral Coast, no breezes...
It's not a matter of if we'll be back but when as the kids have got me looking for another stay for later this year !!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    260
    86
    25
    19
See reviews for
272
332
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We did not know what to expect as we had never been to Figi before and the choices of resorts are great. We were happily surprised by this lovely resort. The fact that it is owned and managed by the Fijian Teachers Union made it sweeter. The staff: Uni, Male, Emma, Waqu, Wazil, Fayez, Kini, Kula, Sweeney, Jules, Semi....(I know I left so many out!) were a blessing to us! We did a walking tour to the neighboring village of Tagaqa...don't miss that! The people were so welcoming and happy to answer questions about their village life...also, that's where to get your souvenirs and meet the folks that make them! About our accomodations...we have traveled much and felt pampered at the Hideaway. We chose a beachfront bure. Flowers throughout the bure greeted us. We were steps away from the most beautiful, thrilling yet peaceful snorkling we've ever experienced. My husband and I floated around till our masks hurt! And the water was warm! Every morning after breakfast, tide permitting, we snorkeled. The Coral coast is rimmed by a coral ridge so the snorkeling is in a wave free lagoon. For the timid...you can simply put on goggles, walk around poking your face into the water and gaze! The water was only 2-5 feet deep so no need for flippers...or water socks since the ocean floor around the coral is soft. We were looking for: easy access to snorkeling in "safe" waters (I am scared of big fish!!!), a non commercial-like resort, a peaceful setting for a much needed rest, yummy food, Fijians we could get to know and a taste of Fijian life via village access. We experienced all that and more. Fiji is a long way from NY...but if we are ever able to visit again...we will stay at the Hideaway. Our dream would be to bring our whole family, grandkids and all. No one would be bored due to the awesome snorkeling, fun staff, pool activities, entertaining cooking classes with Fayez, beautiful sunsets, fun evening shows....all sorts of adventures you can book from the resort, etc. Anyways...we loved every minute...and felt it was easy on the wallet compared to other places on the globe we've been blessed to visit! God continue to bless the staff at Hideaway!

Room Tip: Beach front or view was awesome...we loved sitting on our porch looking at the ocean...but the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner and I wanted to keep costs down this trip and were recommended Fiji Hideaway by our travel agent, we were very disappointed. We had a frangipani bure which had seen better days, the bed and pillows were very old and uncomfortable, the bathroom was run down and showed signs of cheap fixes throughout, the in-room safe wasn't bolted down. The only nice point was the outdoor shower although even this required refurbishment. The resort gardens were nice and well maintained. The resort features only one bar which was a little tacky and gets very busy during peak times, which equates to long waits for highly overpriced drinks. The two restaurants charge western prices and serve very average quality meals, one of which I contracted food poisoning from. In the waterfront restaurant there is a mismatch of tables and chairs and the main restaurants nightly entertainment is comical at best. There is one small pool which is run down, missing tiles, faded paint and has a build up of grime around the pools edge. The indigenous Fijian staff are nice and try hard. The resort is a long way from other resorts and many attractions. The on site store is very expensive, I recommend travelling into town to purchase supplies (water, snacks, alcohol). The resort may of once been nice but the lack of maintenance has seen it decline to a very average standard. Do yourself a favour spend a little extra and go to a larger resort with more facilities and activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in 2004 and I am currently looking at going back for our 10th anniversary. It is so iddlic. The people who work there are very friendly and the food was amazing.

Our room was the ocean view bure and it was very clean and spacious. We had our 18mth old with us as well and they babysat for us for $3/night. So cheap!

We spent a lot of time at the bar and in the pool as well as hiring a car and visiting the surrounding areas.

I would highly recommend this resort. Don't even bother looking any where else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaroo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights at the Hideaway on a Scoupon deal and thoroughly enjoyed it. The welcome at the resort was pleasant and check in was smooth and fast. Staff are very welcoming and obliging, although some restaurant staff need to smile a little more. Having said that, the majority of the staff were very pleasant, but it takes a while to get used to Fiji Time. Thought they had forgotten our drinks, but eventually they turned up. Breakfasts were superb and plenty of choices from fruit, cereal, pasteries and hot food of course. Have to agree with some of the other comments about the bed linen, we own and operate our own property in South Australia and the condition of the bed linen including stains and marks was poor. It would have been nice to have had a TV, even just a small one so as to keep up with world evens, news etc. Water activities were free of charge and included kiacks, paddle boards and snorkelling equipment, half hour limit per day could be extended to and hour though. The bathroom in our bure could have done with some maintenance and a thorough clean of built up soap scum, bu the day to day servicing was appreciated and thorough. All in all a pleasant stay and we would return, you can do as much or a little as you like and everyone seems to be having a good time and why not, your on holiday.

Room Tip: All Bure's seem to be very spacious and besides no TV have all the other usual amenities. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Fantastic resort in the perfect location. Great facilities, friendly staff.

I would recommend this resort, its not too touristy, stuffy, or overpriced.

Rooms were more than adequate. Very clean, facilities well maintained and you can drink the tap water without fear of getting ill.

Nightly entertainment was fun but very cheesy.

The only two things that let this place down were staff training - depending on who you talked to depended on what answer you got. There was no consistency. This was very evident if you attempt to try the scheduled activities mentioned on the wall at the activities hut. In our stay almost all of these didnt take place and when you asked what was happening you got varied answers from staff who had no idea.

The food was very good, buffet breakfasts and restaurant quality lunches and dinners. My only criticism was that they were overpriced for the portions received and not good value in some cases. Over $40fjd for a 4cm square piece of mahimahi was a bit of a ripoff.

Overall though this place is pretty cool and quirky. Fiji time definitely applies so dont be in a hurry. I would recommend hiring a rental car as the resort is a large distance from the main centres 80-120kms

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear MPG-NZ,
Greetings from the Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa. On behalf of the team here, I would like to thank you for choosing Fiji Hideaway Resort and Spa as your holiday destination and we are so delighted to read your feed back and also thank you for sharing your experience with other reviewers. For what you have highlighted which had let this place down, we do apologise if we have misled and confuse you for all the different answers and also we have failed to provide all the mentioned activities . MPG-NZ, thankyou for highlighting these issues which we have taken them on board and did looked into it and get it sorted. Once again thank you for your time in writing this review and we cannot wait to welcome you back to your Fijian Home.
Kind Regards,
Joana - Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I'm a local fijian and this was my return trip to the place. My stay was overall good accept for the fact that I had booked for two rooms. One was for my 75 year old mother. However our rooms were placed far apart although I had requested for neighboring rooms.

On the bright side the poolside is awesome with spa and water slide. Food is expensive but luckily kids eat free and they have a fast food bar. Do take your supply v water as the tap water is slightly salty and buying water at the resort would be expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.