We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger with no swimmable beach, over commercialised and caters predominantly for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji to your Saves list
Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 173, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outrigger with no swimmable beach, over commercialised and caters predominantly for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We chose Fiji for our honeymoon and split our holiday between Tokoriki (island) and Outrigger, predominantly based on recommendations from our travel agent and internet reviews. After having spent 6 glorious days on Tokoriki; a small exclusive feel resort (minus the price tag) we then stayed at the outrigger to discover the mainland. Whilst this is an excellent base to discover the mainland; sand dunes, Sigatoka town, villages and picked up some local souvenirs, our stay at the outrigger was very disappointing. The 2 best features of the resort were the IVI restaurant and the Bebe Spa. The beach is not at all swimmable and with only 1 pool filled with toddlers, this is not the ideal "honeymooners" resort. We thankfully stayed in a plantation bure which was well tucked away, nonetheless, we could still hear the kids from the daycare centre who seemed to be having a ball! The daily butler service was excellent but felt obliged to tip. The service here was nowehere near as friendly and warm as our stay on Tokiriki and would only recommend this place for families. The outrigger rate themselves as a 5 star resort but have a long way to go to meet other 5 star resorts; the place is screaming for refurbishment and overall felt like this was the destination for families on a "buffet" budget getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Congratulations again on your recent wedding!
Vinaka for your positive comments on Ivi Restaurant and Bebe Spa.
Tokoriki is a beautiful, quiet, couples only bure island resort. However comparing the two is pointless as they are vastly different products, in fact they compliment each other offering two different Fiji holiday experiences.
Re your refurbishment comment, please be more specific as our resort has just completed a major refurbishment see previous reviews on room décor.
Also your family on a buffet budget comment didn’t make sense, as families in fact do pay good money like yourselves.
Your Travel Agent was right to recommend Outrigger but perhaps not to you.
Thank you for your feedback and we will work towards improving all guest experiences.

Vinaka
Darren Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    486
    181
    53
    30
See reviews for
1,025
630
25
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Loved the Outrigger - an excellent choice thanks to Tripadvisor! We stayed, as recommended, in the Ocean wing which was close to all the amenities and had a great view of the ocean. Meals were especially good in the buffet style restaurant. We also enjoyed "high tea" in the spa bar area - overlooking the coast - on one wet afternoon.Lovely! The snorkelling from the beach was ourstanding - lots of fish, coral and blue starfish. Go to the right hand side out near the red/white post for best area (or ask one of staff as I did!) Staff were all very friendly. Loved the talai butler which we "upgraded " to - including champagne & canapes each evening. (Saved us buying some alcohol every evening - which was not cheap) Spa was unbelievable - I got money off as part of our upgrade.
Also enjoyed the firewalkking show - DO go if you are there on a Tuesday eve.
Taxis from "next door" are cheaper, but as we had a VERY early leaving time, we ordered one from the hotel. Lots of tourts can be booked from the desk. We went to Tivua island ("Mystery island") which was the best thing we did in Fiji. An excellent host with bbq lunch, snorkelling, cruise to the island etc. (Onle downside was getting to Nadi which was quite a journey - but included in the tour)
Another place to go is little wildlife centre (forgotten name) just outside main gate - well worth a couple of hours wander around rainforest walk, see tutles fed and hold animals.
Would certainly recommend this hotel - lots of activities arranged - if you want them!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Bula traveller2148,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It was a great pleasure to know that the level of service, Spa facilities, quality and selection of food, the view of the rooms were up to your expectations, and that you enjoyed our beautiful snorkeling sites. I am grateful for your positive comments in which you praise the friendliness and hospitality of our team members, I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

Once again thank you for the review and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger Vuvale (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

A perfect spot for a relaxing break. The staff were wonderful, very friendly - nothing was a problem - even when we had to move rooms due to a gas leak. Many thanks to all - particularly our butlers Lusia and Salote. The Resort is well appointed and maintained - the gardens are great, a few mozzies so recommend taking some areoguard. Highly recommend the Bures - the little extra touches are great. The food overall was good - the Ivi is excellent - try the Kokoda. The theme nights in the Vale Ni Kana are well organised and the food is good. One downside is that there is only one option for breakfast - it would be good to have another where one could have a light breakfast rather than paying $22AUD to have one's morning muesli or a bit of toast. While we found the number of children a bit overwhemling (just us) I would have to say that the resort caters for kids very well and we would still go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
Bula Barmi1

Many thanks for your kind feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience. Lusia and Salote take great pride and will be pleased to receive your comments. Thank you for recommending our property.

Your comment on breakfast options has been noted and we are considering a second restaurant for breakfast to cater for our a la carte guests better. Stay tuned!

We look forward to your return to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji in the near future.

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

My partner and I had an amazing time at your resort, first time we visited was last year and at the time we decided to come back to get married the following year. Blessed with an amazing wedding planner Ilisoni Vibose, along with the incredible staff and service at the resort our special day was one we will never forget, all our needs were met with the wedding and our stay at the resort with a 5 star quality, I would recommend The Outrigger to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Bula Dom17,

Congratulations on your wedding at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji! On behalf of the entire team we wish to thank you for having chosen us for your wedding destination. We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji. Illisoni takes great pride in looking after wedding couples and such a positive review will drive him to continue to deliver the best service. We will share your feedback with our staff;

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale'(Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We have just stayed a week at the Outrigger and can't praise it highly enough. Slept in possibly the world's most comfortable beds in a spacious, pleasant and VERY quiet room. There are not enough superlatives for the staff who were unfailingly helpful, smiling and gracious at all times. The group chorus of Isa Lei farewelling us home on our last night at dinner brought tears to the eyes. Thank you Simon, and all the 'boys and girls' in the 'choir''. And that dinner!! Best seafood EVER. Theme nights each night at the main restaurant were not 'economy', but always well worth it. We had one 'fine dining evening' at IVI Restaurant but the ambience and buzz of the main area are very hard to beat. The pool? Gorgeous. Beach? Not so much - but that's the Coral Coast. Highly recommend the day trip to Robinson Crusoe Island - the host 'crew' there are so multi talented and fun, and the island everything to be expected 'tropically' speaking.
Back to the Outrigger ......the Bebe Spa is the closest thing to heaven - not only perched high on a hill with breathtaking views, but a delight to while away an hour or two of pampering there. (you are driven up the hill by friendly buggy drivers on call). If you need some time out in beautiful surroundings with beautiful people, Outrigger is the creme de la creme.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
Bula June051,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your impressions during your stay at our resort. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your vacation thoroughly. I particularly enjoyed your “Best Seafood EVER” comment and will pass onto our Chef. We will gladly share your kind comments with Simon and our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger “Vuvale” (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I cannot stop raving about the beauty that is the Outrigger in Fiji. Everything was amazing - the beautiful bure, the lovely staff, the food, the activities, the grounds, and our brilliantly planned wedding by a fantastic wedding coordinator, Illisoni Visbose. This was the most brillliant place I have ever stayed, and we have already decided to go back for our one year anniversary, but can hardly wait that long!!!

Stay in a bure for sure for the true experience!!! You will not regret the choice to stay at the Outrigger! :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Bula stacytoby, Congratulations on your wedding at Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji!!

Vinaka for your kind feeback! We thank you for choosing us as your wedding destination. Your wonderful comments on food quality, activities, accommodation style and the lovely staff were especially enjoyable to read! We will gladly share your comments with our staff and ilisoni will be very happy to know he had such a great impact on your wedding day.

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale'(Family).

Vinaka& Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at the Outrigger in October 2009 for two weeks and we loved it! The staff were really friendly and the atmosphere was calm & relaxing, with serenading and dancing a regular feature of each day.

The grounds of the hotel were lush and green and very well kept, and the smell of Frangipani was everywhere as there were so many Frangipani trees dotted around. We never got bored of exploring the gardens or of the views from the hotel or from the beach. The beach itself was average by Fijian standards but great for star gazing at night and watching the sunset in the evenings. This hotel has so much more to offer than just it's beachside location - in fact, judging by the looks of the other hotels on the coral coast, I'd say this was head and shoulders above the rest.

We got married at the Outrigger and the Wedding planning service offered could not be faulted - it was truly stress-free and they made us feel like the most important people in the world, not just on the day but for the whole of our honeymoon.

The spa was located at the top of the hotel, in the hills, and the views again were stunning. The treatments were not cheap but worth the money. As this is very much a honeymooners' resort - treating yourself is a must! The Ivi restaurant there is award-winning and we could certainly see why! It was WONDERFUL food and wonderful service.

While at the Outrigger, we went to see the Mamanuca Islands - well worth a look - but we only went on day trips and I have to say, if and when we return to Fiji, I would definitely make a point to stay overnight as part of the Island trips as the travelling there from The Outrigger takes HOURS. I would recommend staying at The Castaway Resort on Qalito Island - it was heavenly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Bula SurreyGees!

Many thanks for your kind feedback! We are so glad to hear your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience covered all your essential requirements for a perfect holiday. It was great to have you as our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your experience with others. The staff takes great pride in providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to receive your comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale' (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 173, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.