We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BULA!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji to your Saves list
Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 173, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BULA!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

If you just wanna kick back & relax its perfect & yes everything does run on fiji time so dont be [--] off if your drink doesn't arrive within 30 seconds. Great pool etc not much of a beach though but there's plenty of trips. We went to mala mala, the snorkeling was out of this world. Walk down to the beach turn right 100 m there's a cheaper bar & taxis, a trip into town is well worth a visit. The market is amazing lots of bartering, indians left over from the cane cutting days hope you enjoy as much as we did BULA OLA!!!!

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    454
    170
    50
    29
See reviews for
969
596
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the outrgger for a week in May, we found the resort facilites pool and activiteis were great. The food is not cheap but not really all that unreasonable (I challenge anyone to find cheap good quality resort food anywhwere) as are the drinks. The accommodation on the other hand was no where near five star I wouldn't even rate it four star. The beds are just about the most uncomfortable beds I've slept in and woke up with sore back and neck everyday. We also stayed at the Sheraton Denarau Villas for a week and it's certainly worth every extra penny. The facilities and food were all clearly more impressive not to mention the accommodation. All in all we still enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger but I don't think I could return after experiencing Denarau Island.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

My husband and I travelled to Fiji from May 20, 2006 through June1, 2006. We stayed at The Outrigger on the Lagoon near Sigatoka for the first three nights of our vacation. When we arrived, we were impressed with the lobby of the hotel. It is wide open, airy, and situated on a hill, so that the veiw from the lobby itself is a breathtaking panorama of the whole hotel grounds. The pool appears to be the best in Nadi, but it was quite a trek from our room. The long walk was made easier, as it was covered by a thatched corridor surrounded by tropical plants, and streams stocked with fish and lilypads. Our room had a patio that looked out to the more pricey bures. The room itself was quite nice, clean, and had a large bathroom with tub & shower. We didnt eat at the hotel very much, as we dicovered another small hotel called Baderra a five minute walk away from the Outrigger. The food was cheap, fantastic, and served with a gourmet presentation. Also note- there is a place called Le Cafe an even closer 2 minute walk away that serves the popular Fiji Bitter Beer for FJ$2.00 per bottle!(The Outrigger charges FJ$6.00) Unfortunately, neither Baderrra, nor Le Cafe had any sucess at making breakfast. Better to stick with the Outrigger which has a very nice buffet. Cab ride into Sigatoka for shopping is only FJ$4.00. In all, we were very happy with the Outrigger, and after seeing the other choices in the area (Shanghi, etc), e were glad we chose the Outrigger for our Fiji experience prior to continuing on to Malolo Island

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki, NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

I stayed at the Outrigger for 5 nights with my 2 teenage children in May . On arrival we found they had mistaken my daughter for my wife and allocated only two beds to the room. They then charged me $27 a night extra for a foldaway bed in cramped conditions. Because the rooms have limited coffee tea making facilities and outside the resort the options are limited, they have a captive market in the dining stakes. As a result the meals and drinks are expensive. $31 for full breakfast, $50 for evening buffet and $8 for orange juice. The prices in the resort store are pretty heady too. We limited ourselves to breakfast and dinner and snacked for lunch.We had an excellent day trip to Malomalo Island for snorkelling @ $85 per person for full day. Resort grounds and facilities are excellent. Abundanance of palm trees and beautiful pool. A last day tour of other resorts in the area backed this up. Beach only suitable for swimming at high tide but still a nice place to escape the crowd around the pool. Being one and a half hours drive from Nadi the Coral Coast can be a bit isolated for day trips based out of Nadi. Fijian hosts at the resort were very friendly and helpfull especially when my son required medical treatment for a stubbed toe on Malomalo Is. Overall impression : Fiji inside the resort is paradise. Outside the resort it approaches third world standards away from the cities. Fijian people are lovely and its a pity they dont receive more than the average $2 per hour from the resort profits.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

When you travel to somewhere that you haven't been before you should research it first.
Research the TIME OF YEAR that you take your trip. It makes a BIG difference. You don't get those cheap packages for nothing you know.
Check out the type of beach, what's around outside the resort etc. For example at the Outrigger you're staying on the edge of a Coral Reef - don't expect waves and home like beaches. Research the cost of food etc before you go - if it's a bit above your budget, get out of the resort, walk around and find the local store.
For the Outrigger, the local store is 200 metres from the Resort. Go down to the beach, turn right - walk and keep your eyes open. 2 restaurants right there as well as the local store. Cocktails for FIjian $5. How cheap is that?
500-800 meters further on are other restaurants in smaller hotels. Great food and entertainment too. Or catch a bus/taxi to Sigatoka. As far as friendliness goes, some people will get what they give. We got nothing but friendliness everywhere. Including from other guests - we passed handy information on to the friendly fellow guests that we met, just as it was passed to us when we met people, but of course no-one speaks to the gloomy, glary, whinging guests at all.
You don't like that style of pizza or this type of cocktail, well someone else will. It's all subjective isn't it?
Then consider too, how many other places 5 star or not have each of us stayed in around the world - that provide the person reading the review with a gauge of what the person writing the review is like? Are they like me? Or not.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down Under
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a week at the outrigger.

Overall the experience was good, however for a "5 STAR" resort, some things we not up to scratch.

Rooms:
Overall Excellent
We had a Bure (our own fiji style hut).Large in size, excellent fitings, very clean.

Pool:
Excellent
suitable for kids as well

Gardens and Surrounds:
Beautiful, Fantastic

Beach:
Poor, a bit of sand.
Not good for swimming.

Food:
Quality Excellent
With 4 resteraunts there is lots of variety.
Price is very high
(approx $30 plus for a main meal)
We had the voucher package, this saved us a heap The portions are big enough so with lunches by the pool you could just share 1 between 2.


Drinks:
Expensive
$6.50 for a local beer
$9.00 for an imported beer
$15.00 cocktail
$7.00 local spirits
$12.00 imported spirits
Ice is delivered to the rooms , and the fridge wil fit a few drinks, so we bought our own spirits from duty free and did it that way.

Activities:
Things going on all day but fairly mundane.

Staff:
Average
Most were friendly, however not the cheer and service i would expect from "5 STAR"

Extras: Most extras were very expensive.
The spa was very expensive.
Over $100.00 per hour for a basic massage.


Gripes:
Service
Could be very very slow.
If you ordered a bucket at all it may take between 5 minutes and 5 hrs.

Price of Extras
Had they been reasonably priced, we would have used them a lot more, the same goes with the drinks.

Comments:
Appeared to be good for kids.
Bad for party animals / the disco type.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from 8 nights/ 9 days at the Outrigger and loved it. The resort and gardens are gorgeous. There are heaps of activities on e.g. volleyball, competitions, village trips and although the beach isn't like Aussie beaches - the snorkelling is great. The pool is lovely and as we stayed in a bure the room was great. Food was a little expensive but we bought a half week voucher and then bought the rest of our food from the supermarket at Sigatoka. Food was really nice though. However the best thing about the Outrigger is definately the service. The staff are overwelmingly friendly and helpful. As we stayed in a bure we had a butler service that treated us like royality. The Outrigger is definately a fantastic resort for people who are willing to get involved with all the activities and meet new people.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 173, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.