We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji

Save Saved
You added Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 173, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Sigatoka
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family had a dream 13 night stay at the outrigger. We organised the holiday to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary my 40th and to have a well deserve holiday. We were made very welcome from the moment the car arrived. The welcome drink and the staff calling Bula made you in the holiday mood from the start, My favourite restaurant was the sundown just looking at the water and beautiful food and music, We would have drinks there whilst the children had dinner then went to the kids club which they loved, and we the had a beautiful dinner together my husband and I which does not happen very often. The early morning canoeing was great the kids got to see the beautiful fish and was very relaxing. The children were lucky enough to light the torches at dusk which they felt very special. The Bebe spa was amazing I felt so spoilt and relax and the views were stunning. My husband and I decided to spoil ourselves and have high tea it is well worth it. The pool was just beautiful and lots of fun from water aerobics to volley ball and just sitting around reading a book. Our room was lovely and the children looked forward to the Tali service every night. The night entertainment was always fun and got you into the Fiji mood. The staff were always friendly and caring especially when my son got croup at 2am in the morning the staff were very helpful and organised transport to the hospital. We could not have asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Thank you very much to all the staff at the Outrigger.

Room Tip: our superior room was fine, but would like to try a bure when we return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Atamattie
Bula and sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
I was absolutely thrilled that we could deliver such a memorable 10th anniversary and 40th birthday celebration. I was delighted to read that you took advantage of everything that is good about the resort. Whilst your children were enjoying themselves at the kids club, you and your wife could enjoy some catch-up time at the Sundowner Bar and Grill. How good is the Bebe Spa? Whether it be for a special occasion or just an indulgent treat for one self, it is an amazing experience.
Atamattie, once again we thank you for your comments. We look forward to the day when you and your family return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,190
    416
    150
    44
    25
See reviews for
887
546
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I just returned home yesterday having spent a lovely relaxing week at Outrigger On The Lagoon, Fiji, between the 28th of December and 4th of January.
From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel very welcome. The check-in process was very efficient and friendly, as was the trip via golf cart to our Deluxe Ocean View Room (207).
We were not disappointed with our room, which was decorated in typical Fijian style. The bathroom area with separate toilet was very adequate, if a tiny bit in need of a refresh. The highlights of the room were the king size bed which was extremely comfortable and the ocean view from our small verandah.
The highlight of the resort overall is the service which is without exception delivered with a big smile and a hearty BULA or Vinaka. As some other reviewers have mentioned one is never left looking for a waiter. In fact we sometimes had to turn them away when we lounging by the pool, or we would have ended up well and truly sozzled!
We also found the food, wine and cocktails very good and quite good value overall, particularly compared with our own island resorts in Nth QLD etc. There are a number of places to eat and in each case we found the food tasty and well presented.
All the facilities including the large resort pool are very nice and are also well maintained.
We also enjoyed our afternoon chat, champagne and canapes delivered by our Talai (Finau?) (butler).
The staff did a great job with New Year's Eve party and fireworks display on the beach, it felt really quite special to be one of the first countries in the world to welcome in 2013!
We both had a great 1 hr massage at the Bebe Spa and would highly recommend it. Not bad value at approx. $85 AUD.

A few minor criticisms only:

-The coffee at breakfast in all establishments is really not up to 5 star standard. Even at Sundowner Bar, where espresso machine coffees are made to order, the coffee (except once or twice) was not what it could be. I would suggest that this is easily fixed by providing some training to all staff on how to make a good Flat White, Cafe Latte or Cappucino.
- Wine in most cases is not served cold enough.
- The cleaner who looked after our room for the last 3 or 4 days was somewhat perfunctory in his cleaning: Dirty glasses left, no replacement of shampoo on a couple of occasions, tile floors not swept thoroughly of sand, unemptied ashtray etc.
-The sliding screen door to our verandah needs repair as it does not run properly on its track.

Overall though, we really enjoyed the Outrigger and would return (probably outside of school holidays next time). Thanks to the staff for giving us exactly the type of holiday we needed after a long hard 2012.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear GuitarmanBowral
We appreciate the time you have taken to advise readers on your most recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday.
As you found out, we have a wonderful team of warm and friendly staff at the resort – I will most certainly pass your comments onto your butler, Finau. I sincerely apologise for the lack of service in several areas of our operation. I will most certainly ensure that more training is undertaken on coffee making skills and the room attendant that was looking after your room will be taken to task over the less than acceptable standard of the cleaning of your accommodation. We sincerely apologise for this occurrence.
GuitarmanBowral, once again we thank you for your comments! All of my team looks forward to the day when next you return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family spent four nights at the Outrigger and overall it was good, but not great.
First and foremost, the staff were fantastic and the amenities were five star. The food was excellent (especially the mixed grill at the Sundowner) and when my wife asked about ingredients at the buffet (she has severe allergies) one of the chefs walked with my wife along the buffet and explained what was in each dish. That really is fantastic service!
We stayed in a 'family bure' which is two garden bures joined together. The interconnecting 'room' also has a sofa bed, so you could easily have a four kid family in there. Unfortunately our bures (450-451) were next to a construction zone (luckily the builders took Xmas and Boxing days off) and the 'driveway' for the numerous golf carts that the resort uses. The building noise wasn’t too bad as they started late and finished early, but the golf carts got to be very annoying. It was obvious that the staff use them to zoom around between work areas instead of walking, as most of the time they were not moving guests or luggage. It was very distracting and went on from early morning until very late at night with one every two or three minutes zooming up the path next to our bures.
Unfortunately the Outrigger’s beach is very tidal, so you can really only swim or conduct water sports at high tide. I’m not sure where the ‘lagoon’ is (as the Outrigger’s name suggests), but it’s definitely not like the Shangri La’s lagoon beach where you can swim regardless of the tide. Fortunately the Outrigger’s pool is very good, so the resort essentially revolves around the pool and not the beach. It’s also a relatively small resort, so after a few days we started to feel quite penned-in and therefore went out for day trips.
Overall the Outrigger has some excellent points (staff and food) and some not-so-great aspects (beach and annoying golf carts). Considering the cost of the family bures (around AU$870 p/n) and the constant foot and cart traffic around them, I don’t think we will return to the Outrigger as there are better options for around that price in Fiji.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear CHA589
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
I sincerely apologise for the noise you encountered whilst staying in Bures 452 and 453. We have actually put these Bures out of service due to the noise issue coming from the pool construction. I must also apologise for the noise coming from the petrol operated golf buggies. We plan to change these over to electric buggies in 2013. Thank you for your wonderful comments on the Sundowner Bar and Grill – This is also my favourite restaurant at the resort – Highly recommend a 300gram Cape Grim (Tas) sirloin steak with dianne sauce?????? I must also add that I also enjoy the wonderful tunes from Teroma, our resident musician.
CHA589, Once again we thank you for your comments. We all look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

When Cyclone Even ripped through the Fiji Islands just days before our planned Christmas vacation, we considered cancelling our trip. When we were notified that our original vacation spot had sustained such damage that it was to be closed down for several months, we came even closer to cancelling. It was through TripAdvisor that we found the Outrigger and given all the positive reviews, we made the decision to continue with our trip. What a great decision that turned out to be! The Outrigger is a gorgeous property and is staffed by an incredible group of employees led by General Manager Peter Hopgood. Mr Hopgood personally helped in making our family of six very comfortable and welcome at the resort. His extreme professionalism and helpful communication made our transition to the resort a seamless event.
His leadership and management skills filter down to the entire staff of the resort from food and beverage to activities to housekeeping. The resort is spotless and the accommodations are first rate. We were lucky enough to secure a family bure that had more than enough room for our large family.
Everyone in our family thoroughly enjoyed our 8 days at the Outrigger and would not hesitate to return.
Bula and Vinaka to everyone at the Outrigger and the best to you all in 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear chrisgardnershow
What an outstanding review!
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are absolutely thrilled that you made the decision to continue with your plan to travel to Fiji. As you have stated, there are plenty of activities to undertake at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. I was pleased to read that your whole family enjoyed their time with us. How good are the family Bures, plenty of space, even for a family of 6! As you have stated in your commentary, our staff are what sets us apart from all of the other resorts, not just in Fiji but also Australasia – We are truly blessed with the warmest and friendliest team you could ever imagine. Thank you for your comments on my leadership of the resort but seriously it is our warm and friendly staff that make the difference.
chrisgardnershow, Once again we thank you for your comments. We all look forward to the day when you and the family return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a lovely 7 day break at the Outrigger, booked only 2 days before travel, due to the closure of the Westin at Denerau because of storm damage a few days before we were due to travel. This hotel is very pleasant, beautifully situated, and made exceptionally good by the quality and cheeriness of the staff. My only gripe was that we could not book for the full 7 days of our trip before we travelled, and could not book the seventh day on our arrival. We were disappointed to learn three days later that we handn't been put on a waiting list, but after a bit of hassle, managed to secure the extra day, which saved us spending our last day in Fiji at an airport hotel in Nadi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lesley D
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at our beautiful resort. As you found out and have also commented upon, the best thing about a holiday at Outrigger is the unbelievably warm and friendly staff that takes great pride in looking after our guests. I have noted your comments relating to the issues you had when you attempted to extend your stay. I sincerely apologise for this occurrence and I have personally addressed this issue with our reservations team.
Lesley D, once again we thank you for your positive comments. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort, sometime in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and i travelled to Fiji for the first time for five nights. We stayed at the Outrigger throughout this time. Unfortunately we only had one day where we were able to undertake any tours due to Cyclone Evan and the weather system surrounding this cyclone. We had three days where we were unable to book tours, for example snorkelling, because of the cyclone. The resort was well prepared for the cyclone and always provided clear communication to everyone. The resort provided many other activities that would normally have been available. On the only day we were able to do organised tours we participated in the village tour and the reef tour which were both fantastic! The food was great and prices were as expected for a resort. One of the best parts was the staff. They were so very friendly. I especially liked the guy at the gate of the resort who welcomes every person that enters with such enthusiasm and excitement. I loved the fact that the majority of the staff come from neighbouring villages and that the resort undertakes and supports projects to assist surrounding villages. I have recommended the Outrigger to all of my friends. I look forward to visiting again (hopefully without the cyclone!) and do some of the activities that i wanted to do.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful and clean with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kez83
Sunny greetings from the Coral Coast!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. It sounds like, that despite Cyclone Evan, you had an amazing time!
We really do appreciate your comments about our staff. As you found out they are what sets Outrigger apart from all of the other resorts in Fiji. Thank you for your comments on our “Bula Man” who welcomes all of our guests to the resort – There is nothing better than a good arrival statement. I was delighted to read that you intend to come back to the resort and try out some of the activities that you missed out on. Can I recommend the Sigatoka River Safari, the Jet Ski Safari at Pacific Harbor and you should also go for a cruise on Whales Tale.
Kez83, you will be pleased to know hat we came through Cyclone Evan unscathed and the resort is back to full operation. I personally thank you for your patience and understanding throughout this ordeal.
Once again we thank you for your comments – We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort, so that you can fully enjoy the wonderful experience of everything that Fiji has to offer!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bula! We stayed at the Outrigger for 4 nights in July - great weather. The service is second to none, no where in Oz would you find staff on "fiji time" but my glass was never empty & I never found myself looking for a waiter/waitress. The staff were superb & extremely friendly. We stayed in a villa which was fantastic, very clean & beds were nice & soft. There was always something to do with heaps of activities most were free so I didn't fell the need to go away from the resort. The resort does cater more for the families so we found ourselves paying extra in the mornings to get a quiet resturant without screaming children & again in the evenings only the most up market resturant provided that peace & quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Kelli75
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at our beautiful resort. As you found out and have also commented upon, the best thing about a holiday at Outrigger is the unbelievably warm and friendly staff that takes great pride in looking after our guests. I have noted your comments relating to quieter places and kids free areas around the resort. You will be pleased to know that we are only 3 months away from opening our new “Adults Only” swimming pool. This new pool will feature lap pool, swim up bar, plus private chill out day beds and bures.
Kelli75, once again we thank you for your positive comments. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort, sometime in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 173, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.