We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great place 8 out of 10” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 and Save
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great price, great place 8 out of 10”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is my first trip to Fiji and I went with friends. I would definately come back with family again next time.
The Good - Reasonably priced. Single bugalows which are serviced daily. An itenary of activities is posted to your room daily so you know what is on. Friendly staff who always took the time to say Bulla. Loved the interactive games during happy hour and it would be great to have these more often or to go longer, to really let the guests interact. It was great fun.
The Bad - Time to update. The rooms are tidy but a bit of paint, clean bath tiles and new pillows in the room would do wonders. I think there needs to be a bit more variety on the menu. After 6 days, it seemed to be a lot of the same things over and over.
Recommendation - This hotel seems to be targeted at the families with kids 5 - 10 for the kids club activities and older couples who are happy to sit by the pool. For friends looking to have a great time, filled with activities and interatction and great food - this isn't the place for you. There is a Managers Cocktail party but I query if they really listen. From the very few instances the staff are allowed to say more then 'Bulla' it seems alot of the staff are leaving also, which is a pretty good indicator of what they think of the change of ownership.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    286
    102
    25
    21
See reviews for
310
369
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is my second time visiting Hideaway, and have to say that I enjoyed myself much better when it was a Rydges. There was more interaction with the staff, and that is why my friends and I decided to stay again this time around looking forward to the excellent staff. I was a bit disappointed this time around because we didnt have that sort of atmosphere!! It is not the Fijian way. I think the hotel will die if it stays the way that it does. Bring back the excelllent interaction with the staff. But overall We had a great time. I recommend this Hotel for Families or Older Couples. If you want the true Fijian friendliness, I would suggest somewhere else because I dont think it will be changing any time soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have been travelling to the Hideaway each year since 2002 and can not speakly highly enough of every facet of this resort. We love that there is no television in the room and have always found them to be clean and very comfortable. Having been so many times, we now really treat ourselves and stay in the Beachfront Villa which is absolutely fantastic. The food is sensational and the cost is minimal for the quality and quantity. The staff are really the main reason we keep coming back and in fact we are now in contact via Facebook with some of them. Who cares that it can take time to get a meal, you are on holidays and on "Fiji Time". The most relaxing place on earth for us and we will make many, many return visits.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We have stayed a total of 3 weeks over 2 trips to Fiji,mainly Pacific Harbour and Coral Coast. We love the staff who always attend to our every need" or should" I say "want"...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The good -- good snorkelling when the tide was in for a few hours each day but too shallow to swim in the bay for the remainder of the day.
Gardens were well maintained and very pretty.
Various birds toads and lizards to watch.
Staff very friendly especially Eleanoa in the restaurant every day!!
The bad ---
Basic accommodation and food and drinks expensive and poor quality.
Road to hotel 1.30hr away and v isolated. But we already knew this.
Driving very poor and saw quite bad accident outside hotel on last day due to fast driving on wet roads.
Entertainment a bit like Butlins in the 1970's on a bad day.
Staff although friendly and smiling didnt seem to have a clue what they were supposed to be doing. This was highlighted on a number of occasions thoughout our stay, for instance, when asking about the meal plan as we were room only we were informed - all food including a la carte and all local drinks were included. After paying for the meal plan on our first day $140 PPPN, )$1120 for 4 nights we were then told that a la carte was not included neither were the local coctails. On paying our bill at the end of the holiday we noticed a charge for local beer which should have been included, we were told that because we had actually had the beer in the bottle and not poured into a glass you get charged 50% of the full cost!

Breakfast was buffet but lunch /dinner served. Some of the food was ok but the chef definitely needs to go on a course. One of the meals was half a pinapple under a piece of chicken with a side salad, in fact you got a side salad with everything even on hot plates. On average it took around 2 hours from start to finish each lunch and evening meal, that wasnt including the times when they forgot to bring your food out. We sat for 45minutes on more than one occasion before the same girl brought us the menu to take our order only to tell her that She was the one who had taken our order in the first place. Just as an example a starter of 2 prawns on lettuce leaves was $14 (fiji) About £5.50.
On arrival we were shown to our room - very basic and in need of refurbing. We never said anything but within seconds as if by magic the phone rang and we were offered a new refurbished bure. We were taken to look at it and decided to take it - $795 extra for the 5 nights. Maybe im being cynical but we saw a number of other guests being shown the same, do they show you the really grotty room first then you see the nice new shiny room with good views, well what are you going to do, have the crappy room when you've seen something better! no matter the cost. Good selling !!!
The thing that really wound us up on our last day when checking out was sorting the bill, which took nearly 1.30hrs stood in reception seeing 4 different people all over a charge of 3% to use a debit card.The sign on reception clearly stated the charge was for credit cards yet we had to discuss this over and over to be told that the machine took it automatically. We ended up seeing the manager an Australian called John who casually confirmed that the machine did take it automatically as it didnt register the difference between credit and debit. We saw the swipe machine and you physically typed in the amount that was required it didnt take it automatically. He finally agreed that he would get the 3% taken off. Another English couple leaving that day informed us that they had been charged 3% on a debit card.
Shop more expensive than on the isolated islands that we visited.
Sun loungers outside rooms very few and painted over rust., yet plenty of nice wooden ones around the noisy pool area.
Told to turn up for courtesy room only to find out on last day it needed to be booked for specific time in half hour slots as only one room.

We are very well travelled and used to staying in accomodation of 3* quality such as Maldives / Caribbean / India but this for the money was very poor value and we wouldl not go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Good value but the hotel is a bit run down and a dash of paint wouldnt go astray.
The food is good value and we ate there most days. It is a bit far away from anything
and you have to either get a taxi or the local bus (great way to travel) to reach most
other places. No shops near by.

The rooms are very close to the water so a great location if you want some peace and quiet and enjoy sitting on your verandah close to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The day we arrived at The Hideaway we were greated with happy faces and smiles, we were then taken to our Frangipane Bure and was given our tour of the bure which was roomy and cozy.
The room had everything we needed, and we liked the outdoor shower which was a nice and different touch. We were only 30ft from the private beach, and it was always quiet which made it private and peaceful. It was great when the tide was up in the morning and evenings and it made for great adventure during the day to look at the wonderfull sea life and corals, just make sure you bring reef shoes, but the boutique sells them just incase. The food was great, we mainly just ate from the lunch menu and every meal we ate we were never dissapointed. The bar was nice overlooking the pool and you could sit out on the beach to enjoy your AWESOME Mars Bar Cocktails. We stayed here for just over a week and the only fault we had was with the phone in the room not working, we did ask a few times to get it fixed, but was not tended too, but we didnt mind cause we werent using it anyway. The staff were great and we enjoyed having chats about rugby and laughs and getting to know them on a personal level. The day we left i had a tear in my eye cause i didnt want to leave and leave all the great staff, but hopefully on my next trip to Fiji i'll definetly be staying at The Hideaway Resort! PS i stayed at a 4.5 star resort for 4 days after Hideaway and it didnt have the charm or the friendliness like The Hideaway did. Vinaka!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.